We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of The Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corona
Ranked #24 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for four nights & had a great time. The hosts Paul & Richard gave us wonderful service as nothing was to much trouble. The breakfasts & dinner were just so good & so was the Beer. The room we stayed in was a little bit on the small side but that didn't matter. The Hotel is kept spotlessly clean,this is the first time we have stayed there & we shall definitely be back in fact we cant wait.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Hi, thanks for sharing your thoughts to other trip advisor members who can read honest opinions about the Corona before making a booking. We do really do all we can to ensure all our guests have a wonderful stay. Some rooms are larger and also come with robes, slippers and are more enhanced with larger TV's and room 20, our superior room on the second floor is a great size, take a look on our website and you will see the difference.
Hope to see you back next year. Easter is 65% booked now, so don't leave those bank holiday dates to late to book.
Thanks again,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 703 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed one night in the family room. We had one teenager with us and it was a"tight fit" but spotless and clean. The service we had from Paul and Richard as a hosts is fabulous, he advised where to eat and gave valuable information on the area! The location of the hotel is great for the pleasure beach. Would recommend this hotel as nothing is too much trouble and the feel is really " home from home". Breakfast was brill and wonderful selection of foods.
Loved it, will be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Well thank you for your words of honesty, you mentioned the room was a bit tight, I have to agree some rooms are on the small side due to the age of the building although we do also offer family annex rooms that are larger and offer more privacy for the family. All rooms do have flat screen TV's as your room did and all rooms are also en-suite. The small cost of the larger rooms is only a small supplement per night. Also if you book on our own website, you save an automatic 7% saving you money. Something to think about on your next visit. Clean is a word that pops up a lot with our guests, and I know we are more than that as we keep to a regular training and cleaning schedule and I guess with the owners doing bedrooms and public areas with the staff on a regular basis, we can achieve these expectations that we offer you.
Many thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night break at The Corona with my partner and 2 boys. we arrived early but this wasn't a problem we booked in and left our luggage in the reception and went out for a couple of hours. on our return richard showed us to our room which was, as last year, spotlessly clean. breakfast was again fantastic. overall our stay at the corona was excellent and we will definately be returning next year. thank paul, richard and all your staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieswindlehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it is really appreciated that you took the time from a busy life to send the message to other possible guests who may choose to stay here at the Corona. As you mentioned you left your luggage, we are more than happy to look after any guest’s luggage either on arrival or departure without any cost to you, it’s never a problem.
We really do feel honoured to see so many returning guests year after year. We look forward to seeing you back with us next year as we will be in our 11th year in the Corona.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Corona is exactly that an oasis of calm in the madness that is blackpool.Just arrived home after a four night stay at the corona, a party of 10 ages 8 to 74!! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for paul,richard and thier staff. they couldnt do enough for my elderly (and fussy)parents,and made our children feel really welcome.Everywhere you went in the hotel was spotless, rooms, bathrooms(how nice to have proper bath sheets not tea towels that pass as towels).Breakfast was fabulous always hot and plenty of it as was the evening meal,(cheesecake to die for)No matter what time you came back to the hotel paul or richard was always there to make you a coffee, hot chocolate, or a night cap and it was always served with a smile.Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you so much for the excellent review, we really enjoyed spending time with you and getting to know you all.
We are an oasis as you described, being away from the crowds but just a short walk to the action of the pleasure beach is ideal for our guests. Because there are no clubs or pubs to close, a good night’s sleep is guaranteed after that night cap of course. Added to that, there is ample parking on the hotel car park and surrounding roads, what more can you ask for?
Thank you once again,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

just got back from a 4 night stay at the corona hotel with my husband 2 children my sister and her 2 children and my parents. we were greeted by paul who showed us our room which for a family room was quite spacious with a double bed and bunk beds for the children and a bathroom.. the room was spotless and the decor was very nice and bright...we stayed bed breakfast and evening meal and all the food was excellent fresh and hot and nothing was too much trouble and the fruit crumble that richard made was lovely (tasted like christmas). the hotel was lovely and warm and there was always someone there when you rang the bell at the bar or at reception. all in all we had a brilliant time and were really looked after and will definately be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Hello,
Thanks for reviewing the Corona, as you mentioned you were booked on a dinner bed and breakfast package, we have found over the past couple of years, this option is more attractive to families knowing all meals are taken care of with a choice menu, and of course we offer great deals on this type of package.
That taste of Christmas was so true, I will remember you for those words, it did make me laugh.
We look forward to seeing you all back again on your next stay in Blackpool and we appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts on the Corona.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just back from a three night stay at this fantastic Hotel with my husband, mother, twelve year old daughter and her friend. on Blackpool's South Shore.
On arrival, we were made to feel really welcome by Paul, who showed us to our room and helped carry our cases.
Our rooms were all to the highest standards you could find anywhere, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. There was even a complimentary set of Toiletries left in the shower room for us to use - really nice touch.
The bar and restaurant areas were decorated to a very high standard with almost a mediterranean feel to them with so many lovely Spanish plates and decorations on the wall. On describing the bar itself, the word which comes to mind is "Tasteful"......done in lovely calm colours.
The highlight of the evening for the kids was when we returned back in the evening, Paul would make them a wonderful (huge) hot chocolate topped with Cream and Marshmallows, for just £1.50 what a deal!
Breakfast....well, what can I say?..Magic! Richard cooked every morning and no matter what you wanted, nothing was too much trouble..you asked for it you got, and plenty at that!
Now I have stayed at Corona, I would never even think of staying anywhere else. So if you want, taste, style, and to be looked after by great hosts, make sure its Corona you go to!
Thanks again guys for making our stay special!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thanks for the wonderful review. I think the great thing about our job running the Corona is that we do get to meet so many people on a daily basis and I can say we attract a very discerning crowed, this is a simple matter of pricing, we attract to right clientele and we know we can invest into the Corona every year and feel confident that all guests appreciate our hard work and respect all our efforts.
Richards breakfasts, well what else can I say. Our menu is offered to every guest and I know the difference is that all items are cooked to order, ensuring fresh, tasty, hot and plentiful plates being served by our great waiter and waitresses, and of course me when I am on restaurant duty, a good big breakfast really sets you up for the day.
Thanks once again,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at "The Corona " , after visiting friends who live nearby.
From the moment we walked in, we new it would be an excellent hotel.We were shown to room 4 by Paul.It was a Deluxe Double and it certainly was. Beautifully decorated to a high standard with everything you could wish for.The bed was one of the best We have ever slept in, along with the pillows.The bathroom was excellent and the cleanest I have ever seen.
The hotel has a lovely bar and dinning room. The breakfasts are to die for,cooked to perfection by Richard. We used the bar before we went out in the evening and for nightcaps on our return.It is well stocked and Paul makes fab cocktails.I can also recommend the Hot Chocolate with the marshmallows in. Yummy.!!!
All in all, this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.Nothing is too much trouble and its obvious Paul and Richard have passion for their Hotel and business.I would recommend the " Corona" to anyone who likes 1st class accommodation and service .You would be hard pushed to find better in Blackpool.
Many thanks for our great stay. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the deluxe rooms.There worth it.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dansonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancashirePaul, Owner at The Corona, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for the rave review, you have mentioned so much in there that is so true of our core principle with running a successful business. We offer fresh, modern, and comfortable rooms all at a fair price.
In Blackpool alone there are over 1000 B&B'S, (Guest accommodation like our rating) and larger hotels but all the things you mentioned are basic expectations and we ensure our guests receive them all.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Bookings are coming in already for half term February, Easter and the summer holidays for 2012. Don't leave it too late to book.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 864 in Blackpool
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 864 in Blackpool
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 864 in Blackpool
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 864 in Blackpool
806 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaucliffe
The Beaucliffe
#14 of 864 in Blackpool
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corona

Address: 18-20 Clifton Drive | South Beach area, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $60 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 bedroom B&B offering all the services of a small hotel. Our standards are extremely high, we don't want to fail our guests. Situated very close to Pleasure beach for all the fun of the fair. If you enjoy that little bit extra in life, you have found your perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. Booking by phone, we can save you that few pounds that we all like to save or take advantage of our offers of free parking or bar credit during your stay. Only one small dog 17kg per booking, on request only. (charges may apply if not notified in advance ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corona Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing