We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but nice”
Review of Sussex Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sussex Hotel
Ranked #425 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basic but nice”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an army reunion , owner is a nice fella, not a bad breakfast, would stay there again . It's not to far from the beach and prom. Showers were nice and hot. Room was warm, few pubs and take always just a few minutes walk away

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phillymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this hotel, stayed the night before me and friend ran the blackpool marathon. We both wanted a nice quiet hotel and wasn't disappointed, it was Very quiet and peaceful. Would recommend it to anyone who wants a good sleep in such a lively town. Felt very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night end of September with a group of work colleagues was made to feel very welcome by the owner. The room was of a good size and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was also very good. Star of the show was the owner of the business couldn't help enough

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel (actually b+b) is nicely located near the north pier. Far though from the busy/loud central area but close enough to the promenade and attractions. We arrived early in the day and was allowed to check in, so great ! Room is clean but a little dated. Car parkng providedat the side of the hotel. But get there early to secure a spot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What can I say about this hotel? Well it's not a hotel for a start, most certainly a b&b. Our room had clearly not been redecorated in what felt like 30 years, a brown bathroom suite and blankets on the bed, no duvet! Also no hot water when we arrived, we had to ask the owner to put the boiler on!
In fairness the room seemed clean enough, the bathroom less so.
The owner was a pleasant enough chap and very friendly but all in all, this was certainly not worth the £60 for the room, at the absolute most I would pay £40.
The breakfast was ok, but was fiercely regimented. You were told exactly where to sit and had to place your order the night before. Also orange squash instead of orange juice?
As a place to put your head after a stag weekend? Yes... Just.
As a place to spend a night with your loved one after a night at the theatre? Absolutely not!
Would I recommend this b&b? I'm afraid not. It needs a major refurbishment to bring it into the 21st century. My feeling is is that the owner has been 'papering the cracks' for too long.
This may sound harsh but unfortunately it needs to be said. When you can pay £45 to stay in a travelodge, why would you pay £60 to stay here?

Room Tip: Look elsewhere I'm afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lister9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

stayed in this hotel last year and booked again this year, wouldnt stay anywhere else now. Lovely spotless spacious rooms. Hosts brilliant make you feel welcome, and hotel has a lovely comfortable warm feel to it.
Breakfast great and plenty of it, and nothing was too much trouble.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone without a doubt

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of July for a week whilst we visited friends and family nearby. We enjoyed the 3 piece suite in our room which made for relaxing evenings after our days out. Excellent cooked breakfast every day - fruit juice, cereal, full english, toast. We never needed to have lunch midday! An equally lovely meal each evening, which was ordered at breakfast time, with a choice of about 4 main courses plus a glass of wine. Parking was on the premises and was never full whilst we were there but the hotel was not very busy at the time. The location was great for getting into the town centre as the tram stops were only a short walk away and we could use our bus passes!

Room Tip: The superior twin rooms on the front are larger and have the 3 piece suites. Book directly with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveelward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 858 in Blackpool
764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#210 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#311 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#238 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sussex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sussex Hotel

Property: Sussex Hotel
Address: 14-16 Pleasant Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sussex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing