We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Oban House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oban House Hotel
Ranked #318 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with our 2 young children, and cannot believe the luck we have experienced by booking the Oban House, what a find, especially at the price we paid!

A warm welcome as you walk in, that is attention to detail and the personal touch that makes the difference! The standard of rooms is excellent, the breakfast is superb, overall decor is excellent too. You can tell that the owners take an awful lot of pride in their hotel, it really shows.

I have to also say that Blackpool itself has changed immeasurably, I used to live here in 2004, and the difference is incredible Not as many stag & hen parties, so much money spent on the whole town experience, Blackpool is shaking off it's recent image and is fast becoming a real family destination, one to which we will surely return, and where will we choose to stay?

The Oban House Hotel. The perfect place! Thank you Brian & Sylvia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to put a great review about our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do take pride in our business and like to keep everything up to
standard for our guests to have a lovely stay when coming away for a holiday. Blackpool has changed a lot in the last few years and is moving with the times and a lot of good things are happening in our Town, with the new Sea Front, the money that has been spent on Blackpool Tower and also Blackpool Pleasure Beach and also the Big ticket that includes all the big attractions. We will be glad to see you and your lovely family again in the future take care.

Sylvia & Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Oban House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me my partner and our two friends stayed here for a few days in october 2012. we didn't think of leaving a review until the horrible experience we recently encountered. We stayed at another b&b in blackpool which was disgusting mouldy and smelly and we just wanted to let people know what a quality b&b looks like. We loved staying at this b&b in october, it was a little further than expected but nothing a tram ride can't solve. We looked into staying here when we visited last week but were unfortunately full which was a pity. As soon as we arrived brian and sylvia were very helpful and we were handed keys to a lovely, a little small, but nonetheless cosy bedroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and we were left clean towels every other day. The b&b we just stayed at (Glazebrook) did not replace our towels at all, didnt give us more toilet roll when asked and the bed was like sleeping on rock. I wish the oban house hotel wasnt fully booked as it is a warm and clean place to stay. The breakfast was absolutely amazing you could pick what you want, unlike the Glazebrook we were just handed two fry ups, no cereal and not even any fruit juice, just water or milk! i like the fact there was, outside the dining room little boxes of cereal to choose from. If we come back to blackpool in the near future we will be staying at the oban house hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 652liamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we like to make our guests feel welcome from the moment they arrive at our door
to when you leave so you get the whole experience of a great holiday whether it be one night
stay or more. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back when you come back to Blackpool on your next visit. Sylvia & Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Brian and Sylvia give the highest standard of service. Exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms clean, warm and cosy. Helpful with local knowledge and advice. Cooked breakfast was delicious and tea, coffee and toast a much as you required. Good location, near the front.and nearby on the road parking. Would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathTeague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi
We do like to give good service and friendly attention at all times . It is great that you took the time to review our Hotel. We strive to keep everything clean and well looked after so the hotel
can be appreciated by our customers. Hopefully we Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sylvia Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The owners of Oban House, Brian and Sylvia, offer a truly personal service to their guests. They welcomed us warmly during our recent stay and made us feel at home. We have stayed here before and the reason we return is that we know what to expect - the hotel looks inviting, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are good and the location (North Shore) is quieter than elsewhere, but still convenient. Another important reason, however, is that nothing seems too much trouble for Brian and Sylvia. On a previous visit Brian gave us a lift to collect our car when it broke down and other guests at the hotel have told us of similar acts of kindness. It is this personal touch which I believe makes Oban House stand out from other places.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad that you & your family enjoyed your little break with us, and hope to see you all in the future. We do like to make everybodies
holidays enjoyable and if you need any help in anyway we are only to glad to do what ever we can to help.

Sylvia Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We only stayed 1 night but would not hesitate to return, very friendly owners, excellent breakfast plus very clean and warm! Cannot fault this hotel, we managed to find a parking space in the next street, it is not far from the tram stops plus in a quiet location. Highly recommended if you're looking for somewhere with reasonable prices, friendly hosts and clean and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and thank you for your kind words. We do try and make everybody feel welcome and help with anything that can make your holiday more enjoyable. We hope to see you again in the Future.

Sylvia Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

my wife and i stayed at the oban house hotel for 2 nights, arrived late evening, and was still greeted with a warm smile, it was like visiting family, we were so relaxed and comfortable,brian and sylvia are two of the most friendly people i have ever met, if we go back to blackpool, i will definitly stay here,thanks for a great stay,
eric and mary caldwell

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi Eric & Mary,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always trying to make our Guests feel welcome what ever time they arrive after travelling, a welcome smile and a few kind words go along way. I am glad you felt it was like visiting family our Motto for the Hotel is come as strangers but leave as friends, we hope to see you both again when visiting Blackpool Take Care.
Sylvia & Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Brian and Sylvia, the owners of Oban House, do not need me to write this as their establishment speaks for itself. They are wonderful hosts and the hotel is affordable and comfortable. If your going to Blackpool book in here if you can.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obanhouse, Owner at Oban House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, The kind words you have said in your review makes us feel that we are doing our Job as well as we can but we are always trying to help our Guest's in what ever the need and make sure that the hotel is kept up to standard for people to have an enjoyable stay with us . We hope to see you again in the futre.

Sylvia & Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
0.9 mi away
The Manhattan Hotel
The Manhattan Hotel
#45 of 73 in Blackpool
178 reviews
6.2 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
0.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
792 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban House Hotel

Address: 63 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $45 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel under the personal supervision of Brian & Sylvia Jackson. We are close to Gynn Gardens and the Sea Front, we have en-suite rooms with freeview flat screen TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and hairdryers in the rooms. We have a chair lift to our first floor if required. We serve Home Cooked Food in our dining room. Our Motto is "Come As Strangers, Leave as Friends." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Oban House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing