We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You For a Fantastic Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carn Brae B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carn Brae B&B
Ranked #434 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank You For a Fantastic Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Spent few days break with family members, was dreading it but surprisingly had best time ever! The minuite we arrived Ken & Michelle offered warm welcome & soon put me at ease, the place was very clean (which helps) the food was all fresh produce & plenty of it, the bar was well stocked & not over priced. All in all couldnt of asked for anything more - except the weather! Would recommend to all my friends & will be going back! (if they let me!) See you soon folks at the Carn-Brae

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjtwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    9
    16
    17
See reviews for
65
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

My first visit to Blackpool for many years. Stayed in one of the Deluxe Rooms which was superb! Great value breakfast which comprised of cereal, toast and a full english plus a pot of tea!

My children loved the games rooms and I enjoyed the live entertainment and friendly atmosphere.

We all really enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_uk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scot
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

we stayed at the carn brae hotel in august i had mt niece & nephew aged 13 & 14 and they loved it, the staff were friendly the hotel was clean and the food was excellent, i couldnt fault anything,we would recoment this hotel to anyone going to blackpool and we would book it the next time we are in blackpool. Maggie Pam Leigh & daniel , Kennoway Fife.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Its a nice hotel, a little out of the way but clean. The food was the out of a freezer chicken and veg etc. Elvis impersonater was very good, but beware of the very rude barmaid, who believes she is just to good to be there, i can assure you she is not. If the hotel wants to thrive in such a difficult time, fresh food and polite staff are a must, unfortunately the carn brae has abdicated both off these.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0161Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District Resident
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

I am a Group Organiser and took a party of 42 to play whist. Ken even asked how many card tables we needed as he was going to make them himself.
We received a very friendly welcome with complimentary refreshments at this family run hotel..
The bedrooms were all clean and tastefully furnished, but not over big.
The catering is to be recommended, especially the breakfasts. The only complaint was that there was too much food, but we didn't want this correcting.
New South Promenade is at what I would describe as the clean end of Blackpool, quiet but not too far out to enjoy all the amenities of Blackpol.
Overall, a very enjoyable experience. So much so that we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

Just been to stay at the carn brae again lovely friendly atmosphere and friendly staff .Been going there for the past three years now .Food excellent and hotel clean . Entertainment every night and in a quiet situation not too noisy. Disabled people welcome and fully adapted for them, games room for the children and can stay in the bar area with you . We have enjoyed every stay at the carn brae and hope to continue going , maybe again in the next few weeks . Rooms are spacious enough and clean towels whenever you need them. Tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms also. I have recommended this hotel to other people ,whether you go in a couple or in a group you will be made welcome . so book today and enjoy your stay

  • Liked — friendly and clean
  • Disliked — parking facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ag001f2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the Carn Brae Hotel, there were 11 of us in the family group with age range from 8 to 87. Before we booked we read the comments on trip advisor from a family stating that they had problems with the family room and that the hotel was not family friendly. However having spoken to the owner Ken we were happy to proceed with booking for our family group into the hotel (4 double rooms and 1 family room). Thank goodness we did, not only did the hotel have the disabled facilities we needed it also turned out to be a brilliant couple of days. The rooms were all spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food was second to none and they hotel staff could not do enough for us. The evening entertainment was good with a singer each night, together with a games room that some of the family used. My husband's elderly parents were able to sit in the bar area and have a cup of tea whilst the rest of the family enjoyed the Pleasure Beach and both Ken (the owner) and Elizabeth (chief bar person/head waitress) made them feel welome by sitting and chatting to them. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. The food was of a high quality and standard and the choice was very good. This hotel is a real value for money "gem". If you want to pay a lot more for an impersonal service then by all means do so, however you will have missed out on a truly family friendly hotel that is excellent in every way. Do try this hotel yourself, I'm sure we'll be back. Many thanks to Ken and Elizabeth and the staff in making this an enjoyable stay for all eleven of us.

  • Liked — Nothing was too much trouble
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#38 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,972 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn Brae B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Brae B&B

Property: Carn Brae B&B
Address: 657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #434 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carn Brae B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carn Brae is family owned and personally supervised by the proprietor for 22 years, We present a homely atmosphere with quality service and cleanliness to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday & placing you in the most desirable position on Blackpool's new south promenade. This means you're close to all the attractions, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sand Castle & South Pier. The Famous Golden Mile & Blackpool Town Centre is just a short Tram ride away. Bus and trams run frequently from just opposite the hotel. We have 25 guest rooms all with their own en-suite, many offering breathtaking views of the Irish Sea and there is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carn Brae B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing