We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blackpool weekender”
Review of Carn Brae B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carn Brae B&B
Ranked #380 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

on friday 07 sept 2012 we arrived at this hotel after a 1hour trip from home,first impresstions were very good as this hotel is in a quiet area of the town,its down on new south prom after the pleasure beach it is a quick tram ride away from north peir anyway on to the hotel.
date of trip friday 07 to sunday 09 september 2012,the outside of hotel was modern and clean with disabled entrance ramp also it looked just what we liked about an hotel in blackpool and thats quiet perfect for familys,once inside the reception area was bright and airy with modern deccor it was also spacious and spotless,our room a10 at the back of hotel on first floor was brilliant a lcd/dvd combo tv with freeveiw it also had five(5)beds a set of bunk beds,a single and a double all with very thick duvets on them and plenty of pillows for you to use there was also tea and coffee making equipment with plenty of teabags and coffee sachets/sugar sachets and a nice touch a few packets of biccies,very nice they were too,all the drawers/wardrobe looked new as did the bedside drawers/lights the room was also spotless as was the bathroom we had a lot of towels to use which we did not use as we took our own all in all the room was very good,we did not use the restaurant or have the breakfast so can not comment on thease the bar is fairly big with a games room at the back end of it,the front of it had a sun lounge to chill and just watch the world go by,we did use the bar for a drink on the saturday night after watched the fireworks display outside of the tower so we needed warming up looked into the games room to see what was in there and it had a few fruit machines and a dartboard plus a new looking pool table,the bar/games room was very good and again it was spotless,once we left the bar we went up to our room for a hot drink and watch a bit of news on tv before going to sleep,whilst beds were modern they were a bit on the hard side,on the saturday we got up and went to get some breakfast in the waterloo road area before going to the pleasure beach for the day,after spending 8hours there we left and got on an hertiage tram for a tour of the lights at about 10.30 pm we arrived back at our the hotel for a hot drink in room and a well earned rest.
all in all the carn brea hotel is very good with very freindly staff/owners and in our opinion it is very good value for money and we rate it as an four(4)star hotel.
thank you carn brea for a very good weekend at your hotel we will be back next year sometime

Room Tip: room a10 at back on first floor,its very quiet and it has room for two/three adults and two/three ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I visited the Carn Brae Hotel with my daughter recently and we were greeted with a warm welcome and were very helpful during our stay.

Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was tidy and cleaned every day. Sue, who served the breakfast was pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. It was always service with a smile.

We wouldn't hesitate in staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here on 30th Aug 2012 with my daughter who's 3yrs and our stay was great!!
*Greeted by Michelle (lovely woman!..as is her husband!)
*Very Helpful
*Room was gorgeous
*Hotel was SPOTLESS
*Breakfast was fabulous
*Child friendly
*Location was perfect
Really couldn't have asked for much more,we only stayed 1 night and was worth every penny,
we will definately stay again. Please do NOT listen to the negative reviews on here,i don't know what planet these people are from because our stay was lovely.
Having a 3yr old,i'm very particular about hygiene and the people saying this place isn't up to standard are talking rubbush! Room was spotless and bed was very comfy!
Michelle and ken are lovely people,really welcoming and everything you would expect from a family run buisiness!
Breakfast was great,we were well set up for the day.
Even the cleaner who we spoke to was lovely!
I would have happily paid more for our stay and won't be staying anywhere else in Blackpool!
If i had anything bad to write about the Carn Brae i really would,but i don't!
If you listen to the rubbish you read on here you really will miss out on a lovely place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hello my partner and his 4 children went to this awful hotel. The pictures are deceptive. The shower in the family room was not working and the breakfast is extornate and when you ask for fried eggs - you get scrambled. The service is very poor. IT made the experience awful...... be careful

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suki040579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here whilst going to the open at Lytham.
Hotel was quite basic, but clean and the staff friendly.
Room was fine and bed very comfy. Would stay again just for the breakfast which was a great start to the day !!
At the far end of south shore but trams are cheap and very frequent so no problems at all getting in to town.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIB915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I'm shocked at some of the reviews I stayed at the Carn brae with my partner and daughter for two nights, had no problem with cleanliness of the room, and I found the staff very friendly and polite. It was nice to sit in the bar where our little girl was allowed to play about on the dance floor and play at will in the games room. The hotels situated not far from the pleasure beach but there was a tram stop opposite the hotel so you got were you needed to go. All in all a lovely stay and already booked again for september for the illuminations.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monet1faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Flew direct from Dublin in 40 minutes which is better than sitting in the car for 2 hours for a short break. Booked Carn Brae by chance and we have been so lucky. Only 5 minutes in a taxi to the door, then we got one of the nicest welcomes from the owner (Ken). We explained it was 23rd year anniversary and from the time we arrived we recieved the personal touch. The room was clean, and lovely and warm. There is as much tea and coffee in room as you like and you can order bar food and snacks anytime infact nothing seems to much trouble. Breakfast is huge could not finnish it but hubby cleared his plate and mine. A great break we will make this a regular getaway for the two of us, and we would definately bring the grandchildren. Will book for Turkey and Tinsel if we get cheap flights.

Room Tip: Sea View is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn Brae B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Brae B&B

Address: 657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carn Brae B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carn Brae is family owned and personally supervised by the proprietor for 22 years, We present a homely atmosphere with quality service and cleanliness to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday & placing you in the most desirable position on Blackpool's new south promenade. This means you're close to all the attractions, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sand Castle & South Pier. The Famous Golden Mile & Blackpool Town Centre is just a short Tram ride away. Bus and trams run frequently from just opposite the hotel. We have 25 guest rooms all with their own en-suite, many offering breathtaking views of the Irish Sea and there is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carn Brae B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing