We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room b16 honest review”
Review of Carn Brae B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carn Brae B&B
Ranked #428 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
peterlee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“room b16 honest review”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

9 of us spent 2 nights at the Carn Brae aged between 5 and 60. we had a superior room , family room and a triple room.
The rooms were way over priced especially the triple room ie: rooms hadnt even been hoovered when we arrived there were hair grips and all sorts on the floor, inches thick of dust on chair and edges of carpet, cobwebs on the ceiling, brown stained toilet.
the fan in the bathroom was so noisy we couldnt use it during the night.
the bathroom was eally small.
all the cleaner did in 3 days was empty 1 bin and replace toilet roll.
The superior rooms are the best but still way over priced and still have their faults.
very outdated decor
mould in places and a broken shelf on wardrobe floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterleeDovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    46
    10
    17
    18
See reviews for
66
44
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

me and my partner stayed 2 nights here wouldnt stay again its awfull no heating outdated deco owner wouldnt give you the time of day went in the bar the beer was awfull taste like vinegar squeaking floor boards could not wait to check out and get home deffo would not stay their no more sooner stay on a park bench awfull

Room Tip: dont go their go somewere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie Bravedart... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyrefail
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel appears to be of a good standard from the outside. Reception well decorated and presented as was the bar. And thats where it ends. The first floor where our room was situated was beyond dated. Our room was not as clean as it could be and quite honestly smelled like a sweaty, unwashed person (before we had even entered I hasten to add!) We didnt feel able to bring this to the attention of the woman who checked us in as she was not the most friendly or welcoming. We had asked for a cot when booking the room and on arrival there wasnt one. Well you would think we had asked for the whole world when we advised the woman on reception of the situation! Not ideal for front of house. We didnt order breakfasts as we felt near enough £7 each was expensive. Cant speak for all the rooms but ours was also very small considering it was to fit 2 and a little 'un. In a fairly good location to the amenities. And close to a tram stop for those not wanting to walk too far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Looks fine from the outside, but the stairways and rooms are dated. Booked a double room and was given a tiny twin room. Carpets in rooms and stairwells need replacing, overall decor sub-standard and furniture in the room was dark and 70's style. The light above our bathroom mirror was loose. Complimentary toiletries were part used. Shower was tiny which meant the shower curtain stuck to you whenever you turned around. Shower mat was soaked after a shower and didn't get replaced even though we left it on the floor as instructed. Breakfast on Sunday is 7.30 - 8.30 which is too early after a Saturday night and not particularly well advertised (it is 8.30 - 9.30 other days). To top it off we had to ask for a toilet roll, to be asked "do you need it straight away?", which was a rather uncomfortable conversation. Lady on reception wasn't very cheery or welcoming. The only redemption was the full English breakfast we had on Monday, which was really nice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

As a coach operator we have used the Hotel for the first time and are very satisfied.From the booking prior to visit (The proprietor Ken is very helpful and always polite) to the arrival time liaised with Ken for a smooth turn around fantastic!.Meals and service were great Entertainment out of this world and Rooms very clean and comfortable with extra touches making the finishing touch.We will be booking again and look forward to doing business with you in the future.Thank you so much Greenline Coaches Stourbridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenlineCoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Before we arrived I called to see If our room was ready, to be told yes it's ready you can come now! We arrived checked in, the guy which I think owned was friendly enough! We went up to the third floor, to find the decor on the corridor dated, not as nice as down stairs, the room was open and the Bedding all over the floor. There was blood Stains on one of the quilts! We found someone and she it was finished. So we left her to get on with it! We went out for the rest of the day, to my amazement there was nothing around it was a distance from the central pier!!! My fault should have researched it more!! We returned to the hotel about 10pm to be met by a lady on reception that was not welcoming at all, I asked for pizza leaflets to be given a stern look and told no, I asked for a phone book which she reluctantly gave me! She advised we could only eat it in our room and to bring out rubbish down, I think at the age of 38 I would know this was common courtesy! We came back into the bar area, few residents in no entertainment!!! My husband got served by the same woman at reception who seemed very tired, she held no conversation when my husband tried,as we left just after midnight the lady behind the bar nor the man or woman who owned it said good night! We went into reception to wait for our pizza, then went to bed! The nights sleep was awful, room with sea view and the wind through the badly fitted windows was awful to top it off the matters was terrible too curled on the ends! Really bad night sleep! Went into reception for breakfast it was 8:20am the lady who owned came walking into reception dressed like she had just been to the night club! Never said good morning or anything. A man tried walking into the dining room, only to be told in an abrupt manner it's 8:30am! Then another lady appeared and opened the doors she asked names and showed us to our tables, she was very nice! I then heard a conversation taking place by the owner about Dave saying how dare he do that y do it. I hate him!! very unprofessional!!! The breakfast was lovely yay a good point!!! Then when I handed key into reception the lady owner never said thank you for staying hope to see you again just took the key!!! Never again 4/10

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Promoclothing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked this hotel for 1 night a single room & a twin room,the rooms are very clean & comfortable,the staff are welcomeing helpful & supper friendly.Breakfast was very nice & plenty of it they even provided breakfast for my 8 month old grandson free of charge he loved the attention they paid him great place to stay will visit them again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#39 of 69 in Blackpool
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 69 in Blackpool
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Osborne House Hotel
Osborne House Hotel
#533 of 856 in Blackpool
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn Brae B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Brae B&B

Property: Carn Brae B&B
Address: 657-659 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carn Brae B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carn Brae is family owned and personally supervised by the proprietor for 22 years, We present a homely atmosphere with quality service and cleanliness to ensure you have an enjoyable holiday & placing you in the most desirable position on Blackpool's new south promenade. This means you're close to all the attractions, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sand Castle & South Pier. The Famous Golden Mile & Blackpool Town Centre is just a short Tram ride away. Bus and trams run frequently from just opposite the hotel. We have 25 guest rooms all with their own en-suite, many offering breathtaking views of the Irish Sea and there is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carn Brae B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing