We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine review, Tired and Dirty Room.”
Review of Sandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandford Hotel
Ranked #98 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Genuine review, Tired and Dirty Room.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Firstly this is an Honest recent review of this Hotel, and yes did check that others had reviewed the same place.

Arrived to an ok reception, and had purchased a Wowcher deal for 2 evenings duration, we are regular visitors to blackpool and because our regular place was fully booked and we saw the Wowcher offer we decided from the reviews to purchase the voucher and give the Sandford a go.


WHAT A TERRIBLE MISTAKE, all we can say is that the other guest must of been lucky to stay in a decent room, as with ours was appalling, to what was supposed to be a double occupancy room, with a double bed placed against a wall, placed is polite, cramped is better a word, and the cleanliness, dust thick on the curtains, ceiling fan, and what is most concerning is the thick mould that was on the windows, all photographed,mouldy shower, missing blinds, and when we made our concerns to the manager, the chap said he would let his wife know, nothing further was said or offered, noting we also paid an additional £20 for a weekend stay, without being given a receipt for the payment which is poor.

we would of checked out straight away,but had made arrangements to meet friends for a meal that evening,and having travelled a few hours to get to blackpool in the first place, we walked for many hours to kill time as the less time in the room was for the better.
when we did go back we slept in our clothes, the sheets were Brown and bobbly, the bed was rock hard cheap mattress, the divan base was on show and thread bare,
we checked out before breakfast the following morning, as felt ill my husband is asthmatic and the mould and dust made for an uncomfortable night.
The chap upon us ringing the reception for service, said "your checking out" as though he expected it, if this was my business i would of been devastated that a guest was unhappy upon arrival, never mind check out, when we asked for a receipt for the additional monies paid it was written on a blank piece of paper.
we didn't want to stay for breakfast, as the cleanliness of the bedroom had us questioning the kitchen.
For what should of been a restful weekend, turned out to be a stressful one, we left hurt, and disheartened.
Blackpool has a lot of competition, and has some lovely places to stay, and i am sorry to say that this is not a place i will recommend, or will stay again.
No matter what a guest pays cleanliness, and good customer service is paramount.
The reviews are by regulars that we strongly believe they get the better of the rooms. lucky them.
just don't get a top floor sea view room, as you may just get this one, but hopefully the owners will check on housekeeping prior to a guests arrival to prevent this happening to someone else, and we hope that the supposed genuine response from the chap is that he would adhere to checking the rooms is honoured.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yorkie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVallance, Owner at Sandford Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are very sorry you had such an unpleasant and uncomfortable stay at the Sandford and we have already remedied the complaint so this situation should not occur again.I would like to say we take our responsibilities very seriously and do our utmost to make our guests stay a happy and comfortable one, with the majority leaving us having enjoyed their stay. If you had bought this complaint to our attention at the time it would have been remedied straight away and we could have moved you to a different room.
The room you were in had been cleaned by a member of staff who has since been dismissed.
it had not been occupied for a couple of weeks and the cleaner had left a top window slightly open, which, in the recent heavy weather, had allowed windblown sand to accumulate around the sill and window frame,a common problem with all sea front accommodation and we take full responsibility for not checking that particular room before you checked in.
Although our other two longterm cleaners are very thorough and reliable , we have, nevertheless, reintroduced daily room inspections to ensure this problem does not re occur.
All rooms, including en suites, are thoroughly cleaned and hoovered and all beds are newly made with fresh clean linen, prior to new arrivals.
Had you not left hastily at 7am while we were busy preparing for breakfast, we would have had more time to discuss your complaints over a full english breakfast served in a bright modern and clean dining room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    68
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
65
104
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We got 4 nights stays via kgb deals. Hotel owners steph & alan friendly, helpful & cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast room lovely selection of cereals, unlimited tea/coffee/toast plus tasty cooked breakfast. Lounge bar comfy, big tv, big window's over looking sea. Though bedroom/en suite was small everything had its place. Tv, kettle, tea/coffee, drawers, wardrobe & mirror. Cosy & clean. Lunches lovely we had sandwiches with chips & salad. Licensed bar. Just a friendly atmosphere overall. Highly recommend could not fault the sandford.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmo75luca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Another brill stay yet again. That good even stopped a extra night. Booked in for another couple of weekends though the season but sure as hell we will be back b4 then. It's like home from home, nothing ever to much of a problem. Great hosts. See you again soon :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

stayed for one night at the Sandford and what a fantastic night we had. Steph and Alan are very hospitable and go above and beyond to ensure guests are happy. Enjoyed it so much we are returning in the next few weeks and taking 9 friends along for a birthday celebration - it won't come soon enough. Room was well presented, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was was fab and you are sure to be full after this. Had food in the bar at tea time and was beautifully done and excellent value. (I think this is going to become a regular haunt for us).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Me & my boyfriend stayed here after purchasing a deal on WOWCHER, we paid £49 for 2 nights with breakfast so wasn't expecting a lot! the room was small but clean & cosy, lovely view of the beach :) the lady was very helpful with recommending places to see/eat. Breakfast was yummy :) very helpful and catered for dietary requirements (gluten free). Would recommend for a short break, great location on the sea front :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

its only a small hotel but a very warm welcome awaits you. the beds are comfy and warm good showers a bit on the small side well for me I weigh 18 stones so I take up a lot of room.
steph and alan just cannot do enough for you
the breakfast is cooked to perfection and the tea just keeps coming.
will we return, definately it is home from home and very quiet just as we like it.

Room Tip: the front rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkShooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just returned after a two night stay at the sandford, we couldn't have found more friendly owners nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was great full English with as much toast, cereal,tea,coffee and fresh orange as you wanted and the dining room was spotless as was the lounge and well stocked bar. The only thing that let it down was I never saw the naked man in the corridors as stated in another review or the rusty upvc doors. Will definitely be back and would recommend the sandford.

Room Tip: The sea view room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Shore Side Hotel
The Shore Side Hotel
#333 of 856 in Blackpool
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Beach
South Beach
#128 of 856 in Blackpool
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Albans Hotel
St Albans Hotel
#449 of 856 in Blackpool
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oakwell Hotel
Oakwell Hotel
#486 of 856 in Blackpool
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Brooklyn
The New Brooklyn
#57 of 856 in Blackpool
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Hotel

Property: Sandford Hotel
Address: 353 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing