We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUN FOR YOUR LIFE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holme Lea Hotel

The Holme Lea Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Holme Lea Hotel
Ranked #554 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Loughborough
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“RUN FOR YOUR LIFE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We arrived on the Friday night to be greeted by "Mick The Braces". He is possibly the most annoying man in the entire world. He's loud, brash and just ruddy annoying, he has a story for everything.

The hotel is a long way out from the centre, but we knew that before it was booked, so can't really complain about that.

The rooms we small dank and awful. There were 4 guys in our room, 2 in bunk beds, two in a double, not the most comfortable accommodations, though everyone did get to know each other much better by the end of the weekend.

The bathroom, we were one of the lucky rooms that actually had on suite, was very small with no lock on the door, so make sure your not too bashful.

After eating a breakfast made in their kitchen which has the dog running around in it, most people didn't eat there again on the second morning, though the local cafe did a booming trade.

The bar is tiny, with a pool table in which means that with more than about 3 people standing there you get in each others way. Costs, well cans of carling (nearly £3.00), are extortionate.

I cannot really get across how much this place sucks, the only saving grace was the fact blackpool is a ruddy good night out.

AVOID.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keefb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

Stayed in the Holme Lea Hotel 3 - 6 October 2008 and found this
hotel a DUMP. There is no other word for it. There were stains on the carpets. stains on the seats and a dog run round the kitchen whilst the good ole "mick the braces" cooked the so called breakfast. I didn't even dare look at the state of the mattresses, but the thought of getting into the bed made me sick. The so called en-suite rooms well thats another laugh you had to sit on the toilet seat side ways because it was so cramped. We requested various rooms as there was 22 of us on a week-end away, one of the rooms we were given had a set of bunk beds and a single bed, we were three fellas and it was quite funny when one of us had to try and climb into the top bunk.
Needless to say the other rooms weren't quite up to standard either. I will never stay here again or recommend anyone else to go the the place. It was a total waste of money

  • Liked — there was nothing to like if he would have given our money back we would have went somewhere else
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JNeillBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke on Trent
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

Any Hotel that is prepared to put up with the Stag and Hen party antics is not going to be 5 star. Whilst I would not recommend this hotel for a holiday it is adequate for crashing out after heavy night of drinking (if you can manage to climb into the bunk beds provided in certain rooms). 'Mick the Braces' was very helpful and made every one feel welcome. A television, pool table and dart board were the only in house entertainment but no one went to stay in the hotel.

  • Liked — Allowed Stag and Hen parties
  • Disliked — Cramped and dated
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

What a laugh we had, just returned from a weekend at Holme lea hotel. Was a bit unsure at first when I saw the pictures but as soon as we arrived the fun of a hen weekend began!
The owner aka 'Mick the Braces' made you all feel up for a laugh.
The bar stayed open and the partying continued throughout the night!.
The standard of the rooms was not great (there are some with ensuites so just ask!) but for £20.00 a night it was in a good area for great bars and clubs and its right by a tram stop. The atmosphere in the bars and clubs around was good, everyone was really friendly but do just expect hen and stag parties everywhere. A taxi into the main area was a bout £4.00.
The breakfast was a saviour after a night out in Blackpool!!
I would recommend this hotel if you want to party all weekend - very good atmosphere!

  • Liked — the atmosphere, good laugh for a hen weekend!
  • Disliked — not all rooms had ensuite and because there was a large group some went without
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

Went on a Hen Night in this so called "stag & hen night hotel" last Saturday.
This Hotel is in no shape or form a Stag & Hen Hotel, It is just an out-dated, scruffy little B&B which is situated too far from the center of blackpool.
We were charged £40 each for a night expecting all kinds of entertainment and plenty of stags for some fun and games, what we got were six girls in one room ( yes, a whopping £240 per room !! per night!!) no TV, Grotty rooms & manky duvet covers.
Absolutely no entertainment was provided, the tiny little bar didnt even have music playing! and breakfast was awful.
i just dont know how they can advertise as a stag & hen hotel, i assume it simply means that they will except same-sex parties and charge premium rates for the privelage.
Steer clear stags!
also, if you do want a fun Hotel for stags n hens etc..try The Wellington, Blackpool, but dont expect to get any sleep!

Helpful?
7 Thank lesleyaroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holmlea
Holmlea
#113 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#122 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#463 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holme Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holme Lea Hotel

Property: The Holme Lea Hotel
Address: 93 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing