We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern, great breakfast, tasteful rooms, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, great breakfast, tasteful rooms, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just returmed from a one-night stopover in Blackpool at the Strand Hotel. Overall, very satisfied at the price (via Booking.com: a spacious "Exec" room with sea-view and very comfortable King-size bed. From the outside, looks like any other mid-sized Blackpool seafront hotel, but inside, new and modern decor/furnishings, simple but tasteful & functional. Didn't really use the facilities but there was a games room (pool & darts), a business-centre (use of PC), a bar & restaurant. Free WiFi throughout hotel. Breakfast was very good indeed: small but adequate selection of fruits, cereals, pastries and an exceptionally well cooked full english breakfast, served fresh & hot. Staff were all friendly and professional: good service everywhere.
Parking: there's only a few places in front of the hotel, but parking (free) was fairly easy to find in the streets around. Room was fine (would have liked a fridge though), inc. tea/coffee kit. Ensuite bathroom clean & functional.
Location: a short walk north of Blackpool's North-pier (surprisingly nice to take a stroll along and have a drink in the bar at the end). Its a bit of a walk into town centre and a major hike down to the Pleasure Beach, but its all flat so good exercise to be had.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazfrombromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    134
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
192
196
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

the food choice and quality is excellant,staff are helpful, the rooms were nice and clean

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

my husband and i and my son and his girlfriend stayed for one night only wish it had been more, we all had sea view rooms that were beautifully clean, especially the gorgeous white crisp cotton sheets, breakfast was very good and plenty of it, didnt have much to do with management except when we needed a taxi a lady stood in the middle of the road attempting to flag a one for us i presume she had something to do with the hotel , but not sure anyway she was really friendly, if you dont want lamps in the front windows with nets and artificial flowers then this hotel is spot on.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockerCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband, 5 year old son & I have just arrived back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is fabulous & has everything in it that you could need or want. It's very modern & the rooms are spacious & comfortable. The restaurant is lovely & the food is marvellous (we stayed on a BB&EM basis). Really can't fault this hotel at all. It was our first stay there & we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed as a party of 4 , we brought my mother to Blackpool for her birthday. Very good price of 70 per room per night including breakfast. The hotel was well known to taxi drivers so easy to find. Tram and buses on the doorstep.
Outstanding sea views in spotless rooms, lovely bathrooms and breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Will definetly return to the Starnd if I return to Blackpool. Will recommend it to everyone i know :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubmum81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

My friend and I both stayed in single rooms. We had a lovely sea view and a double bed for an extremely reasonable price! The concierge was really friendly and helpful. Comfy rooms, very clean. Pleasant stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakeysarah_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We love Blackpool and have stayed at many hotels but will be returning to The Strand Hotel again. The staff were excellent and really friendly nothing was too much trouble and they even suggested new places to visit around Blackpool we didn't know about giving us loads of ideas for our next stay. Were bringing our bikes next time as Blackpool has some great new cycle routes and you can store your bikes at the hotel, they even provide packed lunches and maps!! We had a room at the back as all the sea view ones were full but it was bright and spacious and just like the photo on the website. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order the omelette was the best I have ever had. We booked in for dinner and had the lancashire hot pot and homemade cheesecake mmmmm........... Thanks for a great stay and you definitely deserve your hotel of the year award.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#11 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing