We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rita”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at The Strand over Christmas First the bad points the room was very small no drawer space few hangers tea and coffee provided but could not get the kettle under the tap but the housekeeper left extra bottled water. The single beds where too narrow. The good points the staff where second to none could not do enough for you, Good buffet breakfast in pleasant surroundings, Very quite at night. The cabaret was very good and everything was laid on for an enjoyable Christmas. Next time I would book earlier and get a better room.

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Rita, thank you for taking the time to put your review on tripadvisor. It was great Christmas and the repeat bookings for next year have been well above expectations. We are sorry you found the room to be on the small side but feel this is reflected in the price that we charge. We have a great line-up planned again for next year so please do book soon as the larger rooms may have gone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    134
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
192
196
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at the Strand Lodge hotel January 17th to 19th for the Pigeon weekend. we had been in the Strand hotel last year but got the lodge when we booked this year. Loved last year so were a little apprehensive about the new place. We were not dissappointed, the lodge is every bit as good as the Strand maybe better in some respects. The Staff work between the two and are so helpful and pleasant, nothing is too much trouble. My personal favourite is the bubbly blonde polish girl who serves the meals( sorry don't know her name) but she remembered us from last year. She is a little gem! The food was great, dinner at the Strand but breakfast in the lodge both good. The entertainment both nights great but the Saturday night was something else? Micky John Bull has to be seen to be believed fantastic!! All in all a great place to stay-- Back next year hopefully.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Margaret, Thanks for the review. The feedback for the Strand Lodge has been excellent considering we only took over in October and guests can be guaranteed the same standard of quality and service at both venues. We're also very pleased to be the Blackpool home of Micky John Bull and he will be on every Wednesday and Friday night throughout the year starting in March so please feel free to call in or we'll see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed just the one night at The Strand on Saturday 13th January 2014 my party containing my Husband and our 9 Year old Daughter. On arrival pleasant welcome and smooth check in, unfortunately the room we were given the bed was to soft for my Husbands back as he has suffered over the Christmas Holidays, so we rang down to the reception who quickly arranged another room which was at more convenience for us plus the bed was perfect for comfort. The room was spotless, modern and well equipped. The only issue was no fault to the hotel as such, but there was a Birthday party downstairs and we were made to use the upstairs bar due to the Mother of the party made us feel uncomfortable at the bar downstairs by standing staring at us even though we were guests and we just came back from our family meal out. The bar was not open upstairs at first so we had no other option as to use the bar downstairs. The hotel provided us with a radio to entertain us and to drown the party music downstairs, eventually they opened the bar for us other guests and attended when needed. The breakfast in the morning was delicious with self service buffet. Tea, coffee and toast brought to the table when needed by a lovely waitress and nothing was to much trouble for them. Overall lovely stay and we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Sharron, many thanks for the great review. As you correctly pointed out there was a function on at the hotel this particular weekend and we are glad you were not affected by it too much and it didn't deter from your stay. We have now learnt from this experience and in future when we have a function on at the hotel we shall persuade all our other guests to venture round to the bar of our sister venue The Strand Lodge which is situated around the corner. Our team are very appreciative of your kind comments on handling the situation and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at The Strand last weekend when the weather was foul. but had a warm welcome on arrival. Sadly our room was at the back of the hotel and a little" tired" and bed not very comfortable but clean.. The room was extremely cold on our arrival however, once reported this was soon rectified, sadly the shower room never did get warm and it was a little uncomfortable getting out the shower. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and this was replenished each day. The first evening meal was a little disappointing, and had to be sent back, however this was replaced and was much better. Breakfast is self service and an good choice of cereals, yoghurts and full English. The staff were excellent, attentive, courteous and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Try for a sea-view front room as back rooms dark with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank KetteringSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry to find that you found the room to be a little "tired" but can assure that every room is checked for maintenance issues and painted yearly unless otherwise considered necessary, this room was due to be repainted during the approaching "off-season". Your bathroom is one of the few with an outside window, which incidentally is less than 6 months old, but does contain an individually operated heater - as are the requirements for our VisitBritain 3 star accreditation. One little tug would have supplied all the heat you needed for your stay and if you had have asked we would have been happy to show you where to tug. I'm disappointment to hear you had to send your meal back but at the time of your stay we were going through a change in kitchen personnel but this should not have affected you and am glad the issue was rectified. I'm equally pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and service you received and very much hope you'll consider staying again next year as we are almost fully booked for the same weekend during the Soul Weekender in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel for the last four years for the Blackpool Luxury Soul Weekender which is held at The Hilton. I prefer the choice to be able to get away from the music occasionally & The Strand is perfect for just that. 2 mins walk & is usually full of other Luxury Soul Weekender guests also taking advantage of this lovely hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for the great review you've given us for your stay on tripadvisor. We always look forward to seeing the same faces each year and are pleased when we continue to hear such excellent feedback from our regular clientele. I'm glad to see you booked in again for next year and look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself hubby ,2 boys and dog all stayed at the strand lodge 2nd jan for 3 nights .hotel was lovely rooms all clean and modern food was absoloutly wonderful both breakfast and 3 course evening meals all freshly made and the homemade chutney i came home with was very much appreciated (thanks) the biggest asset to this hotel was the staff all very friendly and helpful the owners should be very proud to have such a great team and great to find a lovely place that will also accept your dog as well will defiantly visit again and recommend to anyone and is well place in blackpool a lovely walk along the front into town with tram and bus stops very close to hotel .

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nottsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi all, thank you for the feedback. The Strand Lodge offers the same great standard of quality and service that we have been offering at our sister venue The Strand Hotel for several years and are so pleased that this has been appreciated by all our guests. We are so proud of our team and also our clientele that we have been fortunate enough to have built up over the years. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have just returned from a great time for new year. Can recommend that you try this hotel for great service and welcome also good food. Hotel on promenade and has sea view rooms. Family run and staff really friendly.

Room Tip: Some sea view rooms. On promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Lorraine, thank you for your feedback it was great to see you and Paul at the hotel again. I hope you got back safely and we look forward to seeing you both later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#58 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#11 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing