We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Myself hubby ,2 boys and dog all stayed at the strand lodge 2nd jan for 3 nights .hotel was lovely rooms all clean and modern food was absoloutly wonderful both breakfast and 3 course evening meals all freshly made and the homemade chutney i came home with was very much appreciated (thanks) the biggest asset to this hotel was the staff all very friendly and helpful the owners should be very proud to have such a great team and great to find a lovely place that will also accept your dog as well will defiantly visit again and recommend to anyone and is well place in blackpool a lovely walk along the front into town with tram and bus stops very close to hotel .

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank nottsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hi all, thank you for the feedback. The Strand Lodge offers the same great standard of quality and service that we have been offering at our sister venue The Strand Hotel for several years and are so pleased that this has been appreciated by all our guests. We are so proud of our team and also our clientele that we have been fortunate enough to have built up over the years. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 706 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have just returned from a great time for new year. Can recommend that you try this hotel for great service and welcome also good food. Hotel on promenade and has sea view rooms. Family run and staff really friendly.

Room Tip: Some sea view rooms. On promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hi Lorraine, thank you for your feedback it was great to see you and Paul at the hotel again. I hope you got back safely and we look forward to seeing you both later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Strand is in a run down part of a run down UK sea side resort (Blackpool). So on the face of it has little going for it. It has however got wonderful staff! The waitress staff are excellent, and inspired. They work tirelessly and have a warm and friendly greeting for each and every guest.

The bar staff transform from bar tenders to table waiters and ensure no client needlessly have to queue. Any reported problems are dealt with efficiently and effectively (my wife could not figure how to turn on a radiator and reported it faulty). The Strand stands out as a cut above its neighbouring hotels and was a delight to visit.

Room Tip: Some of the very top floor rooms look out to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write another good review for The Strand Hotel on tripadvisor. Our team of staff constantly work hard and do their utmost to deal with any request guests may have whilst also putting things right should there ever be a problem or issue such as your radiator.
It is the one area we pride ourselves on the most and are most grateful for your appreciation. Thanks again and we very much hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel was good but the staff were superb. The TV went wrong and within 5 mins it had been replaced with a new one. We stayed in the Lodge part that was run by Jane, nothing was too much trouble for her. She was doing so much work that at one point I thought there must be two of her !!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank None1234Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hi there, thanks for the great review. I couldn't think of a better example of our commitment to guest satisfaction than replacing a television that was reported as being faulty only 5 minutes earlier. We are often praised on our team and on this occasion are especially proud of Jane and hope she continues to work hard. Our ethos is that when one of us does well then we all do well.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

we have found our very own little diamond, our return trip to the strand, 3 night stay 6-9 dec and what excellent value for money even better than last time with the added bonus of a sea view. room was lovely and spacious complete with bath and shower, staff very friendly and attentive. looking forward to going back again in april for my birthday :)

Room Tip: an excellent value for money hotel, on the sea front, perfect location away from the noise but withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmorrey21up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear David, many thanks for another great review. We are also pleased when we manage to exceed peoples expectations and are delighted you appreciated the sea-view upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again in April - remember to ask for an executive room if available!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel is nice, decorated to a good standard, fond staff friendly and mostly helpful.

Food was OK, hot, well cooked but sometime dinner was a little balnd, however for the price no one could really complain.

Buffet style breakfast was fine, good choice and plenty of basics, tea coffee and fruit juice, and ample choice

My bedroom was adapted for wheelchair users, clean but the carpet had stains and the Mirror was still broken on wardrobe after second visit.

The staff are friendly and super efficient, sometimes I felt it got a bit clinical, ut everyone smiled a lot which really helps when away from home.

Only one suggestion, it would have been nice to buy snack/sandwiches at night, or maybe get a drink after the bar closed. Dinner at 5.30 meant due to own requirements needed a snack later on.

Biggest problem for me is getting a room, they are a busy hotel and hotel seem to have one room with disabled facilities.

Will definitely stay again, this is the standard other Hotels should be aiming for at least. Value for money, good service and even free bottled water in room on arrival. Little things often mean the most.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, prices just within acceptable and well worth it.

Room Tip: As fzar as I know there wasn't a fitness centre or swimming pool. Night room service would be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just had an excellant 3 night stay at the Strand Hotel with a party of 27 from the Warren Farm caravan site . It must be the best hotel in Blackpool from the time you set foot in the hotel the staff make you feel welcome its like home from home with fantastic food cooked by Maggie,then you got Karl the best barman in Blackpool who knows what you want before you go to the bar,Anetta who waited on us all hand and foot for the 3 days we were there.The hotel is super clean with fresh towels everyday and great rooms and last of all a special thankyou to Marisa for making arrangements for our next years stay HIGHLY RECOMENDED

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank derekalanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 73 in Blackpool
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $94 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing