We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quaint place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was made welcome here from the first moment when the owner (I think?) stopped his cleaning the exterior to help me through the doors. I was given an upgrade to a double room (I was travelling alone) and then had my bag carried to my room for me.

The room was comfy, on the small side but to be expected for a small seaside B&B, the interior of the hotel was more modern than the exterior, which kept the facade of the 70's. The hotel, being some distance north of Pleasure Beach, is quiet, which was nice. It is however, right on tram stops and a bus stop, so accessing Pleasure Beach and North Pier was easy and cheap.

I came to photograph the Illuminations and was not disappointed. But for the blustery wind off the Irish Sea, I would have taken many more photos, but I did enjoy a tram ride to see all of them.

Dinner at the hotel was delicious. For 12 pound, i had a three course meal with three choices of each course. The cook even offered to cook fish and chips for me, because I had indicated on check in i would like that. The dishes were delightfully 70's! Breakfast was also delicious.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are probably better view wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shakantala09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    132
    48
    19
    14
See reviews for
190
192
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went to The Strand end of September, 2 Adults, 2 Children. We normally go to the Cliffs but its was all booked up, so we were a bit apprehensive as not a hotel we had stayed at. Well boy were we impressed. Although we were on top floor it didn't put us off. Room was lovely decorated and if there were any problems, Karl was straight there to help, which leads me onto the staff. One word AMAZING, couldn't do enough for you. Food was gorgeous we wanted to stay to go through the menu and kids loved it as well even with my daughter being fussy. One thing I did notice, there was never ever anything left on anyones plates when they were being taken away, tells me lovely food. We even got the kids walking to the tower which normally they would make us get tram, which was good because the exercise done us good after eating all the lovely food.
Entertainment was ok for the adults but not much for children but didn't stop my kids still enjoying themselves and my son spending a small fortune on the pool table. A thank you to Karl for fixing the pool que aswell.
WE have had a vote in our family and all voted to come back to Strand, so hoping there is availability for us same time next year and hopefully see the crowd from Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JulieMcd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Julie, thank you so much for your review. We know problems may arise but like to be given a fair opportunity to put them right, which you did and were able to resolved promptly. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return again next year when we hope to have much of the same group back too, bar the odd unhappy face!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Strand Hotel recently for 4 days and had a fantastic time. We were made very welcome with our 3 year old daughter,Arron Jane (owners?)Karl Magda staff all OUTSTANDING.So pleasant and very helpful they arranged balloons and a wee cake for our table for wee girls birthday.Food was excellent next time we return to Blackpool we would stay here without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nickyhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Nicky, thank you taking the time to write a review here on tripadvisor. We're glad you all enjoyed your time with us at The Strand Hotel for your daughters birthday and look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm not sure why there are so many great reviews here.
The inclusive breakfast and evening meal was convenient and tasty but didn’t include soft drinks.
We asked for a water pitcher to be left on the table and they were a bit reluctant to do that until they realized we needed refills every few minutes.
The breakfast was advertised to be open until 10:30am and we arrived about 10:05 one morning and the Eastern European guy who seemed to be in charge then said sorry you’re too late and it was now closed. His English skills got decidedly worse when we made our case for the time! I reported this to the front desk but we were given no real explanation for the buffet closing early and offered no concessions on anything even though we had to purchase breakfast elsewhere that morning.
Our 2 bed room was extremely cramped and I had to open the shower door have one foot in the shower when sitting on the toilet. The food was great however and I especially enjoyed the rhubarb and custard I ordered every night for desert.
The elevator is painfully small and slow and belongs in a museum.
They are well located just north of the North Pier and the weekly transport passes are well worth the money.

Room Tip: Our other companions had a bigger 2 bedroom room, try to snag one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Alan, thank you for your review which emphasises several points which we think are made clear but may have appeared confusing. Our breakfast times are stated clearly as finishing at 10:00am weekdays and 10:30am at the weekend. You were able to make breakfast on time every other morning you stayed but this was an issue on one occasion when you arrived at 10:20am and everything had been packed away.

Next, you have rightly pointed out that soft drinks are indeed not included in any other package than the all-inclusive one, which you were not booked into. With all our packages, including B&B, tap water is complimentary - I fail to understand why the waiter would not have left a pitcher, or jug, of water had you asked for it to be left.

Perhaps the reason there are so many great reviews is because we offer great value holidays and short-breaks with attentive staff in a relaxed friendly environment and people appreciate that? Even you appreciated some elements of the stay, including a dessert that we don't offer.

One of our older reviews says, " the lift belongs in a museum" and several years later here you quoting it - and they say British humour doesn't travel well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just got back from a stay at The Strand in Blackpool as part of my 30th birthday celebrations. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to do justice for the service we received. After some slight confusion over the booking (!!) the staff and management went out of their way to make the stay as perfect as possible. The food in the restaurant on Friday night was gorgeous, and the bar prices very reasonable. Breakfast was lovely, with a buffet style service.

Everything was perfect and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review Ryan, we're so pleased that you chose to spend your 30th birthday with us at The Strand Hotel and we managed to make the weekend a memorable one for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future - although it may be best to phone in advance next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of days just to see the illuminations. The hotel is around a 10 minute walk from the Tower, with numerous hotels closer, but if your after a warm and welcoming hotel, excellent staff, evening entertainment and excellent breakfast then you can't go wrong with The Strand. The tram stops just outside the hotel which was an added bonus as the weather was not so good. Would definately stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Susan47Anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Susan, thank you for your review. We always believe your stay is what you make of it and you certainly made the most of your time in Blackpool - regardless of the weather being so bad! We are glad you chose your stay to be with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

i once again took a bus load of young and old from our social club 40 people in glenrothes fife,we were met by the owners arron and jane they welcomed everyone to the hotel,there was free tea coffee and biscuits for everyone,the selection of meals were excellent, the staff in the dinning room were brilliant and treated you like kings and queens also we had free entertainment the 3 nights we stayed,frank behind the bar was always very courtious and good for a laugh,the rooms were cleaned every day, fresh towels were laid out everyday,overall our stay was brilliant we have already booked up for next year and cant wait to go back.davie nelson ciswo club glenrothes.

Room Tip: all room en suite and lift to everyfloor,101 and 104 very large with kingsize beds and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank maureensboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Davie, thanks for taking the time to write your review and choosing to stay with us again for the sixth time. It's always encouraging for the staff to know they are appreciated as they work so hard to make everyones stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you, your lovely family and everyone from the club again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing