We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of The Strand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Anglesey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of days just to see the illuminations. The hotel is around a 10 minute walk from the Tower, with numerous hotels closer, but if your after a warm and welcoming hotel, excellent staff, evening entertainment and excellent breakfast then you can't go wrong with The Strand. The tram stops just outside the hotel which was an added bonus as the weather was not so good. Would definately stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Susan47Anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Susan, thank you for your review. We always believe your stay is what you make of it and you certainly made the most of your time in Blackpool - regardless of the weather being so bad! We are glad you chose your stay to be with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    139
    50
    21
    14
See reviews for
194
198
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

i once again took a bus load of young and old from our social club 40 people in glenrothes fife,we were met by the owners arron and jane they welcomed everyone to the hotel,there was free tea coffee and biscuits for everyone,the selection of meals were excellent, the staff in the dinning room were brilliant and treated you like kings and queens also we had free entertainment the 3 nights we stayed,frank behind the bar was always very courtious and good for a laugh,the rooms were cleaned every day, fresh towels were laid out everyday,overall our stay was brilliant we have already booked up for next year and cant wait to go back.davie nelson ciswo club glenrothes.

Room Tip: all room en suite and lift to everyfloor,101 and 104 very large with kingsize beds and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank maureensboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Davie, thanks for taking the time to write your review and choosing to stay with us again for the sixth time. It's always encouraging for the staff to know they are appreciated as they work so hard to make everyones stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you, your lovely family and everyone from the club again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the strand hotel from the 28th sep to the 1st oct.

We were staying over the weekend just to see the illumnations we arrived friday afternoon we parked the car up at the front of the hotel and we met Abi we were a little early for check in however Abi got our room ready so we could get in and settled she could not have done much more for us she was really helpful and very friendly.

The management and staff...were both amazing and would do anything for you to make your stay more pleasurable

The rooms were comfy and homely exactly what you need and it made my wife's day they even had a hair dryer for her!!

The food for breakfast and dinner time was fantastic great menu each night and i loved the buffet style breakfast.

Will defo be back and by far the best hotel in Blackpool!!

Callum & Suzanne

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cjwilson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Callum and Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing The Strand Hotel as the venue to start your honeymoon celebrations. It's always good to know that the service is appreciated as we endeavour to make everyones stay a pleasurable one. We wish you many years of happiness together as husband and wife and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I will start from when walking into The Strand for a 2 night stay till I said my goodbyes when walking into the Strand I was a bit disappointed on the reception area it is quite small and the girl told us what we were entitled to on the Fully inc.we thgen went through a door which the handle was loose we then were ushered to a lift which is very small and being on the first floor we did not use it again! we then entered the room which looked nice until you looked more closely the chairs are frayed and the bathroom needs attention when you get in the bath for a shower the bath creeked which oviously they must have safety checks we then went for evening meal the sun was shining through the window and there was no blinds to shade you the meal was top marks and so was the waiter service next day we went down for breakfast which again was top marks after the day we came back and my husband went to get a alcohol drink and soft drink at 5.50pm and was told they did not serve alcohol till 5pm!!! we then went into evening meal which again was top marks but dinning room was cold and basic next day we we down to breakfast and food was good we then packed our bags and came down to thank Jayne for moving her car for us not many would have done that The Strand is in a good location but if it had some attention it really would be an excellent hotel

Room Tip: the room has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi June, thanks for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. We accept that not everybody will enjoy their stay with us and we are not completely above criticism. We're glad you found the food to be "good" and "top marks" and the staff to be friendly, but the same friendly staff would not have minded pulling down the blinds over the windows for you or turning off the air-conditioning.

Sadly we will never see you back at the hotel again nor can we write titles to management responses but if we could then mine would read "Small reception, small lift, big hearts".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from a mid week break to The Strand Hotel. Managed to get a parking space right outside which was a bonus.

Met & checked in by Jane who is one of the owners, knew who we were and everything was explained perfectly. First impression was that the hotel was clean and modern. No upgrade on room as the hotel was busy, but we were offered a choice of two rooms to see which we would prefer. Picked 207, 2nd floor at back of hotel, no view but wasn't expecting a sea view without having to pay for it.

The room wasn't massive but it was very clean, we had a superking bed, lcd tv on wall, wardrobe and dresser. En suite wasn't huge but toilet sink and shower, so everything you need. Bed was big and comfy, nice pillows too. Room was cleaned daily with fresh towels. Never had to have the heating on either as the room was a comfortable temp.

We booked their all inclusive package so we got dinner, b&b plus drinks from 5pm to 11pm. Brekkie is an all you can eat buffet and dinner gives you a choice of courses which change every night. Food was fab, well cooked, tasty and hot. Bar prices are also reasonable if you not on all inclusive

Staff at the this hotel are great, bar staff are fab - not many hotels you go to give you bar to table service ( would assume this won't happen high season). Marta and Michael in the restaurant are lovely as well, nothing too much trouble.

There's entertainment nightly - singers and bingo, all of which we enjoyed.

Hotel is on the North Prom, well away from the town centre and the stags and hens. Its quiet but both the trams and buses stop right outside so you can hop on either and head into the centre or in the other direction to Cleveleys and Fleetwood, both of which are worth a visit for a bit of retail therapy!

Overall I'd highly recommend The Strand for a break to Blackpool.

Special thanks to Aaron for the loan of £20 until we found a cashline = great customer service!!!!

Room Tip: Book earlier enough to get a sea view or a room with a bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank We_Love_Tiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Myself & my wife found it difficult due to flight costs to go to The villamarina as we would usually. We thought we would see what we could find in the UK.

After looking at a couple of other all inclusive hotels in Blackpool - 1 I wouldnt touch with a bargepole and the other not offering all inclusive all year round - we found this little gem.

Food :

excellent variety. Good hearty British fry up and cereal and toast available for breakfast. Evening meals were a 3 course offering. Very tasty and the portions were ample.

Rooms : Very well appointed. Clean and airy. Modern flatscreen television and shower en-suite. The only thing to note is the beds are made of a wooden base and we both have the bruises to show. The beds are extremely comfortable and made daily. I would ask for a room with a bath next time because the showers are snug if you are a larger chap like myself.

Hotel location : Far enough away from the centre to avoid the party crowd but right opposite the tram and bus stops. It takes 5 mins on the tram to get to the centre. Side note is to visit Clevelys if you can. Very refreshing to see a bustling town centre with a real greengrocers and cafes. Also lots of banks (I will come back to this).

Entertainment :

The hotel provides entertainment each evening of bingo and a singer. I won the bingo on my last night. £12 woohoo :). The entertainment on our 2nd and 3rd nights was excellent. The first night not so much, however, it is free.

Free wifi was available which is excellent as many hotels charge for this. We went all inclusive which was excellent value £50pp. You would pay £12 for the evening meal alone. The spirits and beer were house selections but not a no-label special. My whiskey was Bells.

Customer service was excellent and this is probably the reason this hotel is full when others can only complain about the noise from our lively hotel. As an example myself & my wife arrived with £3 cash which wasnt enough to get to Blackpool for an ATM. The owner kindly loaned us £20 to get into blackpool. Jane was very approachable. Tip : Go to Cleveleys or somewhere else for cash as blackpools ATMs all have a charge grrr.

My only point for the hotel to improve was to either man the bar all day or get a bell as one day we had to wait on the Manager finishing a booking to get a juice.

Special mentions must go to Marta &Karl who were very friendly & made our holiday. I dont know what you are paying them but its not enough.

Thank you for a superb stay and we will definitely be back - maybe not so late in the year next time though.

Room Tip: ask for a bath with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jamiesneddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renton dumbarton shire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

i booked a party of 32 people to go to this hotel again this year for our sept weekend holiday i am a support worker and take grannie,s granddad,s mum,s auntie,s and kid,s we all had a great time again thanks to the staff . i am so sorry that the family was kept awake at night but i can asure them it was not the girls as 2 family,s from our party were on the same floor you just cant keep every one happy . next time come with us and we will show you,s how to have a great time .roll on next year from all at water side view and remember to watch the doc on bbc 1 and you,s will see all the super stars

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#12 of 69 in Blackpool
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#11 of 69 in Blackpool
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 69 in Blackpool
745 reviews
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 326-328 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners of Blackpool Hotel of the Year 2009. Situated in a prime location on Blackpool’s exclusive North Promenade, a leisurely stroll from the Golden Mile, you will find one of Blackpool’s finest hotels - as featured on Coronation Street! You’re guaranteed impeccable service with a warm and friendly welcome from an award-winning family team. Offering a home-from-home experience for guests seeking the best in comfort and quality. We promise nothing less than a memorable stay. The Strand Hotel is the place to stay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing