We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for everything”
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaps
Ranked #56 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent for everything”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

ive been going to this hotel for years it used to be colins hotel. then kevin and mark took over and ive been staying there ever since the hotel is great location for the gay scene and is withing waking distance to the train station and coach station i would deffenitly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank verytall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
78
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I have stayed at Chaps hotel many times having been introduced to Chaps, Kevin and Mark several years ago by a good friend. Each visit has re-confirmed me in the knowledge that Kevin and Mark offer exceptional hospitality and great value for money. The hotel is very well appointed, and very well maintained. Cleanliness is exemplory, and both Kevin and Mark's attention to the needs of their guests is without fault. Rooms are very comfortable with all mod cons, and the public areas - reception, bar, restaurant and the chill out room, are tastefully appointed and spotlessly clean. The bar is friendly, well stocked and very reasonably priced, Evening meal portions are huge, and of unquestionable quality, and like the hotel in general, - excellent value for money. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order, and guests individual menu/ingrediant variation requests are catered for without question or complaint. There has always been a walm welcome at Chaps, and I can heartilly recommend Chaps to one and all. MRx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret_Rose19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed in the "Sinatra Suite" on the first floor and could not fault anything. Wonderful comfy bed, flat screen digital tv with perfect picture and spotless bathroom. There was also an information booklet in the room which explained everything you would want to know for your stay in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and of consistent quality each day. You could even arrange for breakfast in your room if you wished. We also ate from the evening menu and the quality of this was equally excellent. The dining room, bar and other areas are modern and tastefully decorated. Kevin & Mark were very friendly and could not have been more helpful, whether it was ideas for things to do or sorting an accident we had with a mug of coffee!! We have booked to go back again at Christmas and would definitely recommend to anyone - a "home-from-home"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve_Mark_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Chaps is billed as 'the friendliest Hotel in Blackpool,' but the owner couldn't have interacted with us less if he had tried! Our 'welcoming chat' with him was limited to 3 sentences or so at most. He couldn't even be bothered to open up the Hotel bar in the evening as the place 'wasn't busy enough' in the last week of August at the peak of high season. The room was nicely presented, to be fair - but most people opt for a gay Hotel because they wan't to be able to socialise and interact with other Gay men. There was no opportunity for this at Chaps. There were no 'social' spaces and you are kept strictly in your room (except during breakfast - which was fairly run of the mill and tasteless). We will definitely not be stopping at Chaps again and would certainly question its claim to be a 'friendly' space.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ambient245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

After staying in this hotel for the 7th time i can not fault it in anyway,as soon as you enter the reception you are made very welcome. Not only are Kevin and Mark very friendly but other residents are too and have made a few new friends from my stays in chaps. The meals are great too from the tasty breakfast in the morning to the generous platefuls for evening meal(the scampi inparticular). The rooms are very clean and tidy with flat screen tv and tea and coffee facilities and not to mention the tasteful decor. In the bar it is very reasonibley priced not to mention the good atmosphere. All in all i would definently recommend this hotel to any of my friends who wish to visit blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darrenh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

back in chester after 5 days at chaps being going there for years made to fell at home every time i like the pubs around the corner and its 5 mins walk to train station it gets very full at weekends lads of all ages from young to old i have made many pals over the years and its always nice to see them when im there i also have being for the christmas deals and the new year being on my own i have never felt lonely and left out ,the boss kevin remembers everyones name i dont know how he does it,simpley put i feel this is the best gay mens hotel in blackpool and the friendlliest .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChesterHarry92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed here for the Blackpool Pride.

I was very pleased with my room although small it was tastefully decorated and very clean. My friends had a much larger room which was just as comfortable.

The food is excellent, 5 stars on the breakfast (included) and a great choice from the menu. The fish and chips was my favorite.

The bar is very comfortable and the drinks very reasonably priced, (much cheaper than the local bars). The atmosphere was very friendly too and I made several new friends that weekend.

It's location is perfect for the gay night life being just 5 minute walk to the likes of Funny Girls, Flying Handbag, Flamingos and Mardi Gras.

I definitely recommend anyone looking to stay in an exclusively gay hotel to try here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almartin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#63 of 69 in Blackpool
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#16 of 858 in Blackpool
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#342 of 858 in Blackpool
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#51 of 858 in Blackpool
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#6 of 858 in Blackpool
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#14 of 858 in Blackpool
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Property: Chaps
Address: 9-11 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing