We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy harry”
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaps
Ranked #68 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“happy harry”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

back in chester after 5 days at chaps being going there for years made to fell at home every time i like the pubs around the corner and its 5 mins walk to train station it gets very full at weekends lads of all ages from young to old i have made many pals over the years and its always nice to see them when im there i also have being for the christmas deals and the new year being on my own i have never felt lonely and left out ,the boss kevin remembers everyones name i dont know how he does it,simpley put i feel this is the best gay mens hotel in blackpool and the friendlliest .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChesterHarry92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
75
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed here for the Blackpool Pride.

I was very pleased with my room although small it was tastefully decorated and very clean. My friends had a much larger room which was just as comfortable.

The food is excellent, 5 stars on the breakfast (included) and a great choice from the menu. The fish and chips was my favorite.

The bar is very comfortable and the drinks very reasonably priced, (much cheaper than the local bars). The atmosphere was very friendly too and I made several new friends that weekend.

It's location is perfect for the gay night life being just 5 minute walk to the likes of Funny Girls, Flying Handbag, Flamingos and Mardi Gras.

I definitely recommend anyone looking to stay in an exclusively gay hotel to try here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almartin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I must take issue with a recent reviewer. I have stayed at Chaps on several occasions, the most recent being the pride weekend. I am myself handicapped, although not confined to a wheelchair I cannot negotiate stairs.
On all my stays I have been allocated a ground floor room specifically designed with the handicapped guest in mind. My stay has always been very enjoyable, with Kevin and Mark going out of their way to ensure this.
The hotel has always been spotless, the food excellent and the service brilliant.
I have no hesitation in recommending Chaps to anyone wishing to visit Blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

stayed there now 4 times treated my self to one of the the new theme rooms with flat screen tv with dvd, full en-suite all brand new the room evan has a fridge! i had 3 evening meals all costing under a fiver! i had a lovely 3days and was made very welcome from kevin and have booked again for a long weekend in june in my job i stay in pleny of hotels up and down the uk and this is the first time i have giving a review of a hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shand0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Having looked forward to our weekend away we were utterly disapointed from the word go, firstly our friend that came with us has recently had a hip operation and there were absolutely no diasabled facilities and subsequently had to climb up 3 very steep flights of stairs, upon getting in the room there was a funny smell to the room and the toilet lacked cleanliness.

The final straw was dinner, we thought we'd sample the food you could buy in the hotel, however upon ordering the food at about 6.45 we did not receive it until gone 8 o clock with no explanation .

Well we were waiting for our food, the 'regulars' that came in after us had exactly what we ordered but they all got their food before ours came.

When we challenged the delay, we were accused of lieing and calling them un professional, offered no apology for the wait we had .. when the food FINALLY came out the chips were cold, the shepards pie was nothing short of discusting!!!

Upon the comments from the owners we left and had to come home so they completely ruined our weekend! Thanks alot Chaps hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Marty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed at the chaps b&b its the best i have stayed in i have stopped in a few over the yrs but this 1 has got to be the best i stayed in the premier suit it was cosy very clean close to everything in blackpool round the corner from the gay scene the same to the beach it was great as i got off at blackpool train station 5mins walk i was there its so near everthing you want i was very pleased & happy will stay here again i no alot of peop[le say its a bit cruzy but i didnt find that a problem if your not a cruzy person then you dont see it you only see it if u look 4 it i thought this was a great b&b highly reccomended

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank gra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Great Hotel, my partner and I stayed for two nights just before Easter 2010.

We booked the Sinatra Suite and we were not disappointed, very tastefully decorated.

Lovely spacious room, very light and spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the Hotel)
The staff were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.

Great atmosphere, delicious Breakfast.

I have stayed in at least thirty B&B's in Blackpool and this one is without doubt the very best!

Highly recommended and we will certainly book again soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkshireHacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#343 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#17 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#75 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#16 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Property: Chaps
Address: 9-11 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing