We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Weekend Break”
Review of Chaps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaps
Ranked #56 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent two nights at Chaps (should have been three but rudely interrupted by work). The hotel is very modern, nicely decorated and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel at home.
I stayed in a standard room. Room was nicely decorated with a really comfortable double bed and unlike some hotels I've stayed in in Blackpool had really good pillows.
The bar food in the evening is a great way to fill yourself up for the night ahead, huge portions and great value for money.
The breakfast is hearty, hot and mostly freshly cooked. I'm not a great lover of fried food, but aside from the excess cooking oil it was tasty enough.
If you're planning a trip to Blackpool this is definately the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkshire1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Chaps
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

A gem of a hotel, a minute from the seafront.
We phoned this hotel after deciding to check out early from another (30 minutes after checking in) Kevin and Mark could not have been more helpful in giving us two rooms at such short notice.
The rooms were clean, fresh and cosy. The hotel was cheerful, friendly and inviting. The breakfast was fresh, cheery and ample.
I will definitely be back.
Oh, and sorry again for throwing coke over your bar!!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 24 - great room!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveSW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned after a great 10 night stay in the Elton John suite at Chaps. On arrival we were greeted by Mark, one of the owners who immediately made us feel at home and helped us carry our bags to our room. It was a light airy room with a nice King Size bed and a view over Cocker Street, we could even see our car in the public car park diagonally opposite (which only cost us £3 a day) and also the sea.
After a good nights sleep we went down to a nice cooked breakfast which came with as much toast as you could eat ably cooked and served by our hosts Mark and kevin. The dining room like our room and the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean.
Chaps is close to all the facilities including the seafront, railway station, gay pubs and clubs and the town centre. Also it is only an hour up the motorway to the Lake District for those who enjoy the scenery there. All in all an excellent place to stay and we hope to return next year.
Many thanks Mark and Kevin and look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisncolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin b, Owner at Chaps, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi, Glad you both enjoyed your holiday with us, and the facilities we offer at the hotel . We are also pleased you managed to see some of Blackpool and the surrounding areas even your day upto the lakes, and we hope to see you again, take care and all the best,Kevin & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in the Bette Midler room for two nights at the weekend. The hotel is very clean, the room was a good sized ensuite room that was more than adequate for a 2 night stay and is within walking distance of the north pier, Funny Girls and the main gay bars/clubs located in the Talbot Road area. The two hosts were friendly and took time to show us the facilities in the hotel. The hotel has a bar which charges reasonable prices and the breakfast was great.

Parking in front of the hotel is limited but there is a Council car park just over the road that charges £4 for 24 hours and £6 for 48 hours parking. Blackpool North car park which is located to the rear of Blackpool North train station is a bigger car park and charges the same prices - only a 5 minute walk from Chaps. We have parked on Blackpool North car park for 10 or so years regularly and never had a problem.

Would we stay at the hotel again? Definitely; it is one of the better hotels in Blackpool that caters primaily for gay/bi men.

The hotel does evening meals which seemed to be popular with the guests who we saw, an excellent alternative for those who like Greek food is 'The Med' which is located above the Ann Summers shop in Blackpool. We have been regular visitors for over 10 years and never had a bad meal. The service is excellent, the food great and the prices reasonable.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently stayed at chaps and were as usual very pleased with the welcome, standard of food and room. Bedding, shower, toilet and furniture are always spotlessly clean and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone else wishing to stay in Blackpool. Kevin and Mark obviously work very hard to keep the hotel to this standard and they are always helpful and friendly. We have booked again for a few days in the near future!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is the Third time i have been to Chaps Hotel now and i've always had a lovely stay there.
When you arrive they always offer to take your bags which makes you start to relax straightaway and is very welcoming.
It is very clean and that's the first thing i look at.Twice i have stayed in a premier room and they have different themes 'Shirley Bassey ' 'Kylie Minogue' and they have been spotless, fresh and welcoming. I have also stayed in a standard room which was spotless but the shower wasn't as good as the premier room and i love my showers so i would go for the former if you do too.
The hotel is run by Kevin and Mark and they run it very well and are both lovely. The success lies in the fact you can be who you are without an ounce of judgement, it has a very relaxed atmosphere, it's discreet and fun and because they care about their property you do too without it being stiff at all.
As the other reviews have said the bar area has a lot of signed Theatre Posters and i love these and it's a very relaxing area and very easy to meet new people.I travel solo and always end up meeting new people tho there is no pressure to. The bar is very reasonable. Wifi is all over and they have a great and very helpful ' Hotel Information Booklet' in each room, if i go to a Hotel sometimes they are smudged and tacky but these i've always found to be up to date and clean, i'm a bit of a saddo for reading these things but to me they matter as they answer a lot of lingering questions you may want to ask.
Tea and coffee is available in the room and and iron/board are available. Beds are lovely.
Breakfast is also lovely, proper bacon, good quality fresh eggs...several options.
You can see them cooking and washing up in the kitchen so if you need anything you're not looking around like a headless chicken, it's all very organised and you can tell they want you to be fed and happy for your day ahead. Orange juice is nice, good array of condiments and lots of toast. My only gripe is the coffee, it's my ONLY gripe in the whole place. i wish they had fresh coffee, i'm a coffee nut but you will be very happy with the quality of the breakfast.
Location is great, you are within walking distance of all the good pubs and clubs but not on top of them, there is a tram stop nearby which will take you all the way to the rollercoasters.
If you want to be yourself in a safe, welcoming, clean, private and fun environment this is the best bet i've found in Blackpool...i will go back again and i'm a fussy bleeder

Room Tip: The Premiere rooms i've stayed in had a better shower than the 1 standard room i've been in...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank actornewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed again in chaps, over the August bank holiday weekend. It is the only all male, gay hotel that we have stayed in where the owners are both friendly and still professional. Residents actually go for a drink in the bar and socialise, the hotel is clean and tidy and in a good location. We will be going back yet again whenever we get the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gixxer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 73 in Blackpool
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#19 of 859 in Blackpool
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#48 of 859 in Blackpool
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#384 of 859 in Blackpool
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#15 of 859 in Blackpool
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#7 of 859 in Blackpool
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaps

Address: 9-11 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 1SF, England (Formerly Colins Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaps Gay Hotel in Blackpool, is the largest and one of the best Hotel for Gay Men Only. Perfect for gay holidays and weekends away. Is truly the most popular Gay Hotel in Blackpool. Close to the sea front, and walking distance of all the gay bars, clubs, and sauna's that Blackpool is famous for, makes Chaps Gay Hotel one of the UK’s premier Gay Men Only Hotel for Holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chaps Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing