We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean, Good Food”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baron
Ranked #307 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean, Good Food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I, plus 2 friends went to Blackpool for the dancing at the Tower Ballroom. We booked 2 double rooms and paid extra for 2 sea view rooms.
When we arrived at the hotel, it was a well established small hotel with rather old decor but clean. Our bedroom was a large room for 3 people with the usual amenities, eg. Hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, and a lovely large, modern bathroom with everything you would expect. Our friends room was a small double, with a small bathroom, roasting hot and no way of opening the window to cool down!
The one really good thing was the breakfast. The food was great. Plenty of choices, fresh and of a high quality. The full English was so good I could have had seconds!!
We enjoyed our weekend but sorry, won't be back. Blackpool hasn't changed one bit since I was there over 40 years ago.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiceg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    67
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
30
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here on August babk holiday weekend 2013 for 2 nights and loved it, it was still very central but away from the crowds and also very close to Blackpool North station. Upon arrival we were greeted and made to deel welcome, my first impressions of the hotel were good, we were shown to the lounge area which had a beautiful view of the seafront and was a very comfortable room, we were given forms to fill out this was a quick procedure and we were then shown to our room which was very spacious with all the facilities you need I thought it had good wardrobe space and the bed was very comfortable and large the bathroom had a shower and space for you to set out your toiletries and was very clean. Our room really was faultless, spotless and had a beautiful view of the seafront, rooms are a little dated however it is easy to look past as it has everything you need and is functional, plus you don't spend a lot of time in it anyways bot when there is so much to do just down the rd, we decided to take a trip to the zoo and the hotel called a taxi for us and also advised us in good places to visit with a good knowledge of these places too. We did not bring our car but if we were to return I think we would as there was good parking space just outside of the hotel. We slept very well and heard no noise at all, breakfast was lovely we went for the full english which i am usually quite fussy about however I couldnt fault it. There was also a selection of cereal and they served toast ect also a variety of juices, tea an coffee. Service was brilliant and our room was cleaned to a high standard.

I would deffinitely reccomend this B&B and would most deffinitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shornah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay with friends. Good position right on the front, good that there was parking. Our room was on the front but very small, our friends room was better. The place is clean, warm and the breakfast was nice. We aren't B and B people but this served the purpose for 2 nights. We also haven't visited Blackpool for years and wouldn't rush back. As well as our room being small, the bathroom was also small and the towel rail didn't work so the room was very cold. The shower was the smallest I think I've used, and I'm a size 10!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaryDave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After having a bad start to our weekend this hotel was our saviour.
It has a lovely friendly atmosphere as soon as you walk through the door, the owners can't do enough for you and the rooms are lovely.
The rooms are clean and warm just what you want. We arrived to find two swans made out of towels on the bed, these little things always put a smile on my face. The hotel is in a brilliant location, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Blackpool but close enough if you want all that!
The en-suite was great the shower was wonderful. The only problem was the shelf over the sink was on a slant so our toothbrushes etc kept falling off but this we just laughed at.

Would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend it to anyone!
Thanks for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NbH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the third year that we have spent a weekend at The Baron and we cannot fault it. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The bathroom in particular was the best I have ever seen for cleanliness and the large bath sheets, the sort of luxury you often don't get from a far more expensive and flashier hotel. The staff were as usual, very kind, attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast good, wholesome food that sets you up for the day. Thank you we will be back again next year without a doubt. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Would recommend to book a "superior room" to get a huge bed and the loveliest bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILLROGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Normally stay at one the three main hotel when attending the Soul weekender. but was on a buget.The family run B&B were more than helpful and i would recommend this B&B as a change from staying in the hotels The room were clean and warm and the breakfast was on point with the food being fresh and tasty .The staff were friendly and cheerful.For two nights stay at one of the three I manage to stay 3 nights at the Baron and still save money. I would like to say a big thank you to Marian,Graham,Bob,and Anita for changing my view on B&B's and I will see you next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I doubt that any city in England has a more plentiful offering of hotels, B&B's, and rooms available for travellers than Blackpool. They run the gamut from cheap-and-cheeful (sometimes not so cheerful!) to over-priced and pretentious. The Baron hotel is right on the seafront, with easy access to the main attractions of town, and I think they try very hard to offer good accommodation at a fair price.

We surprised the manager by asking to see the room before signing in. He showed us a couple, and we chose one on the second floor with a four-poster bed. The room was large and recently refurbished. The bathroom with small, but clean- what we had expected in a small hotel of this era.

We arrived during a major convention in town, and the parking lot was over full. The manager sorted out a place for our car at the rear of the hotel, and did it with a smile.

The breakfast room is below ground, and full of tables, but not crowded. They make a good cooked breakfast to order. The ingredients are fresh and tasty, and the service is very good.

In my opinion, this is a fine hotel, nicely located, at a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#358 of 859 in Blackpool
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blencarn Hotel
Blencarn Hotel
#211 of 859 in Blackpool
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#109 of 859 in Blackpool
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Property: The Baron
Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing