We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only book if you have impaired vision and taste buds”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Baron
Ranked #285 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only book if you have impaired vision and taste buds”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this b&b based on ratings from both tripadvisor and another reputable hotel booking site and really wished we hadn't. The rooms are small and dated. The b&b website boasted tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water in the rooms, all rooms temperature controlled etc. We had an open bottle of water, a pack of 3 biscuits which were open with one missing out of it. The only way to try and control the heat in the rooms was to open the window as the radiator was turned off in the room but every other radiator in the place was blasting out heat. We had dirty mugs, dust on top of the mirror and headboard. The bed was very uncomfortable. The shelf in the bathroom was about to fall off the wall when my tooth brush was put on it.

Breakfast the next morning was just as bad. We were not told we would have a table reserved with our room number on. When we found our table we were sitting on a table of 4 next to a couple we didn't know. The fresh coffee was like dishwater. The glasses for our juice were dirty. We were asked what we wanted in those words. I've had better breakfasts in back street dingy greasy spoon and our toast came out cold and 10 minutes after our breakfast. This was the last straw so we decided to check out a day early. We questioned the owner about having a refund for the night were not staying and was told NO!! Even after we explained everything. He just said we need 7 days cancellation notice. Seeing as we had booked the day before we found this very unfair and when we explained our findings, he basically said prove it you've stayed in the room now you should have told us yesterday!! Even thought we found the majority if problems in the morning. We were told no to a refund once again and then to add insult to injury the owner then told us to write a review on here if we had a problem!! So all I can say is this has to be the most disgusting service I have ever received and there is no way all of the reviews are genuine!! I don't normally write reviews as people will make up their ownminds either way. So this
is a gentle warning not to believe everything you read!!

The only positive is the gentleman who checked us in was very polite and helpful. Maybe management should take a leaf out if his book.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Because this reviewer was required to honour his commitments it appears to me that he suffered post traumatic embitterment disorder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    67
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
30
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed there before and always enjoyed it. The rooms, whilst simple, are clean and tidy. The bathrooms all that you would need. The bed comfy. The breakfast, probably the best ever. The staff, brilliant. The location perfect.

If I had a complaint it would be the weather, but as we always get told that we brought it with us, that's probably our fault anyway.

This was our last stay at Blackpool. We specifically went there to experience the tat and gaudiest of it all, (the town, not the hotel), and we've done that now, but if we ever come back, it'd be the Baron for us, as I don't think you'll beat it for the money. You might equal it, but what's the point. If you know it's good, stick with it.

Cheers Ian, keep up the good work...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KeithAndSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Last minute get-away-from-it-all booking for my wife and I.
We didn't want a typical Blackpool B&B and were pleased with the Baron.
All staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The whole of the hotel was clean, tidy & well looked after.
Our room, although not large, was sufficient for our one-night & would have been fine for a long weekend.
The bathroom was particularly clean & the towels folded into a white swan sculpture on the bed was a nice touch.
The breakfast room was very pleasantly furnished and the food was of a very good standard.
Certainly one to consider for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Only thing that let it down was outside view. Everything else excellent will definately return. Don't judge a book by it's cover. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Just to say bed so comfortable wanted to take it home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a short weekend away for me and my husband. I had chosen The Baron after reading reviews on here, we stayed bed & breakfast. We were greeted by the owner who was very pleasant and helpful. We were shown into the lounge area which is very large, and then a short form had to be completed, followed by settling our bill. After this we were shown to our room (number 14). The room was adequate for what we needed, not very big but adequate, plenty of room to put clothes away. The bathroom was very nice and clean, no unsightly mouldy areas around the shower base like we have found in other hotels in the past. Breakfast was good and a good selection, You could everything from a full english to kippers. I decided on boiled eggs and toast, and my husband had poached eggs on toast. When mine came I had 2 eggs, cooked perfectly (white cooked and yolk runny), and my husbands had a fancy pattern cut out of the middle of his toast, (which I thought was a nice touch). Along with this there was plenty of fruit juice, yoghurts, cereals and fresh fruit. The gentleman who brought us our breakfast was very attentive and helpful. He was constantly going round asking everyone if they needed anything else, he also helped out with places and things to see and do around Blackpool, he was like a walking tourist information/map/price list, there wasn't a lot he didnt know. Next time we decided to visit Blackpool we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racytracy600r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my Fiancé. We both had a nice stay hotel was clean and staff were nice. Room was spacious and had sea views bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was good with a choice of full English or cereal or fruit. Hotels is in a good location not far from all Blackpool's attractions. If we come back to Blackpool we will definitely stay here again. Lovely weekend away just what we both needed. We didn't want to come home :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

hotel was nice and clean, however rooms must be paper thin!! could hear next doors telly all night long and could even hear peoples conversations in the room above ours! we came for a pleasurable weekend and i feel that this wouldn't be the best place to stay for that, reason been this is because when me and my friends got into the hotel we were told off for been a little loud! im sorry but what 18 year old group is going to be "quiet" after coming in off a night out, we didn't do it to be disrespectful so we shouldn't have been spoken to how we did! i felt slightly uncomfortable with the landlord and we got wrong for trying to have a laugh! breakfast was standard and i cant fault the choice of menu as there was plenty of choice, the service was brilliant and the kind man told us how to make the most of Blackpool, places to eat, what to go and see ect. wouldn't say this hotel is suitable for young people who want to have a fun weekend! more for the older people in my opinion....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#19 of 69 in Blackpool
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#461 of 858 in Blackpool
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blencarn Hotel
Blencarn Hotel
#206 of 858 in Blackpool
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Property: The Baron
Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing