We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rubbish”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Baron
Ranked #323 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

wouldnt stay here not even so much as asmile from the owner. Had the door slammed in my face when i asked for a room for me my daughter and my mum.. "we dont take kids under 12". dont crack a smile love!!!! best part of hotel was the location

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar_lan, Owner at The Baron, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

This person did not stay here and did not have a reservation here.
Come on Trip Advisor get a grip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and i have Just returned from a very pleasant 2 night stay at the Baron hotel, The proprietor Graham was very friendly, and welcoming, our room no: 12 was lovely, very clean and modern with a flat screen tv, hairdryer ,tea and coffe making facilities and a complimentory bottle of water, also a radio alarm clock, The shower room was small but ample for our needs and there were little complimentary shower, gel, shampoo, conditioner, cotton wool balls and buds. (Nice little touch), there was an iron and ironing board out side our room for the guests to use.. The breakfast was supurb good choice of top brand cereals, fruit juice. yoghurts and croissants on request for a continental breakfast.. Full English consisted of good lean bacon, sausage, hash browns mushrooms and grilled tomato sprinkled with olive oil and herbs and it was delicious, white/wholemeal toast, tea and coffe and even a choice of herbal teas.. The gentle man serving our breakfast was very friendly ,efficient and attentive..nothing was too much trouble for him a very pleasnat gentle man indeed.. The Baron is a lovely clean warm and wecoming hotel right on the sea front and has a small balcony so guests can sit out and enjoy the sea view whilst enjoying a drink from the well stocked and reasonably priced bar. There is an african grey parrot that lives there and he is called Barnaby, he is delightful altough he wouldnt speak for me i did hear him giving out some wolf whistles this morning as we were leaving.. will defintley go back here and would most definiltley reccomend this lovely hotel....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanrooney09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Graham and Marion made us more than welcome during our stay. This is the second time we have stayed in there 4 poster room which is very elegant and cosy we found it very romantic too, everytime we have been to Blackpool we have stayed at the baron you do get what you pay for and would recommend the lovely hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisNEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

After reading all the good reviews we decided to book the Baron as a last minute break. On arrival we were advised that we could not check in for at least another hour and were then asked to move the car to a different space????. As we had only just arrived (and had been travelling) we were a little suprised. As I needed to use a facility the proprietor then proceeded to tell me how she didnt like my husbands attitude and then went into varying reasons for rules and regulations.( While this was happening my husband was already conforming and moving the car!!) While we understood, there had been no opportunity just to take a breather and then to be insulted as a consequence!! On check in we were given a room at the top floor the lift only goes up to floor 2! While the room was clean and fit for purpose it was small and compared to other hotels we have stayed in I would say 3 star not 4. Breakfast was of a high standard and the chap who 'waits on 'was extremely helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont have room 26 if you have difficulties as it is at the top of the house with no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed with my mum at the Baron hotel at the beginning of June. We had a twin room on the second floor. My mum is 78 years old but there was no problem as there is a lift in this hotel. The breakfast room is in the basement but the lift goes down to this floor so absolutely no problem. The room was delightful. We had lovely views out across the sea. the room was big enough for the two of us. Cant see any reason to moan about this room. Yes it was a narrow room but no problem whatsoever for two people. There were two comfy chairs in the window area to enjoy the view. Really nice. The breakfasts were also really good. They were better then any you would get at any of the big hotels. Staff very friendly and offer advice on where to eat or where to visit.. Would recommend this B&B with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyflyerSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thankyou Marion and Graham, we had a great weekend, room was lovely, food was great, was like a home from home, we will definately be back, (as long as you put french toats or "eggy bread" on the breakfast menu) ha ha ha oh and one gripe..........we never heard a word from Barney!!!! thanks for making us so welcome xx Love Glenys and Michael Daly

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenys32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just came back from a nights stay at the baron. We treated ourselfs to the four poster room which was stunning although a little pricey.Bed was amazing and duvets sheets etc were superb. Breakfast was lovely only had scrambled eggs on toast but there was lots of choice juices cereals ect. location was nice and local and not too far from anything. Car park was a little small and was a bit tricky to get patked. To be honest i think we could have got the room a little cheaper if we had looked about as paid 90 pounds for the room and breakfast. All in all lovely people lovely room,had a great stay.

Room Tip: Blinds/curtains were a bit think so maby a sleeping mask to. Keep the light out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $46 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing