We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”
Review of The Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Baron
Ranked #315 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotal from 22/6/12 to25/6/12. We had a very warm welcome when we got there. The room was spotless. ,you can see pride was taken in preparing the room for guests. The bathroom too wasvery clean. The breakfast was cooked to order with a very good choice,and plenty of it. The location was perfect, right on the promanade with bus and tram stops right outside. One night there was a lot of noise coming from the next door hotel but our host went out in her pygamas to tell them to quiten down which they soon did. Id like to thank them both for a most enjoyable stay and wish them all the best if ever they do retire. I would certainly stay there again and reccomend them to family and freinds.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are the same as the one we had, no problems
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for The Baron
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 267 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

I chose this hotel for the star rating displayed on a different website and should really have looked at TA instead, lesson learnt.
The friendly and pleasant welcome by Bob apart, the twin room we were shown to was far from pleasant, it did have a sea view as stated in the room description however for both of us to appreciate it at the same time we would have had to stand side on.
Due to renovation, half of the room appeared to belong to the room next door as their bathroom judging by the long narrow space and that 2 single beds were positioned end to end and the sounds of ablutions going on.
This aside, the constant aroma of tobacco smoke permeating into our room mainly at bedtime was the reason for this negative appraisal. Being a non smoker accompanied by a child, i found this totally unacceptable and believed that in this day and age hotels were supposed to be smoke free, perhaps next time i'll check the very small print.
The bathroom was pretty up to date although the toilet seat was ready for falling off.
On a positive note, hence the average score, the dining room was pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawdlerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We only booked our 2 night break on the last minute, my friend and I just wanted to get away for a few days.
We didn't let the weather spoil our break which was from Sunday the 2/06/12 to the 05/06/12.
We were welcomed by Grahame and shown to our room, which we were made up with a twin bed room over looking the sea, two arm chairs in the window so that we could sit and enjoy the view in the evening's.
The bed room and bathroom were very clean with tea/coffee facilities supplied.
Brakfast was brillant lots to choose from all branded names and the service was great.
No issues with parking.
Would return to this Hotel and reccomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This B and B is quite honestly the best place to stay in Blackpool. Not only is it on the sea front with a glorious view over the Irish Sea but is within walking distance of all the attractions,shops, restaurants etc of the sea side resort. The Baron is owned by a delightful couple who not only know how to treat guests but make their stay unforgettable. I stayed over 8 nights in May, and certainly would recommend this guest house to everyone.

David

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the sea but from my stay there I think allthe rooms are fantastic.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVIDNEWYORK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
471165
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I spent 5 days on a production in Blackpool and stayed in the Baron, it's walking distance to town and better than most B&B's the couple who owned it were very nice and friendly, it is comfortable and relaxing hotel with no rowdy stag and hen party's, we left early each morning so never sampled the breakfasts.
A small bar with reasonable prices. Quite a nice stay

Room Tip: Not sure as I had a double but the singles seemed small some of guys told me
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Ok, you could argue that this is not a Hotel, it's more a B&B or Guest House, but whatever you want to describe it as it is a wonderful, quaint, comfortable, and more importantly, clean establishment, run by a friendly couple, who are only to pleased to help in any way they can.
I stayed here with my family over the Easter BH period, occupying rooms 23, (Twin with sea views) and 24, (Double with sea views).
Both had modern, well equipped bathrooms, and although there was no bath, (which i didn't mind), there was an excellent shower and always plenty of hot water. The bedroom itself was modestly furnished and comfortable, with nice views, through double glazed windows, out to sea and down towards the North Pier.

Breakfast was very, very good. Beautifully cooked, whether it be a full English or simply eggs on toast. There was cereal and fresh fruit if you wanted something lighter, together with a selection of yoghurts and fruit juices, and as much toast & preserves as you could want. I have stayed in some 5* hotels that didn't feed you so well.

My only gripe, if that's what you want to call it, is that there are no evening meals served. I would have gladly paid a little extra for BB&EM, especially if it were up to the standard of the breakfasts. I did raise this point with Graham, the owner, who said that there were so many eating establishments in Blackpool that they couldn't compete, price wise.

After paying, (for two adults & two teenagers), over £60 in Harry Ramsdens, (for fish & chips!), then £80+ in another restaraunt and £120+ in another in the four nights we stayed in Blackpool, given longer I would argue what he was saying!

The bar in the lounge area was an absolute dream! After spending 8 hours roaming round the Pleasure Beach with two teenagers, a very large G&T and to collapse into a comfy sofa was bliss.

Barnaby, (the owners African Grey), has to get a mention, as being a tease. Go to his cage in the bar and try to get him to talk to you and he will ignore you, but if you leave him alone and sit quietly he will chat away for ages, (my two girls loved him).

The Baron will be top of my list when looking to stay in Blackpool again, without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are at the front of the building & are a little extra, but i don't mind that...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R00ster1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was a traditional English B and B, complete with a "Basil Fawlty" manager/owner. The decor was terrific, room comfy, breakfast superlative and the location was right on the waterfront near all the action and shops. Parking was a bit tricky as it is in many parts of England. It took a wee bit of time to retrieve the car when we left in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#319 of 859 in Blackpool
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Howard Hotel
The Howard Hotel
#424 of 859 in Blackpool
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#114 of 859 in Blackpool
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron

Address: 296 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $47 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing