We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best”
Review of The Kenley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kenley
Ranked #2 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Very Best”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Kenley is just a brilliant place to stay, Tony & Mike were wonderful, interesting hosts, running a comfy, spotless B & B. The bed in our room was as big as they get and gave great nights' sleep with a thick memory foam layer on top of a restful mattress. The towels are big, thick & plush. And the breakfasts, including the Manx kippers, cooked whole but then topped, tailed and boned, or the veggie or meat full English, are all tasty and scrummy. To show that I've not totally lost my marbles, I might add that I'd prefer a slightly bigger shower cubicle as bending was a bit of a tight fit, given my bulk, or a bit more powerful instant shower water heater to give a better flow, but I will probably get told off at home for nit picking. This B & B is just superb and well deserves its number 1 in Blackpool rating. I'd like to give it more stars than there are available, like seven out of five or something! Tony & Mike, well done, thank you so much, you can be delighted with all your happy guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
280
515
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

all i can say is a repeat of what everyone else is saying excellent hosts thanks tony and mike your establishment deserves all the awards going never stayed in a place so clean and luxurious had a fantastic 3 day stay and hope to see you again next year ange and tony stoke on trent xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiebaby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skegby
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just stayed in room 5 at the Kenley. Wow is the best description. The decor is beautiful and the bed is huge and very comfortable. Not a spec of dust to be found and the bedding and towels are like new.

Also breakfast was top notch with a large range cereals and fruit to choose from. The main full English was very well cooked and presented.

Tony and Mike we're welcoming and professional. A slick operation.......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkegbySab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

just home from a 3 nights stay in the kenley and i must say its the most relaxing hotel i have ever stayed in.we arrived late due to adverse weather conditions but on arrival we were met at the door by mike, a real friendly host who straight away made us a pot of tea which we were really ready for,we were then taken to our room num. 9 where our bags had already been taken to.when we opened our bedroom door we were delighted with our room it had everything,what a bed, one morning i wakened and put my arm over to waken my wife but i couldnt reach her { a little bit of exageration} but honestly the bed was massive and so comfortable,Breakfast next morning great pick of fruit cerials etc then full breakfast was great.Met the other host tony next morning like mike he to was very friendly and obliging and only sorry we didnt go into the beautiful bar to have more time with them but after being in blackpool for 5 nights before then a trip to folkstone and bruges for a weekend we felt burned out and just sort of wound down for a few days hopefully some other time.

Room Tip: all rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmcdyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

simply the best place to stay in blackpool if not the whole country. we stayed the last week in October and being our third visit we kind of knew what to expect but we were wrong it has got even better the weather was terrible but the stay at the kenley was worth braving anything the heavens could throw at us . i work in the catering industry myself and know how much effort is involved in getting things right Tony and Mike deserve all the awards going for what they do where i work some of our functions cost 35 to40+ pounds per head and compared to the food served at the kenley we should be charging pence not pounds thank you tony and mike see you next year Diane,Colin and Granddaughter Amelia who wants to comeand live at the kenley

Room Tip: any htey are all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We gave a five star rating in comparison to other bed and breakfasts.
We chose the Kenley as it was number one on trip advisor.First impressions as we entered the b and b was how immaculately clean and freshly smelling the reception was, cleaner than some hospitals I've visited!! On check in we were given a free coffee and muffin which was a nice touch and given a brief tour of the b+b by the owner Tony. He was very friendly and gave us a free voucher for the tower. Love the bowl of free sweets in reception. Another nice touch. Also loved the idea of free tea and coffee in the bar at anytime. The bar was very modern with stylish sofas and a good place to relax looking at the marine tank. Our bedroom was a standard double which was extremely clean also. Best Egyptian towels I've ever seen even in five star hotels. Very fluffy and soft. Love the fact that the toilets had a quality paper seal over the top to show it had been cleaned. Nice modern purple décor. Fantastically comfortable double bed and bedding. The pillows were very special.Only comment about the room was we felt the shower would not keep a constant temperature and lacked power. Loved the free tea and coffee making facilities and the galaxy hot chocolate and free pastries/milk rolls each day. In the room there is a hair dryer and complimentary water. The flat screen tv on the wall made a strange buzzing sound once but in the main lounge there were two large modern flat screen TV's. The b+b have their own parking down the road. £5.00 for 24 hours. This was great as street parking difficult.
Breakfast was served between 8.30-9am which is common in most places, but it is an early morning. Breakfast was in my top 3 ever. Especially the black pudding and bacon which was delicious. Only slight recommendation would be to serve coffee in a cafetiere. Good mix of lovely fresh fruit.
The owners are friendly and warm and can understand why they get so much repeat business. We would return but book in advance and get a larger room. Location wise it's right outside the tram and a 20 min walk to the tower.

Room Tip: the luxury rooms are worth the little extra, as they have super king beds and are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Simply do not go anywhere else, this is the best by far. Very clean and a high standard of fixtures and fittings. Very very comfortable beds, large Tvs in the rooms, ipod docking stations and alarm clocks. Great breakfast and a good choice of fish dishes, smoked haddock, kippers etc.

Room Tip: Room 5 at the front, most comfortable bed in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,201 reviews
2.0 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
831 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 860 in Blackpool
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenley

Property: The Kenley
Address: 29 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly Kenley Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Kenley, we have created a warm and relaxed environment for you all to enjoy. We are a 8 bedroom, 4 Star Gold Visit England accredited Guesthouse, now with steak and fish restaurant, and working towards Les Routers accreditation we are located just a stone's throw away from the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kenley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing