We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ,Jane and Mat made our us vary welcome. Would certainly recommend this hotel.”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #292 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights. Great breakfast, nice friendly bar. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Great parking , Matt ensured we had parking at the back of the hotel. The rooms were as described , neat and well presented.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this bnb at short notice 2 days before and chose four poster bed.
On arrival matt gave up a car space so I could park which was a really nice thing to do for customers. Check inn was quick and everything was explained for us. We was allocated room 4 and it was the blue room four poster which I had hoped to get when booked. It was lovely everything u need in there for a stay even a hair dryer and sette lots of storage places, bed was really comfy I slept very well.
Breakfast was served by Jane and she was very polite and friendly I felt comfortable which is good food was lovely and filling. Plenty of choice.
Lovely overall stay cannot fault it faboulas owners and will deffo be back for the blue room and trying the waterpark near aswell :) Thanku for everything matt and Jane!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My sis and I booked this hotel back in October 2011 for my mum's surprise 50th Birthday. They were not only amazing on our stay but prior to this by helping me to arrange balloons and banners for in mums room. They certainly went above and beyond.
The hotel was clean and the En-suite in each room was a bonus. They also helped us to sort taxi's to go to Funny girls. My mum was treated so well and they just added to her birthday surprise.
I will also add their breakfast was fab (even with a hangover). We had plenty of laughs with them. Thanks for making our trip even better and making my mums birthday that extra bit special. See you in October!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma FD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice place to stay and rooms were clean but small. It was alright for one night but more than that I would have felt claustrophobic. I wasn't happy that you weren't allowed to drink alcohol in the room nor allowed to use electrical appliances for your hair. At £55 a night you should be allowed the leeway! Walls are quite thin and heard every 'groan' from our next door neighbours at 3am, plus there was no air as the larger window didn't open and the temperature was high! Breakfast was nice, plentiful and came quickly after ordering. The location is very good and the owner was very welcoming and friendly. Have stayed in better and bigger places for cheaper and will probably shop around more next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very good service provided from Jane. the rooms are very cosy and comfy. The breakfast is delicious. The hotel is very close to the beach and to the attractions. Nothing bad to say. It was an amazing experience. Will be visiting again when going to Blackpool. Thank you Jane ;D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabyalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Windsor cannot be accused of false advertising, their small double is indeed as small as it gets and I suppose that because we were there for a short stop over and just required a be/shower, I should be satisfied that because this is what we booked, but I'm not - simply because of the amount of competition and that I have stayed in other places for the same price for more.

Yes it's a good location, but there are plenty of others along this road and in the surrounding areas, yes it's clean, but I don't think this should be a plus point, rather a given, yes the selection at breakfast was good, it did arrive quickly, was hot and was well cooked - but it wasn't excellent, the sausages for me were the cheap variety rather than being meaty and the seating was cramped - I was able to see what the lady on the table next to me was looking at on her phone. T

The couple that run this hotel are extremely friendly and welcoming and there is a wide range of material to chose from in the communal area but the thing that got to me about the hotel were the amount of signs prohibiting - perahps this is now the norm in small establishments but do I really need 3 no smoking signs in the room? I'm a non smoker but do smokers really think that they can get away with it nowdays? On top of the no smoking were signs forbidding any eating or alcohol in the room for hygene reasons (it doesn't say no drink, just no alcohol) plus the non allowance of electrical items for fire hazzard. Being in Blackpool I wanted to use my hair straighteners before I went out but didn't.

As I said previously, perhaps this is the conduct of many hotel establishments but it felt like I was back at school with overkill on the do nots - including do not take reading material from the room - ok I won't walk around Blackpool with the advertising?

The bed was a bit soft for my liking but this isn't a criticism, each to their own and the hoteliers cannot be responsible for this, the shower was excellent, the sheets exceptionally soft, the temperature just right and the decor ok. I slept well, although it wasn't as quiet for me as some previous reviewers have stated; we were in room 1 and were disturbed by other guests arriving later that we did on the Saturday night.

All in all, for the money it was ok, but I think I'll try somewhere else on my next visit.

Room Tip: A small double is a very small double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Comfortable bed, great shower, excellent breakfast & more importantly wonderful experience! Location was ideal for all the attractions but wasnt directly on the promenade so was fairly quiet! First time my boyfriend & i have been in blackpool in 12 years & we will definately be back! We were in Room 7 & it was clean & comfortable! owners were very friendly & couldnt do anything enough! Going to book again later in the year & will book here! Thanks matt & jane for the great experience!

Victoria & paul

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade
0.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Windsor Hotel
The Windsor Hotel
#308 of 863 in Blackpool
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#41 of 863 in Blackpool
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#100 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: South Shore 53 Dean Street, Blackpool FY4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $54 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Windsor Hotel in Blackpool. Graded 3 Diamonds by the AA for guest accommodation, we offer bed and breakfast and service with a genuine smile. Available are rooms with four poster, twin and double beds as well as family and single rooms. Please note that all our rooms are en-suite. Hotel facilities include wireless internet access throughout the hotel for those with a laptop, a licensed bar if you've put the kids to bed or have just had enough of walking around all day and a large secure car park able to take up to 9 cars which can save you up to GBP12 per day in parking. The hotel is conveniently located in the South Shore area of Blackpool and within easy reach of all the resorts major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing