We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #289 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very good service provided from Jane. the rooms are very cosy and comfy. The breakfast is delicious. The hotel is very close to the beach and to the attractions. Nothing bad to say. It was an amazing experience. Will be visiting again when going to Blackpool. Thank you Jane ;D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabyalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Windsor cannot be accused of false advertising, their small double is indeed as small as it gets and I suppose that because we were there for a short stop over and just required a be/shower, I should be satisfied that because this is what we booked, but I'm not - simply because of the amount of competition and that I have stayed in other places for the same price for more.

Yes it's a good location, but there are plenty of others along this road and in the surrounding areas, yes it's clean, but I don't think this should be a plus point, rather a given, yes the selection at breakfast was good, it did arrive quickly, was hot and was well cooked - but it wasn't excellent, the sausages for me were the cheap variety rather than being meaty and the seating was cramped - I was able to see what the lady on the table next to me was looking at on her phone. T

The couple that run this hotel are extremely friendly and welcoming and there is a wide range of material to chose from in the communal area but the thing that got to me about the hotel were the amount of signs prohibiting - perahps this is now the norm in small establishments but do I really need 3 no smoking signs in the room? I'm a non smoker but do smokers really think that they can get away with it nowdays? On top of the no smoking were signs forbidding any eating or alcohol in the room for hygene reasons (it doesn't say no drink, just no alcohol) plus the non allowance of electrical items for fire hazzard. Being in Blackpool I wanted to use my hair straighteners before I went out but didn't.

As I said previously, perhaps this is the conduct of many hotel establishments but it felt like I was back at school with overkill on the do nots - including do not take reading material from the room - ok I won't walk around Blackpool with the advertising?

The bed was a bit soft for my liking but this isn't a criticism, each to their own and the hoteliers cannot be responsible for this, the shower was excellent, the sheets exceptionally soft, the temperature just right and the decor ok. I slept well, although it wasn't as quiet for me as some previous reviewers have stated; we were in room 1 and were disturbed by other guests arriving later that we did on the Saturday night.

All in all, for the money it was ok, but I think I'll try somewhere else on my next visit.

Room Tip: A small double is a very small double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Comfortable bed, great shower, excellent breakfast & more importantly wonderful experience! Location was ideal for all the attractions but wasnt directly on the promenade so was fairly quiet! First time my boyfriend & i have been in blackpool in 12 years & we will definately be back! We were in Room 7 & it was clean & comfortable! owners were very friendly & couldnt do anything enough! Going to book again later in the year & will book here! Thanks matt & jane for the great experience!

Victoria & paul

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at Windsor Hotel with a group of friends. It was absolutely fabulous quaint B&B. My girlfriend and I had one of the four-poster bedrooms and it definitely added to the romance that weekend.

Because it was one of the first warm weekends, we thought the hotel was empty because we had a great night sleep. We found out the following morning that there were actually another 10 guests staying at Windsor. Well done on sound-proofing!

It is only a couple of mins off the main boulevard, in a quiet street. Plenty of parking and a private car park around the back. Walking distance to all main attractions, including Pleasure Beach.

Plus, complimentary (cooked) breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Go for four-poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewa Marcin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Always nervous coming to b&b's in Blackpool as your never sure what you will get.

Lucky for us the Windsor is all you can want, clean, polite and happy staff, great shower, comfy bed....and a great breakfast.

We were in Blackpool for my dad and brother to do the marathon, the owners started breakfast early to account for the runners so they could get food in early!! Very thoughtful!

Enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend and one stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viky_Vedat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself and my wife were a bit unsure as we normaly stop next door, but we had nothing to worry about as we had a great stay even as we didn't meet the Hosts till the last day who were very nice and we were looked after by the rest of the family. The Breakfasts were ok but I missed my hash browns and Blackpudding and mushrooms would of been nice. The Hotel is very clean and Matt and Jane made us very welcome when we finally met them, hoping to return later in the year and hopefuly have a drink and proper chat with Matt and Jane.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike33Manchester_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just back from a 1 night stay at the Windsor hotel. Myself and my husband went for one night to celebrate my birthday, we were greeted by Jane who was a fantastic host and nothing was too much trouble, we forgot our toothpaste and mentioned this to jane and within a few minutes she re appeared with a tube of toothpaste for us. Our room was room 10, a 4 poster room, it was superb. We had champagne on ice and a beautiful bunch of flowers waiting in the room upon request from my husband a few days earlier. The room was warm and cosy, very clean, had everything we needed. Location is fantastic, at night could hear nothing, slept very well. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. Thankyou to the windsor, we will definatley be going back again this year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 336karyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
885 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#42 of 863 in Blackpool
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tudor
The Tudor
#95 of 863 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Windsor Hotel
The Windsor Hotel
#330 of 863 in Blackpool
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#288 of 863 in Blackpool
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#98 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: South Shore 53 Dean Street, Blackpool FY4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $59 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Windsor Hotel in Blackpool. Graded 3 Diamonds by the AA for guest accommodation, we offer bed and breakfast and service with a genuine smile. Available are rooms with four poster, twin and double beds as well as family and single rooms. Please note that all our rooms are en-suite. Hotel facilities include wireless internet access throughout the hotel for those with a laptop, a licensed bar if you've put the kids to bed or have just had enough of walking around all day and a large secure car park able to take up to 9 cars which can save you up to GBP12 per day in parking. The hotel is conveniently located in the South Shore area of Blackpool and within easy reach of all the resorts major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing