We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality excellent, room tiny.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #253 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Brit wanting to emigrate
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hospitality excellent, room tiny.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Visited Blackpool to meet up with an old friend, and stayed in the Windsor. Our room was in the 'crows nest' at the very top of the hotel. This was a nightmare, having to traipse our cases up so many flights of stairs. The room was adequate, very clean but tiny. We both injured our shins, knocking them on the darned bed whilst just walking round it!
We tipped up for breakfast at 9.30 (after being informed breakfast was until 10) to be gently reprimanded and informed that we had just made it in time, as the rest of the guests were there for the golf and had been down to breakfast at 8.00. I guess it was pure devillment on our part that we ordered a full english after that, because really we weren't that bothered and cereal and toast would have done. However, the breakfast was generous and well cooked, but a selection of fruit would have been lovely...a banana would have sufficed! (oh, and no black pudding!)
There are no parking spaces at the hotel but the proprietor was very accommodating, moving his own car to let us park right outside the establishment. Thank you for that.
All in all, this place was very clean but a bit rough around the edges .We would have liked one of the rooms we saw on the internet, and we thought it a bit ripe to put two very respectable middle aged ladies in the rooms which appeared to be kept for dirty weekenders! Oh, and the bathroom was no bigger than a cupboard.
Redeeming features.
Very clean establishment.
Shower so powerful it took the top of your hungover head off! (and loads of hot water)
Adequate breakfast.
Very polite and friendly owner (? Matt)

Room Tip: Ask not to be located in the attic, especially if you are carrying heavy cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    33
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

After booking this hotel for a weekend break away with my cousin and my little boy, we were very happy with everything on arrival, Matt and Jane are fantastic and very welcoming we booked a double room and a travel cot which was all set up on arrival this was fantastic as we could get the little one down for a nap without having to try mess about setting up the cot. The room was really lovely, bright and very clean! Jane and Matt do there best to accommodate everything you need, they made it so easy for us to manage away from home with a 5month old baby who's first holiday this was and I would defiantly say we couldnt have asked for a better first holiday away for my little boy!
Thank you Matt and Jane

We would defiantly stay here again and also recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Greeted by owners who are lovely and friendly and very helpful
Paid for a double room (there was also a small double room available-our standard double was small I can't imagine what the small double was like)
Hotel is short walk to the front excellent location
The mattress wasn't the best it sagged and I couldn't really lye on the side of it without fear of rolling down it
The toilet flush was quite tempremental and also the shower takes a while to warm up and doesn't really have any power behind it.
The breakfast was very nice
I would recommend this hotel for short stays.
The owners couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie4_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went to Blackpool for 2 nights. Jane was very friendly when checking us in and Matthew (owner) gave up his car parking space at the front of the hotel as their car park was already full. We stayed in a standard double which was very clean and the room smelled fresh. We chose the Windsor because of its location and price and were extremley pleased. We had a lovely meal at the casino less than 5 mins walk away. We even got a free drink as Jane at the hotel gave us a voucher. Breakfast was fantastic and cooked to order so was fresh. We are definately going to stay here on our next trip to Blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We decided to have an overnight stopover in Blackpool on our way south as it had been years since we had visited the town and we wanted to see what it was like now.
I booked the Windsor based on location, price, parking and the reviews on this site.
Although we had planned to be in Blackpool for the day, unforeseen events led to us only arriving in the evening with just enough time to eat dinner and head for bed.
As it happened this was enough time in Blackpool for us, as on our walk from the south shore to the north shore to get to our chosen restaurant we found Blackpool to be very run down with lots of boarded up hotels and shops and very little happening on this Friday night in June.
We were also approached on a few occasions by unsavoury characters asking for money.

We were made very welcome at the Windsor by the owners and were given a room on the third floor. This double room was very small probably the smallest room we had ever been in and the shower room was tiny but we thought maybe we had been given this room as we were only staying the one night. The decor was a bit cheap and dated and could do with an update but the room was clean enough. The bathroom we found difficult to use especially the shower as you had to angle yourself under the shampoo/soap rack to fit under the tiny showerhead and the water pressure was pretty poor.
We were happy to put up with these issues for a one night stay and the room was very quiet and we got a good nights sleep. The cooked breakfast was good and set us up for the day ahead.
We paid £50 for B&B for the night, which was fine, but I would not have stayed longer in such a small room and would not return to Blackpool again.

Room Tip: Don't get a small double as it will be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely warm welcome from the owner, he was very helpful and allowed us to check in early.
We had room 9 a very small double room and quite dark. Carpet grubby and marks on the quilt cover. On closer inspection decided not to unpack and use drawers as all had dust and mess in them. Old fashioned colour bathroom suite and loo seat falls down when you sit! Slow water pressure in taps and shower! Breakfast was nice with a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, cooked choices, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Lovely landlady serving us both days and happy to chat and offer advice on places of interest. Overall it just needs some money spending to update the bedroom/bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza8865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Windsor for one night 26th May, made very welcome on arrival, had room 5 which was very clean and comfortable.It was my birthday and my daughter rang the owners without me knowing and asked them to get fruit and wine and kiss me quick hats for a laugh which they did for us, you would not get that done for you in many places in blackpool.
The breakfast was very good.
I would without a doubt stay at the windsor when next in Blackpool, a good experience at a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#58 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#368 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windsor Park Hotel
Windsor Park Hotel
#49 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: South Shore 53 Dean Street, Blackpool FY4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Windsor Hotel in Blackpool. Graded 3 Diamonds by the AA for guest accommodation, we offer bed and breakfast and service with a genuine smile. Available are rooms with four poster, twin and double beds as well as family and single rooms. Please note that all our rooms are en-suite. Hotel facilities include wireless internet access throughout the hotel for those with a laptop, a licensed bar if you've put the kids to bed or have just had enough of walking around all day and a large secure car park able to take up to 9 cars which can save you up to GBP12 per day in parking. The hotel is conveniently located in the South Shore area of Blackpool and within easy reach of all the resorts major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing