We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable service for value”
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Remarkable service for value”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is our 4th stay at Claremont and we have had a brilliant time each stay. Very clean hotel with great rooms and service. Food is lovely with lots of choices and great entertainment each evening, hosted by Ryan the compare. Very friendly staff. We will be back next year x

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebonyballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    481
    145
    73
    65
See reviews for
476
576
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A party of 15 of us have just returned from a weekend break jan 10th -12th at the Claremont there is only one word to use and that's "Fantastic". It was my girlfriends Birthday and we wanted to make it special and the staff at the hotel made it special and went out of their way to do so.
Check in was fast and professional, our room was amazing it had a double bed and 2 singles and a cot for my daughter and it was spotless housekeeping should be proud. Both evening meal and breakfast was fantastic, hot plates and red hot food, the food was lovely on both nights it was better than some 3-4 star hotels. One staff member in particular called Laura who was the waitress on the Friday night was first class she went out of her way to make the night special and she did.
All in all a fantastic all inclusive break"Thank You"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1a123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arrived at the Claremont on Sunday 5th Jan for a 5 night stay with my niece and from beginning to end it was a lovely experience.The staff in all departments are the most courteous I have had the pleasure to meet as nothing was too much trouble for them,the food was absolutley great well presented, hot and delicious,the entertainment was a welcome bonus ,hats off to the staff and in particular Ryan who provided us with a lot of belly laughs,bar staff were excellent and though it was free drinks we didnt have to wait long to be served in fact the most I ever seen in a queue was 4 so well done.Cleaninig staff were great and unobtrusive and our room was always cleaned to a good standard,I have stayed in many hotels in Blackpool and although the decor needs a little tlc i would put this hotel up there with the best, well done to all who helped us have a great stay Will definately stay here again and will sing its praises to anyone who will listen

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dippy_nan_bread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after spending a weekend on an all inclusive basis at the Claremont, we met up with some friends who we'd met the previous summer in Egypt, anyway although it was slightly cooler in Blackpool than Sharm, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room was basic but perfectly acceptable & most importantly very clean, the food was superb, the drink package brilliant, the kids loved the swimming pool & the evening entertainment was very good, all in all an excellent weekend had by all, we'll certainly be returning at some point, way better than 2* rating!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went to the Claremont Christmas 2012 and enjoyed it so much we rebooked for 2013 before we went home.The food was good both at lunchtime and dinnertime we couldn't fault it,so this year we had no worries about what our stay would be like.
What a differance a year makes, Ok we knew it was an old tired hotel, but the food . the entertainment and it being all inclusive counted for a lot.
Now we did try the lunch once,it was a bit like a free for all, but it was really bad. chicken thighs which are usually tasty, were the skinniest chickens I'd ever seen, all skin and bone, We didn't bother again as it was served other days and seemingly was just as bad.
Now lets talk about Christmas day ! I have cooked many Christmas dinners in my time , but at 70, I wanted someone to look after me, now our seats were in the sun lounge and very sort after, but on this day we would all have changed places with the people in the normal dining room, because their Christmas dinners did come on time, unlike ours. We had our starters then the waitress disappeared, we were all looking round at each other until someone did ask what was wrong? The answer was "we didn't do enough veg" well they'd had our money long enough to know exactly how many guests there were, then we heard " the veg isn't cooked yet" well the other guests had had their dessert and left?? Then we heard "the oven had broken down" We didn't know if any of these excuses were true because no one in authority bothered to come and tell us.
Then our dinner came, a slice of turkey covered in gravy that had set solid and cold, three sprouts about six carrot batons, one roast potatoe, two small new potatoes, no bacon, no chipalatas, but to add insult to injury half a sausage???? Good God I've never served half a saugage to anyone in my life!!
I found the manager Marcus, I asked him what had happened, he said why thats a normal portion? I said well I've waited an hour for this, and its not fit to eat so I left it on the side, I went back to my seat and another manager came Emma I think her name was, and she said the veg had took longer than they thought, I said how long does a spoon full of frozen peas take? she said they were not frozen, so I asked her if she yad sat and podded the peas then, and she said no thats how they came so I said Frozen then? she said no steamed? well even steaming doesn't take that ammount of time. After all this fiasco we went to try and get seat in the "ballroom" this was a riduculous situation people were carrting tables and chairs from anywhere they could, it was areal struggle to get a seat, In front of me a family finished up putting their chairs on the dance floor, when suddenly Marcus bounded through the door and shouted at one of these old men, he shouted " don't you ever walk away from me when I'm speaking to you, and don't ever tell me what to do, I'm the manager and no one tells me what to do!! I felt so embarrassed for this old guy and thought how lucky Marcus was that it wasn't a younger man, or perhaps that was the reason he spoke to him as he did.
I filled in the form which tells the hotel how much we enjoyed it, but thinking that it would never see the light of day I decided to send it to the owner, this proved rather difficult so I sent it to head office thinking it would go to the right person, well no it didn't it went to Marcus, who did admit the Christmas lunch was unacceptable, but he said I was so rude and insulting I;d upset Emma and I'd left her in floods of tears??
There was no offer of compensation at all, and it appears the owners don't read any complaints hence Marcus replied to me.
I have no idea what went wrong, but we payed almost £1000.00 for two of us for Christmas, so whoever the owners are, I think we, and others had a raw deal and that you should be looking at your complaints as you seem to be out of touch with your clients
MRS M.D,CROOKES

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria14Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury,Lancs.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Couldn't fault it !
The service was excellent, the food delicious and upgrade to a family room with sea view. could not have asked for more. Incredible value for money.
Only suggestion for the future - to consider ocassional no kids weekends !

Room Tip: Most twin rooms are bigger than the doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A large group of couples booked The Claremont for a post-Xmas / birthday bash.
This was the first time for some of us.
Having had a bad experience in Lytham a couple of weeks ago, we needed something extra special to perk us up.
We found this with The Claremont - it most enjoyable & excellent value for money.
After being lucky enough to grab a parking space, & a swift & efficient check in, we found our sea-view room.
This contained all the necessary & promised facilities: hairdryer, kettle etc, en-suite (albeit a little compact!) complimentary toiletries etc.
An information board in reception clearly showed the itinery, plus several information sheets in the rooms also offered advice, and reception never had less than 2 staff whenever I passed.
Our all-inc wristbands provided free pre dinner drinks, then after a quick shower & change we were shown to our dinner table.
Staff had gone to the trouble of decorating the table with complimentary birthday confetti, streamers & napkins.
The food/restaurant at all times - dinner, breakfast - was wonderful. Tasty. great choice. Piping hot plates, swift efficient service by pleasant staff.
The entertainment room next to the adjoining bar area was well set-out.
Entertainment by comedians & singers each night was very good. (Maybe those with small children could consider being moved into the adjoining bar area, when later-night comedy was clearly tailored to an adult audience?).
All the time staff were clearing tables of empty glasses. If a drink was spilled staff attended to it immediately & professionally.
Morning after - Rooms were cleaned & tidied whilst we enjoyed a full english tasty breakfast.
Free Tea, Cappucino, Coffee, Hot Chocolate etc is always available & very welcome after a cold day out.
I enjoyed a swim in the pool whilst there - again I found staff re-stocking pool towels etc.
Whatever department - Staff were always available, attentive and pleasant.
On check-out the bill was correct, Car keys returned & payment taken, all swiftly & efficiently.
Will I use this hotel again - Certainly.
Will I recommend - Definately.

Room Tip: Corner rooms nice & large. Sea view rooms not worth the higher cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDogsDooDahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Property: Claremont Hotel
Address: 270 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and pleasantly decorated, 143 bedrooms at the Claremont Hotel in Blackpool offer our guests the privacy and comfort you would expect from a traditional seaside hotelAll with en-suite and some with delightful sea views overlooking Blackpool's promenade and the famous Illuminations, there are a range of sizes sleeping from one to a family of five. In room facilities of these great Blackpool bedrooms include direct dial telephone, colour LCD television, hairdryers and beverage tray whilst irons and boards are available on request.With a swimming pool, sauna and 'kids club' to the sea view Cafe bar and cabaret room the Claremont Hotel makes it the ideal venue for a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing