We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay with a friendly welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakland Guest House
Ranked #120 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay with a friendly welcome!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked to stay at the Oakland guest house for a family weekend away for my 30th birthday! The landlady Suzanne was so welcoming and very friendly which made you feel at ease straight away. Suzanne was very helpful and gave us a lot of advice on where to go and places to eat. The price for this guest house is outstanding and is located in a great place. It is on the North Shore and is five minutes away from a tram stop or bus stop which was perfect for us as it was easy to get to main attractions but was very quiet at night to get a good nights sleep. The room was very clean and modern with a en-suite with a bath and shower, with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall lots of tea and coffee facilities plenty of towels and soap. The bed was very comfy very good for money. we would definitely recommend this place to family and friends or anybody who is planning to visit Blackpool. I cant wait to go back and visit and will be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 760lisa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stopped at Oakland guest house for a friends weekend away to see the illumination. The owner of this guest house so so welcoming, and really made me feel at home. Anything I asked for she was able to get such as ironing board & iron. She told us about the local area where to eat, and what's about. Also had a very good knowledge of the area. Very clean rooms, mirror and television. Modern decoration. Nice en-suite.
Planning to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manley125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay the night here very last minute. As it was during the illuminations, everywhere was expensive, and we only wanted something cheap to get our head down for the night. The price we got here was outstanding!
It is located in the north shore, but we liked that as it was away from all the noise and the rowdyness.
In the evening we went into the town and it only cost us five pounds in a taxi. Then the following morning, we took a stroll along the promenade which took us thirty minutes to get to the town.
We arrived at the hotel and the owners were very helpful, very pleasent and so kind we couldn't fault them.
The lady took us up to our room, which was a lovely large, clean and modern room. Loads of tea facilities, plenty of towels and soap, lovely bath. We just couldn't fault it!!
Will definitely be coming back here the next time we visit!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina_Rick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

On a whim Gillian booked this hotel for a weekend trip to take in the illuminations. On arrival our landlord, Suzanne, took us to our room and gave us lots of advice on where to eat and best places for entertainment. She also advised on transport and general info, which was great. The room was clean and had a wall mounted flat screen tv, tea and coffee facilities, en suite bathroom with shower and free WiFi. The bed was extremely comfy and the room was cosy. We would happily recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel in a prime location, one street back from the promenade and close to tram and bus stops.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally-Gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was me and my Fiance's first trip to Blackpool together and we were looking for a place to stay which was quite inexpensive (we were staying from Sunday to Friday), but still had good reviews. We weren't looking for somewhere with breakfast as we always find we never get up for it when we are away ha, but my Fiance found that this guesthouse was a fab price and had excellent reviews on here, so he went for it. We were so pleased when we arrived, it wasn't far from the train station at all, so in a taxi it cost us £4.50. The owners are so welcoming and lovely, Suzanne was always all smiles, asking if we had enjoyed our day, our whole trip etc. We arrived fairly early and couldn't check in till 2, which we were fully aware of, but Suzanne let us keep our suitcase at the guesthouse until we could check in. Her partner (I assume it is her partner), had even taken our case up to our room for us by the time we did check in...bless! It was fairly heavy, so it was nice of him to do that for us. She recommended a cafe at the end of the street for breakfast, if we wanted to wait there until check in, so after a walk down to the sea, we went there and the brekkie was lovely :-). It's called The Corner House and is literally a few doors down from the guesthouse. Our room was lovely and cosy, comfortable and clean. Our beds were made for us daily, with the duvet being changed half way through the week for us. Fresh towels daily, fresh tea, coffee, milk and sugar daily, bins emptied daily...everytime we came back from our day out we walked into our room to such a nice smell, it always smelt lush! The location of the guesthouse is also fabulous. There is a cafe a few doors down as I said, aswell as a wine shop, a supermarket, a hairdressers and a beauty salon all in the same area as the guesthouse. Tram and bus stops are a minute walk away, so is the beach/sea. I would definitely recommend going to stay at this guesthouse if you are going to Blackpool...it's lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay :-). Thanks Suzanne and the rest of your family that help out at the guesthouse! X Just to add...they have a stair-lift for the older generation/disabled and they also have free wi-fi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My Fiance and i stayed at the Oakland Hotel for the weekend recently and our first impression lasted our full stay. Very friendly welcome on arrival, room was clean and tidy also fresh towels, fresh tea and coffee, bin emptied daily. Suzanne is always on hand for info and advice about the town. The Oakland was great value for money and a great experience for my 1st trip to Blackpool. Highly recommend and would definately visit again xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The owners were great, really helpfull and friendly, took awhile to find as we got lost (walking from train station) but suzanne was really good at directing us on the phone and came out to look for us :-) The double room had a really comfy bed, and was very clean and tidy, not much pressure in the shower, but really enjoyed our stay here and good value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Discovery Hotel
New Discovery Hotel
#385 of 856 in Blackpool
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Almar Hotel
Almar Hotel
#294 of 856 in Blackpool
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Guest House

Property: Oakland Guest House
Address: 61 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management. We are a small guest house that runs our business on a home from home basis; we have nicely refurbished rooms assuring guests of high standards of cleanliness and comfort. Although on the quieter North Sshore, we are within easy reach of all the attractions Blackpool has to offer. We are only one road back from the prom and beach with access to trams and buses. All rooms have flat screen digital TV/DVD with freeview and beverage trays. Rooms are serviced daily with fresh towels. We operate on a room only basis so are rates are very competitive. There are several cafes nearby offering breakfast and other meals. We also have a large lounge with TV and dining area that can be used by guests who wish to bring food back with them or can order from a takeaway menu up till 10 pm. We hope you enjoy your stay at the Oakland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing