We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value”
Review of New Hacketts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Hacketts Hotel
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Just come back from 3 night stay, great value 4 money , best food you will get at any hotel in Blackpool , good choice of menu quick service, very polite staff, good entertainment , beds very clean and comfortable, serviced every day , got just what id asked for when booking our break , stayed at hotel many times over the years , not changed much at all , i would have given hotel a ten if chairs in entertainment room had been more comfy , but wil go back again with such good value for money ,dont get much of that these days, THE CHEF AND KITCHEN STAFF 10,

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyoneblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for New Hacketts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 588 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. It was in a very good location and only just down the road was loads to do. The hotel was right on the beach front and a tram or bus stop is right outside. Room was cleaned everyday.. bed was very comfy and best of all it had a lovely sea view. Food was out of this world with a three course meal every night with a variey of meals. Staff were very helpful and polite and made sure you had a good holiday. A visit to the pleasure beach is a very good day out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsh112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel was booked by another hotel in blackpool as an alternative due to flood damage.The rooms were very scruffy and small.the lift was tiny and only enough room for one.The doors of the rooms were made of plywood and unpainted.After viewing we decided NOT to stay and they have now refused to refund our money!Only good thing was the receptionist who did her best and was very apologetic.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacketts, Manager at New Hacketts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2010

Hi, I remember your party being booked in by The Carousel Hotel due to them being overbooked in the Illuminations last year. This was done on the morning you were due to arrive. We did state to the Carousel at the time that our hotel was not the same standard as they are 3 star and we are not accredited at all, but they insisted that you would be fine. We also had to allocate you the 'last to let' rooms as we were very busy. Since your party arrived the owners have spent £90,000 on upgrading the bedrooms. We did offer a full refund when your party decided not to stay, but this was changed when you all returned and stayed for the weekend. The fault is not entirely ours as we only charged a small price to your tour operator, I can assure you that the amount you paid to them was NOT paid to us. This is an issue that you will need to take up with the Carousel or your tour operator as we did everything to ensure that you would be advised before you arrived and this was not done. I can only apologise for your unhappy set of circumstances. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact me on 01253 351465. Thank You - Lynda Wade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and had a really good time, the staff are very helpful and pleasant, the food was really good, in fact the best hotel food we"ve ever had, well cooked plenty of choice and all fresh ingrediants. We had a sea view and our room was very spacious and clean, have booked to go again later in the year well pleased with this hotel,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblesbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I Find it sad to say this, bgut we found the whole experience a nightmare. Just like some other reviewers. Rooms are poky and far too small. We booked a twin with seaview, only to be told on arrival, there was only a double! Asked to be changed but reeiption very unhlepful. Asked then to speak to Dale and was told he was out. We later found out he didn't even own the hotel anymore!!! Doesn;t reception know who they work for?

This used to be such a great hotel but has gone downhill drasticallyl Come back Mr Hackett

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank NorwichKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacketts, Manager at New Hacketts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2010

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am concerned that a member of our staff would say that Dale Hackett is 'not in', when none of our current staff previously worked for Mr Hackett and don't know what Mr Hackett even looks like. The hotel has not been under Dale Hacketts reign for over 3 years. Please could you contact me with the name or description of the staff member you have quoted in your review. Also I would like to speak to you regarding your stay as I cannot find any complaint in our log that fits anyone from Norwich and would be like to resolve any issues you had during your stay.
Thank You Lynda Wade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We have just returned from Easter weekend at Hacketts, and after changing rooms from a very small twin bedroom to a room with a double and single bed and a seaview , we have had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was beyond criticism, the beds extremely comfortable and linen spotlessly clean , the evening entertainment excellent and Glentons driver Mark is an absolute star. Our only complaint is the need for an update in the carpets and furnishings, and the shower cubicles are far too small for anyone above average build. We would also like to recommend Glenton Holidays; this is our second coach holiday with them and intend to use them again in the near future. Audrey and John. Peterlee, Co. Durham

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnb478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights in March 2010 and although when we booked we were talked into paying extra for one of the upgraded rooms at the rear of the hotel (314) the room had no chest drawers for guests staying over three nights only bedside cabinets with drawers. The bathroom was very small, so small in fact that when I bent down to wash my face in the 1/2 size hand basin my backside openned the bathroom door, not a pretty sight!

In the end we opted to stay in our first night room, room 111 which had a larger bathroom, chest of drawers and more floor space.

The food was great, waiters slow and on one themed night there was only two waiters to serve the room!!

Please consider fitting chest of drawers to those rooms that have'nt got them. Some of the guests we spoke to were staying there two weeks and had their clothes in a suit case as there was no room in the small bedside cabinets

The new owners are doing well at Hacketts so keep up the good work

Mr & Mrs Rangeley, Devon

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
0.3 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
257 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#51 of 73 in Blackpool
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hacketts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hacketts Hotel

Address: 14 - 20 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SQ, England (Formerly Hacketts York House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $42 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Hacketts Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hacketts Hotel, situated on Blackpool's Queens Promenade, with the beach on your doorstep and transport links across the road. It's a short journey to the town centre and many of Blackpool's famous attractions. New Hacketts is an excellent choice for families, couples or groups. 101 bedrooms, all en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, some with sea views of the beautiful Irish Sea. Enjoy freshly prepared meals by our very talented chef! Then sit back and relax in our bar lounge and enjoy an evening of entertainment. Bar snacks and alcoholic beverages are available 24 hours on request. Our friendly and helpful staff are here to assist you with any requests or requirements to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Hacketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacketts York Hotel
Hacketts Hotel Blackpool
Hacketts York Blackpool
Hacketts York House Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing