We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View before you book!”
Review of New Hacketts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Hacketts Hotel
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“View before you book!”
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel was booked by another hotel in blackpool as an alternative due to flood damage.The rooms were very scruffy and small.the lift was tiny and only enough room for one.The doors of the rooms were made of plywood and unpainted.After viewing we decided NOT to stay and they have now refused to refund our money!Only good thing was the receptionist who did her best and was very apologetic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacketts, Manager at New Hacketts Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Hi, I remember your party being booked in by The Carousel Hotel due to them being overbooked in the Illuminations last year. This was done on the morning you were due to arrive. We did state to the Carousel at the time that our hotel was not the same standard as they are 3 star and we are not accredited at all, but they insisted that you would be fine. We also had to allocate you the 'last to let' rooms as we were very busy. Since your party arrived the owners have spent £90,000 on upgrading the bedrooms. We did offer a full refund when your party decided not to stay, but this was changed when you all returned and stayed for the weekend. The fault is not entirely ours as we only charged a small price to your tour operator, I can assure you that the amount you paid to them was NOT paid to us. This is an issue that you will need to take up with the Carousel or your tour operator as we did everything to ensure that you would be advised before you arrived and this was not done. I can only apologise for your unhappy set of circumstances. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact me on 01253 351465. Thank You - Lynda Wade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    150
    70
    46
    103
See reviews for
130
151
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and had a really good time, the staff are very helpful and pleasant, the food was really good, in fact the best hotel food we"ve ever had, well cooked plenty of choice and all fresh ingrediants. We had a sea view and our room was very spacious and clean, have booked to go again later in the year well pleased with this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblesbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I Find it sad to say this, bgut we found the whole experience a nightmare. Just like some other reviewers. Rooms are poky and far too small. We booked a twin with seaview, only to be told on arrival, there was only a double! Asked to be changed but reeiption very unhlepful. Asked then to speak to Dale and was told he was out. We later found out he didn't even own the hotel anymore!!! Doesn;t reception know who they work for?

This used to be such a great hotel but has gone downhill drasticallyl Come back Mr Hackett

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacketts, Manager at New Hacketts Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
Hi, Thank you for your review. I am concerned that a member of our staff would say that Dale Hackett is 'not in', when none of our current staff previously worked for Mr Hackett and don't know what Mr Hackett even looks like. The hotel has not been under Dale Hacketts reign for over 3 years. Please could you contact me with the name or description of the staff member you have quoted in your review. Also I would like to speak to you regarding your stay as I cannot find any complaint in our log that fits anyone from Norwich and would be like to resolve any issues you had during your stay.
Thank You Lynda Wade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Peterlee, Co. Durham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We have just returned from Easter weekend at Hacketts, and after changing rooms from a very small twin bedroom to a room with a double and single bed and a seaview , we have had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was beyond criticism, the beds extremely comfortable and linen spotlessly clean , the evening entertainment excellent and Glentons driver Mark is an absolute star. Our only complaint is the need for an update in the carpets and furnishings, and the shower cubicles are far too small for anyone above average build. We would also like to recommend Glenton Holidays; this is our second coach holiday with them and intend to use them again in the near future. Audrey and John. Peterlee, Co. Durham

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights in March 2010 and although when we booked we were talked into paying extra for one of the upgraded rooms at the rear of the hotel (314) the room had no chest drawers for guests staying over three nights only bedside cabinets with drawers. The bathroom was very small, so small in fact that when I bent down to wash my face in the 1/2 size hand basin my backside openned the bathroom door, not a pretty sight!

In the end we opted to stay in our first night room, room 111 which had a larger bathroom, chest of drawers and more floor space.

The food was great, waiters slow and on one themed night there was only two waiters to serve the room!!

Please consider fitting chest of drawers to those rooms that have'nt got them. Some of the guests we spoke to were staying there two weeks and had their clothes in a suit case as there was no room in the small bedside cabinets

The new owners are doing well at Hacketts so keep up the good work

Mr & Mrs Rangeley, Devon

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2010

i have had the great pleasure of staying at hacketts for a number of years this was our twelth time this year my wife and myself love it we have been with family and freinds and can honestly say we have never been disappointed with the service the management and staff provide from the minute we arrive till the day we leave we have made many freinds through the guests we have met at this hotel if we have had any problems we have reported it to the reseption desk and it soon gets sorted i must agree with some of the comments from other guests about some of the rooms need upgrading but this is being done and we see the improvements each time we visit the food is superb the service is first class and the nightly entertainment is brilliant esspecialy martin lambert who keeps you laughing with his jokes and keeps the women happy with his singing a truly superb entertainer so to linda the beautifull manageress and all her staff thank you for making our holiday special .oggy from stoke.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oggyhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2010

having been a regular guest at this hotel, I'm afraid this year will be my last. It was such a letdown, no one to greet us at arrival, check in was a farce. hotel reception can not even be bothered to say good morning. the rooms I know are small, but that is no excuse for not cleaning them, our ensuite was filthy the shower in particular was disgusting, obviously not heard of bleach. the whole place really needs updating,ie,the carpets, bedroom furniture is all mismatch, the bedroom door was cobbled up. In fact, it all felt so dirty I kept my shoes on all time. And bare in mind this was an upgrade room with sea view. The meals were mmm okay, but for £85 per night ,so they should be, all they need to do there is change the menu, as thats the same as the last two years.The best advice I could offer,before It's to late, is give Ruth Watson a phone call.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverhrerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacketts, Manager at New Hacketts Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
Hi,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. I can assure you that I will be investigating all of your comments that you have listed. We are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms and have so far completed 40 rooms to a good standard. I am confused to the comment of you saying you were in an upgraded seaview, as we have only 1of these available at present and this has all new furniture, new carpet, bathroom and wide screen LCD TV and is an extremely large room, the rest of the upgraded rooms are not seaview, which makes me think you have been allocated a standard seaview in the 500's?? Also did you complain during your stay?? And if so who did you complain too. The hotel is under new ownership and new manangement and every effort is being made to raise the standard of Hacketts York House Hotel. But this takes time as you will understand. We have a strict complaints procedure at Hacketts and we deal with all complaints very seriously. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel on 01253 351465 if you feel you need to raise any further issues, so that we may resolve your unhappy stay.
Thanks, Lynda Wade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#42 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hacketts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hacketts Hotel

Property: New Hacketts Hotel
Address: 14-20 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SQ, England (Formerly Hacketts York House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Hacketts Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hacketts Hotel, situated on Blackpool's Queens Promenade, with the beach on your door step and transport links across the road. It's a short journey to the town centre and many of Blackpoo's famous attractions. New Hacketts is an excellent choice for families, couples or groups. 101 bedrooms, all en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, some with sea views of the beautiful Irish Sea. Enjoy freshly prepared meals by our very talented chef! Then sit back and relax in our bar lounge and enjoy an evening of entertainment. Bar snacks and alcoholic beverages are available 24 hours on request. Our friendly and helpful staff are here to assist you with any requests or requirements to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hacketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacketts York Hotel
Hacketts Hotel Blackpool
Hacketts York Blackpool
Hacketts York House Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing