We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in Blackpool”
Review of Aberford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aberford Hotel
Ranked #299 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Recently stayed at The Aberford Hotel and felt that I simply had to write a review. I've stayed in many B&B's in Blackpool, but this is by far the best value!
The owners were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the room was modern and more importantly it was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was huge and cooked to perfection!

We will definitely be coming back in the Summer (We've already booked for a full week!)

Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Aberford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This week I had to stay in Blackpool as I was attending a course throughout the week. I booked into the Aberford from the Sunday night until the following Saturday.
On arrival I was greeted by Neil and Deborah the owners an they made me feel very welcome. As it was late I went straight to bed and I was very pleased with my room as it was very clean warm and comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. In the morning I had an excellent grease free full English breakfast.
This was the same every morning... Awesome :-D
Neil was a great laugh through the week as I had a drink in the bar most nights.
All in all it made the week go by hassle free. I have booked for may to return for a weekend with my girlfriend :-D

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austinthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed at the aberford for my birthday night . bedroom was spotless and had everything that you needed . breakfast was excellent and staff were always asking if we wanted anything esle , but the size of the breakfast you could not eat anything else . the only downside was the guests in room 18 , they were very noisey till 4 am in the morning. but you cant blame hotel for bad mannered guests

Room Tip: ideal central blackpool hotel .
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Glad you had a great time on your birthday. Hope we will see you again next year. Its a good time to visit as the annual Shozam Festival is on with many events around the theme of circus and magic on the streets and theatres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights during July when the British Open was on. Major disappointment for us was that breakfast was at 9am and there was no flexibility on that. We had travelled from the other side of the world to see the golf, which meant we would be leaving every day well before 9am. So we then had to buy our breakfast elsewhere, which was ridiculous when we were staying at a bed & breakfast. My room was at the back of the hotel and was surprisingly quite nice with a bit of room to move and a decent bathroom though you had to wait simply forever for the hot water to come through. The tv didn't work nor did the light in the bathroom but all in all happy with my room. My friends room, however, was dreadful. So small you could hardly move and it had the smallest dingiest bathroom I have ever seen. Hardly a thing worked in this room. It was dismal. So if you were to stay in this hotel I think it would depend on the room you get because they obviously differ quite a lot. It was ok but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Our breakfast times usually start at 9.00am so that guests can have a relaxed start to their break in Blackpool. We are flexible with the start times as some guests come for competitions at the Winter Gardens/Tower and sometimes need to check-in early at the venue and so we provide an earlier breakfast to accommodate their needs.However, this particular couple arrived late one evening and requested a breakfast for 5.00am. We had no advance warning of this request.This meant we would have to get up at 4.30am and as the other guests and,consequently, ourselves would probably still be in the bar at midnight, I felt this wasn't a reasonable request and so politely refused. This has abviously upset them as the event was in June and they didnt post a comment until December!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Bad smell as soon as entered hotel. Sheets and pillow cases almost spotless. DUVET FILTHY AND PILLOW HAD BLOOD ON IT (CHECK OUT PHOTOS). Shower broken. Owner changed bedding, blaming staff for not changing it. But duvet looked like it had not been changed in a very very very long time and ultimately it is the owners responsibility to ensure long term standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keenan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We were as appalled as this couple and wish to express our apologies to them. I could give mitigating circumstances but I wont. I will simply say that when things go wrong we try to correct them as soon as possible as we did on this occassion.Once again, our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Aberford hotel & what a pleasant one it was too. Our family room was of decent size for the 4 of us, bathroom small but it served its purpose for us & you could get a nice hot shower which isn't always the case in big hotels. A few minutes walk to the promenade which is ideal location to be! Neil the manager is very approachable & helpful, so if you need anything just ask him! Breakfast was cooked to order & very tasty. Would I visit this hotel again, yes I most certainly would ( possibly without the children, so we can explore the nightlife)! The only thing that spoilt our weekend was the rain on the Sunday that didn't stop all day so kind of ruined our plans for that day & I managed to catch cold, but overall a good stay & weekend. Hope anyone who reads this & chooses to stay here has a pleasant stay like we did :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrennanFamily504186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed here on the 19th of october for the night, booked it very last minute, got the last double room available which was at the top of the hotel, it was a standard room with but it was all we wanted and had a lovely view out the window,
This hotel is everything that you need for a trip to blackpool, the owner on arrival was nice and pleasant, the breakfast the next morning was lovely lots of tea and toast, a real bonus after a few pints the night before,
due to its location and our lovely time we will definitely stay here the next time we go to blackpool

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebyrne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Willin House Hotel
Willin House Hotel
#158 of 859 in Blackpool
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Greenmount Hotel
The Greenmount Hotel
#587 of 859 in Blackpool
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farnborough
The Farnborough
#774 of 859 in Blackpool
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#84 of 859 in Blackpool
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Address
The Address
#159 of 859 in Blackpool
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#236 of 859 in Blackpool
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberford Hotel

Address: 12-14 Yorkshire Street, Blackpool FY1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $62 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mid-Victorian hotel situated in the heart of Blackpool. It is situated in an excellent location close to all major attractions, bars,theatres and restaurants. Whether you wish to visit for a romantic break or a family enjoying the school holidays or a large social group having a getaway weekend, The Aberford can cater for your needs. The friendly owners have an in-depth knowledge of Blackpool and are willing to assist you in whatever way possible to ensure that you enjoy The Blackpool Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aberford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing