We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but nothing to write home about”
Review of Aberford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aberford Hotel
Ranked #258 of 852 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
914 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights during July when the British Open was on. Major disappointment for us was that breakfast was at 9am and there was no flexibility on that. We had travelled from the other side of the world to see the golf, which meant we would be leaving every day well before 9am. So we then had to buy our breakfast elsewhere, which was ridiculous when we were staying at a bed & breakfast. My room was at the back of the hotel and was surprisingly quite nice with a bit of room to move and a decent bathroom though you had to wait simply forever for the hot water to come through. The tv didn't work nor did the light in the bathroom but all in all happy with my room. My friends room, however, was dreadful. So small you could hardly move and it had the smallest dingiest bathroom I have ever seen. Hardly a thing worked in this room. It was dismal. So if you were to stay in this hotel I think it would depend on the room you get because they obviously differ quite a lot. It was ok but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Our breakfast times usually start at 9.00am so that guests can have a relaxed start to their break in Blackpool. We are flexible with the start times as some guests come for competitions at the Winter Gardens/Tower and sometimes need to check-in early at the venue and so we provide an earlier breakfast to accommodate their needs.However, this particular couple arrived late one evening and requested a breakfast for 5.00am. We had no advance warning of this request.This meant we would have to get up at 4.30am and as the other guests and,consequently, ourselves would probably still be in the bar at midnight, I felt this wasn't a reasonable request and so politely refused. This has abviously upset them as the event was in June and they didnt post a comment until December!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    27
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Bad smell as soon as entered hotel. Sheets and pillow cases almost spotless. DUVET FILTHY AND PILLOW HAD BLOOD ON IT (CHECK OUT PHOTOS). Shower broken. Owner changed bedding, blaming staff for not changing it. But duvet looked like it had not been changed in a very very very long time and ultimately it is the owners responsibility to ensure long term standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keenan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil1130, Owner at Aberford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We were as appalled as this couple and wish to express our apologies to them. I could give mitigating circumstances but I wont. I will simply say that when things go wrong we try to correct them as soon as possible as we did on this occassion.Once again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Aberford hotel & what a pleasant one it was too. Our family room was of decent size for the 4 of us, bathroom small but it served its purpose for us & you could get a nice hot shower which isn't always the case in big hotels. A few minutes walk to the promenade which is ideal location to be! Neil the manager is very approachable & helpful, so if you need anything just ask him! Breakfast was cooked to order & very tasty. Would I visit this hotel again, yes I most certainly would ( possibly without the children, so we can explore the nightlife)! The only thing that spoilt our weekend was the rain on the Sunday that didn't stop all day so kind of ruined our plans for that day & I managed to catch cold, but overall a good stay & weekend. Hope anyone who reads this & chooses to stay here has a pleasant stay like we did :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrennanFamily504186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeadon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed here on the 19th of october for the night, booked it very last minute, got the last double room available which was at the top of the hotel, it was a standard room with but it was all we wanted and had a lovely view out the window,
This hotel is everything that you need for a trip to blackpool, the owner on arrival was nice and pleasant, the breakfast the next morning was lovely lots of tea and toast, a real bonus after a few pints the night before,
due to its location and our lovely time we will definitely stay here the next time we go to blackpool

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebyrne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in August and had a lovely time. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free pool table a bonus for the kids and adults. Nice to have a bar onsite and resident pooch is adorable. Breakfast is very good with LOTS of it and loads of toast & tea fry up was cooked really well. Had a really nice time only downside is room a bit dated. If you want a traditional Blackpool B& B that is right in the heart of the golden mile I would say the Aberford's a winner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsyw2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I arrived all looked well , bedroom had a single bed as well as a double it was supposed to just be a double ,supposed to be a non smoking room had cigarette burns on carpet,light bulb missing, wallpaper all ripped, no heating for two nights very cold, bar was never opened, only good thing was. Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairepaulsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have just got back from having a 5 day break staying at the Aberford this hotel is every thing that you could want when staying in Blackpool .

The location is first rate with every thing within easy walking distance and if you take time out to have a chat with the owner Neil then the advice he gives you can make a significant saving on your overall spend on your holiday . He gave us very helpful advice on what pubs and clubs to visit to get the best entertainment at the best price . The pub we found and used often , The Ardwick which is aprox 200 meters away from the hotel always has something going on there with a lively atmosphere and the prices there have to be experienced to be believed £4.05 for a pint of Fosters and a white wine and lemonade in Blackpool terms that is very cheep .

The hotel itself is very comfortable and you do get the impression from from arrival to leaving that nothing is to much trouble for the owners or any member of the staff one word sums up the breakfast perfect with all tastes catered for and nothing is too much trouble to make for you as much toast and coffee as you like with a wide selection of cereals to choose from .

The staff deserve a special mention always cheerful and polite with can do attitude all the time . I was very impressed with how a breakfast waitress on the morning of our departure took time out to phone and organize a cab for us as we wished to catch a earlier train . She did this for me while breakfasts was still being served and all i requested was a taxi number to call for myself these little things are the things that do make a difference to your holiday and the staff going the extra mile and doing things like this can have a very positive effect on your enjoyment of your stay . The rooms and how they are decorated and furnished i certainly do not have any problems with every thing you need on hand in the room and the price that you pay to stay per night is i would say very reasonable .

In regards to other hotels on the same street been cheaper that may well be true but if you look at the accreditation's and registrations that this hotel has in place then i for one would rather pay that little extra and stay at a hotel that is registered and run by owners who have something to lose rather than take a chance on a bargain basement establishment run purely for profit with no thought or care for there guests .

The last point would i visit the Aberford Hotel again ? . To right i would me and my wife are looking to get away around Easter and this place is high on the list of possibles for that break in my book this is a little gem of a place to stop at in blackpool .

Room Tip: The rooms located at the back of the hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farnborough
The Farnborough
#762 of 852 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 852 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#91 of 125 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#324 of 852 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberford Hotel

Property: Aberford Hotel
Address: 12-14 Yorkshire Street, Blackpool FY1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 852 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mid-Victorian hotel situated in the heart of Blackpool. It is situated in an excellent location close to all major attractions, bars,theatres and restaurants. Whether you wish to visit for a romantic break or a family enjoying the school holidays or a large social group having a getaway weekend, The Aberford can cater for your needs. The friendly owners have an in-depth knowledge of Blackpool and are willing to assist you in whatever way possible to ensure that you enjoy The Blackpool Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing