We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, extremely clean with very welcoming and friendly staff”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Blackpool and found our experience at the Colwyn Hotel, Blackpool fautless from the initial phone call to make the reservation with Charles, through to our checkin, evening stays, breakfasts and check out. Charles and his staff could not have been anymore obliging.

If you want a perfect location just outside the hussle and bussle, but within easy walking distance to the pleasure beach, sandcastle and best of all tram stop across the road, then the Colwyn ticks all those boxes. There is also a fabulous Italian restaurant nearby that Charles recommended us. The rooms are adequate spotlessly clean with a really comfortable matress and pillow for a good nights sleep. The restaurant and bar area are also spotless and offer great beer and food. Come breakfast time there was ample to eat, with fruit, cereal, toast and the full english.

Bloomin marvellous, very highly recommended, we'll be back, thank you

Room Tip: views to the front looking towards the pleasure beach and sea would be preferred especially for watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Hughes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 754 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped at the Colwyn Hotel, Blackpool for one night while having a sunny weekend break. The hotel is in a great position, with own parking facilities but away from the noise and crowds.
The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast great. All the staff were vey helpfull and friendly especially on the Sunday morning when we found out our car had a flat tyre.
They helped us out and also found out where the nearest garage was open. Thank you so much. Would stop there again , no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the colwyn for 2 nights and I would recommend it to anyone. Staff are very friendly and helpful breakfast was fantastic the only thing I would say is the family room was pretty small but maybe I am just being picky

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have recently returned from two thoroughly enjoyable days at the Colwyn Hotel Blackpool. The Hotel is situated approximately two hundred yards from the southern end of the pleasure beach and sits in a nice position facing the promenade and north towards the pleasure beach. This hotel caters superbly for families and features a lift to all floors, which is very handy with pushchairs, etc. The breakfast is very nice, featuring the traditional British breakfast, plus cereals, yogurts, juice, with ampletea/coffe and toast. There is an amply stocked bar with a comfortable bar/lounge area with pool table. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished. Importantly the staff are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is family oriented and is far enoygh away from the mayhem of Blackpool without being too far from the attractions. Tram and bus services can be accessed directly in front of the hotel on the prom. We will be returning in the near future. Richard and Jan from newcastle

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in June with 2 young children great staff clean room lovely hotel and great staff would recommend Charles is really nice and the kids love it there seaview room close to fun fair will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we arrived abit early than the checking time n the only positive thing we av about this place is that we were allowed to check in earlier.its an outdated place we paid for a double bed only to get twin beds put together,on teling the manager about it he started saying he has run hotels for i don't know how long,which was not our problem even if he has been in the business since 1000yrs ago.what mattered to us is the room we purchased being sold as double only to get single beds with two single mattresses on.i didn't like his attitude atall.back in the room its very small the shower and the toilet are terrible when you are sitted on the toilet your legs are pushing the cheap shower curtain they got.its too small that there is no washing basin in the bathroom its where they have kettle how unhygeneic is that?
its abit clean i would say.we ate our first day dinner there which to us was crap again not value for money.
because my husband tried to tell the manager how we felt after our first night stay i am sure he discussed it with his employees who started giving us some attitude when we went for breakfast, and since i work in hotels i am very proud to say this is not professional. hospitality is required.
we did not realize the bed had two single mattresses until it was time for bed so we had no otherwise other than to sleep. we thought to change but we also said it might end up not having a place to stay for our last night, so we were forced to stay there an we couldn't wait to get home.
the most disappointing thing it was my birthday and since my husband wanted us to share it away from home and work.it was terrible the room and the staff who changed their attitude towards us after complaint ruined my special day. we will never be back n neither can we recommend this place to our friends and relatives

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilpah_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Colwyn Hotel on the 25th & 26th June 2013 where we received a warm welcome from the owner on our arrival. The hotel was very clean and tidy as was our room (although a little dated). Situated in a quiet part of Blackpool there is plenty of off road parking with tram and bus stops being just a few yards away. The Pleasure Beach is just a short walk from the hotel. There is a comfortable bar, pool table, dart board and games available for the youngsters. There is also free Wi Fi which we found very useful. Best of all was the delicious breakfast with a choice of fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereals, croissants, yogurts, followed by a full English breakfast with plenty of hot toast. Will certainly use this hotel again on our next visit to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
522 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $57 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing