We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in June with 2 young children great staff clean room lovely hotel and great staff would recommend Charles is really nice and the kids love it there seaview room close to fun fair will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    215
    33
    8
    10
See reviews for
310
186
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we arrived abit early than the checking time n the only positive thing we av about this place is that we were allowed to check in earlier.its an outdated place we paid for a double bed only to get twin beds put together,on teling the manager about it he started saying he has run hotels for i don't know how long,which was not our problem even if he has been in the business since 1000yrs ago.what mattered to us is the room we purchased being sold as double only to get single beds with two single mattresses on.i didn't like his attitude atall.back in the room its very small the shower and the toilet are terrible when you are sitted on the toilet your legs are pushing the cheap shower curtain they got.its too small that there is no washing basin in the bathroom its where they have kettle how unhygeneic is that?
its abit clean i would say.we ate our first day dinner there which to us was crap again not value for money.
because my husband tried to tell the manager how we felt after our first night stay i am sure he discussed it with his employees who started giving us some attitude when we went for breakfast, and since i work in hotels i am very proud to say this is not professional. hospitality is required.
we did not realize the bed had two single mattresses until it was time for bed so we had no otherwise other than to sleep. we thought to change but we also said it might end up not having a place to stay for our last night, so we were forced to stay there an we couldn't wait to get home.
the most disappointing thing it was my birthday and since my husband wanted us to share it away from home and work.it was terrible the room and the staff who changed their attitude towards us after complaint ruined my special day. we will never be back n neither can we recommend this place to our friends and relatives

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilpah_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Colwyn Hotel on the 25th & 26th June 2013 where we received a warm welcome from the owner on our arrival. The hotel was very clean and tidy as was our room (although a little dated). Situated in a quiet part of Blackpool there is plenty of off road parking with tram and bus stops being just a few yards away. The Pleasure Beach is just a short walk from the hotel. There is a comfortable bar, pool table, dart board and games available for the youngsters. There is also free Wi Fi which we found very useful. Best of all was the delicious breakfast with a choice of fresh fruit, fruit juice, cereals, croissants, yogurts, followed by a full English breakfast with plenty of hot toast. Will certainly use this hotel again on our next visit to Blackpool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here again over the weekend for Totally Transport. The hotel is clean and tidy and ideally located in the pleasanter/quieter end of the promenade. The staff, from the owner to the cleaners are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. The room have spectacular sea views. The bar is well stocked and the food is top quality and delicious. Games are available including Darts, pool, PS3 and Wii and there is free WiFi

I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have bigger windows - 105 is probably the best. Rooms over the door can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helibags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a nice traditional seaside hotel set away from the busy town center yet walking distance to the pleasure beach.
As mentioned by others it is a little dated but is nice and clean. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful although we had a misunderstanding one night over drink prices.
They did organise a birthday cake and flowers for one of our party of 8 which was done very well.
The breakfast was good and there was a reasonably large selection to fill you up.
Plumbing in the rooms was a little tempermental but again it was clean and had most things you needed for a stay. We were on the top floor and had an excellent sea view from the room and the shower room.
overall it was a good choice for us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for an under 11 football tournament, but ended up in their 'sandpiper apartments' which where terrible!

Access to these apartments meant you had to leave the hotel ( not great with under 11's)

Dirty cushions, a pull down double Bed in the sitting room, the smallest shower in the world ( which was Luke warm at best), & burns in the carpet all added to this unpleasant hotel experience

Meals were basic & palatable, but not good by any stretch of the imagination, and staff where rude when told that the cheese board was like rubber ( and had obviously been left out uncovered for SEVERAL hours.

On the plus side the weekend was excellent with a great bunch of people, and we just chose to entertain ourselves in the Stuart Hotel instead

Won't be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Book the Stuart hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Charles and his staff were very helpful and accommodating to our group. Food was excellent and plentiful. Plenty of games for the kids to use eg. Nintendo Wii. Would definitely be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlholdridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Property: The Colwyn Hotel
Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing