We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grand national trip”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“grand national trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a lovely week/end lovely owner and staff, excellent food and entertainment. Nothing was any trouble for staff . close to tram and bus stop, soeasy to get about. Would certainly go back here. lift for access to rooms. computer in frot hall for visitors use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mglencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    209
    33
    8
    10
See reviews for
298
176
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A weeken spent here with my 12 yr old and her friend. Very Clean and very professional but also a warm atmosphere. Staff are great, breakfast is great.
Would and will stay again, we are planning to go in the summer (when warmer) and will have no problem in booking here.

Room Tip: Close enough to the Fair but away from the hassle of the shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here just after easter during the school holidays, our first impression as we parked our vehicle was very nice. As we checked in the staff were friendly and attentive. The two rooms we booked were clean and comfortable for a long weekend. I would advise not staying here for more than a weekend as the rooms are fairly small. But large enough to rest our heads at night! Breakfast was lovely as there was a wide selection to choose from. Dinner was good to but i think the vegetables are probably frozen. Facilities are very good with flatscreen tv's in rooms along with tea and coffee making. The security is good as the door is locked at night however the bedroom doors didn't seem to secure as it was just a deadlock, this was rattly and sqeaky. They should be yale with bolts for overnight use. Little touches like that give a safer and more comfortable stay. Over all i would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have just returned from a Three day stay at the Colwyn Hotel in Blackpool. I took my Two grandchildren. We found it most enjoyable the location is superb. The Hotel is spotless. The staff could not be more helpful and pleasant.The breakfast Excellent I have stayed here before with different people mix suitable for all ages. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

As always everybody is helpful and friendly. Comfortable rooms with great views. Always a good breakfast. Great location being opposite to the promenade. Close to the pleasure beach. public transport and british rail. Make sure you have a tram ride. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 145bryanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of March and we're glad we chose this hotel. The staff are very friendly, the room was comfortable and had a great view and the breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is in a great location being both right next to the beach and Pleasure Beach. There's also a tram stop and bus stop right outside, if you don't fancy walking to the centre of Blackpool or beyond.

The room was nice and cosy and had pretty much anything you might need. The Breakfast was delicious with the choice of a cooked breakfast or cereals, croissants, etc.

Definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in Blackpool, especially if you're wanting to go to Pleasue Beach too, due to its location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The owners were really friendly and helpful and we were shown to our rooms as soon as we arrived. We had a lovely view of the front and the room had all the amenities needed. The only downside was the bed!.I could feel every spring and it was pretty uncomfortable. The meals were excellent, with plenty of choice and good helpings. The girl on the bar both nights could have smiled more and been friendlier but all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who prefers the quieter end of Blackpool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Property: The Colwyn Hotel
Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing