We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel with friendly staff, just a few things let it down.”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Colwyn for just one night, we found the hotel very clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was compact but had everything we needed especially as we were only staying for one night. The breakfast was fine, I have eaten better but I have definitely eaten worse!
A couple of down sides: The drinks in the bar where very expensive which is a shame as we would of spent more if they were more reasonable. The shower in our room was non existant, the water just dribbled out of the shower head. The lift was out of order, they said it had only just broke and they were waiting for the repair man but we got the impression that they had been spouting the same line for months. I wouldn’t normally grumble but we were on the third floor! The hotel in my opinion needs an update.
Overall it was ok, we all agreed that we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byrnefamilyfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for The Colwyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 739 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

return visit to this hotel great value clean and comfortable with great sea views.staff were friendly and helpful especially bev who served us at breakfast plenty of choice cereals yoghurts fresh fruits and juices and a decent full english its close to pleasure beach with a tram stop across the road. only negative was the lift was out of order.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel was good made to feel very welcome.Room was clean and comfortable.Breakfast was fantastic staff very helpful. only downside hotel could do with being modernised decor not great.But that was my only fault and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moutedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Room generally very satisfactory and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We had a room at the front of the hotel (no. 302) which had a nice sea view. Good cooked breakfast with a choice of several cereals and juice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Negative points - The shower stall door seal leaked. No toiletries apart from hand soap. The decor throughout the hotel was somewhat 'tired'. e.g. Wallpaper peeling. Hotel position is fairly remote from the centre of town, although the tram stop is right outside and costs £2 for a one way trip (£4.50 for an all day pass).

Overall a reasonable choice of hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

First time to Blackpool in group of 10 Excellent value for money Friendly welcoming staff
Stairs are steep but has a lift Hotel is suitable for groups. solo and family travellers in good base position

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Only had the pleasure of staying here for the one night in sept 2012, with the rest of the family as we were only passing through on our way home. Very warm welcome, very friendly and clean, with a good breakfast. Would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherrysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed 17 / 18th October 2012. My wife, me and our Border Terrier received a very warm welcome, friendly staff, excellent food and nice bedroom. A very clean hotel in a good location with car parking.
Enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Sea View if available.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
852 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $68 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing