We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and i spent 6 days at the Colwyn Hotel recently, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly, the food was execellent [we stayed halfboard].We recomend this hotel to all, the local transport to the local attractions are within easy reach.Nothing was too much trouble whist we were there,this is our fourth year there and we will be going back again.

Mr and Mrs Wright Peterborough

Room Tip: Good value for money and friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mum1Dad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 754 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well located for all attractions .Pleasure beach tower just a short tram journey away.Trams every 20 mins and stopped across the road from the hotel.Clean and practical good value for money.Very helpful on arrival and throughout our staynothing was too much trouble.The owner gave an elderly couple a lift to the train station on their departure home to scotland which saved them the hassle of waiting for a taxi.We felt that this was above and beyond the call of duty Well done.Breakfast was superb and plentyful.A truly well run family buisness.Thank you!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is well situated, close but not too close to the pleasure beach.Its a five minute walk from the train station and has easy access to the tram which is virtually opposite the hotel.We received a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and family running the hotel.The rooms although basic were clean and had tea and coffee facilities in the room,they also provided a hairdryer. The bar was well stocked and reasonably priced and drinks were served with a smile, even though we were a large group with large orders of various tastes, I am sure we tested their patience at times but they never gave us anything but excellent service. We had several special requests and Charles went above and beyond to accomodate us all.It is a family hotel and the breakfast provided is hearty setting both adults and children up for the day.The choice of the evening menu is good and value for money.Its a great hotel value for money and well run by Charles and family and staff,customer service is excellent.I would highly recommend The Colwyn whatever your reason is to be in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a welcome we received, hotelier couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Provided a tasty, satisfying meal for group. Hotel room was small but well appointed, clean and practical. Hotel is well positioned with tram stop just outside the front door, although also great for a stroll along the front.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMole_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We would like to thank ALL the staff at the Colwyn Hotel for a very enjoyable week-end. Our daughter,son-in-law,granddaughters(age3yrs@6yrs),another daughter and teenage granddaughter and her friend, and my daughters friends and their daughter(age 7yrs) all had a wonderful week-end at this brilliant hotel. Brendan was very helpful especially when we came home on the Saturday evening and asked if we could bring some food into hotel. This was no problem and he gave us dishes and cutlery and served us all night. Nothing was too much for any of the staff, as we did the same the following night and Charles(i believe he is the owner)was on duty and again nothing was too much.Also one morning my youngest granddaughter and i were at the main door when this lady came in and was very friendly to us , introduced herself and had a lovely conversation with us.(I believe her name was Linda and she worked in the hotel.The rooms were excellent Clean and facilities were very good, staff made sure we were not short of anything.Would definately recommend to everyone.Charles also showed us their appartments which were only a couple of doors along from hotel, and if you book them you can still get meals and bar service from the hotel if you wish.(You wouldn't want to miss the breakfast which was excellent every morning)

Room Tip: we were on the third floor and although the lift was a bit old it was always working and not too bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annakscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a great couple of days at The Colwyn Hotel. The staff make you feel really at home and work very hard to help you get the best from your stay. The location is good, tram stop opposite. Breakfast well cooked and plenty of it. If you wish you can also have an evening meal. Well stocked bar and very reasonably priced. Rooms extremely clean. Tea making facilities in room, hand soap and hair dryer ...but no shampoo so remember to take your own. A very pleasant stay. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

First the practical points - the rooms are clean with fresh white bedding and towels. The bathrooms are very small but adequate with soap but no other toiletries. There is a hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities also plenty of plug sockets. The hotel is well heated. There is a computer for use by customers in reception. The bar is a good sized bar with plenty of seating. Breakfasts are good with a choice of juices, cereals, yoghurts and fruit before the cooked options. The three course evening meals are good value.
The bar shuts at midnight so this is not a place for all night ravers. Despite being on he seafront this hotel is in a quiet part of town so you will get a decent nights sleep. The trams stop just across the road and it is a couple of minutes walk from Blackpool Pleasure Beach station. The walk into the main part of town is a lovely one along the promenade.
The real attraction of this hotel is the staff. Charles and his team make you feel at home and literally nothing is too much trouble. They have a good knowledge of the area and have loads of helpful tips to make your stay and enjoyable one. This is a brilliantly run hotel and it is the service which earns it five stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
518 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#14 of 73 in Blackpool
1,073 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing