We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verry nice”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2012

a pleasant hotel,verry clean and tidy. great breakfast and the host is verry friendly.only stayed for 1 night but they could not do enough for us.free car park wich is verry important when visiting bpool.highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room,bloody marvelous!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for The Colwyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 739 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first time this past weekend and it was thoroughly enjoyable. All of the staff are very friendly, warm and welcoming. The hotel is in an excellent location to reach everything yet quiet enough to have a very good nights sleep, plus we had a stunning view from our hotel room window. All of the staff go out of the way to help you, and reccommended some excellent places to eat out at. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah28x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Myself and my 8yr old boyed stayed in the Colwyn on Friday night (31st March). Really nice hotel, Twin room was a little small but very clean and tidy, The cooked breakfast was great. The dining area is really bright and sunny. The staff were lovelly, even going as far to call me later in the evening to say i'd left my key at the hotel. Overall great hotel for a stay in at Blackpool, great location for the Pleasure Beach,Would definately go back and recommend to friends,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night, our room was lovely with a great sea veiw. Very clean and comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpful, Breakfast was lovely. Would most definatly stay here again and I have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaHoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good value for money hotel.Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Nice food. Just across the road from the beach. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked a 2 night B&B stay at The Colwyn Hotel, B&B double room (£50 pn). Selected this hotel on TA reviewers write up’s, what a disappointment.

First impressions of the hotel entrance looked good, but the rooms were poor. Decoration was as if a recent refurbishment was either done it a great rush or by a five year old. The 1st room given, we checked the bed sheets, too find a large dump patch, reported this to the owners and were given the choice of 2 other rooms, one with a smaller bathroom, so we opted for the other. The 2nd room much like the 1st, the furniture was cheap flat pack and badly erected, shelves on walls were not level and on touch moved, as for the silicone around the bathroom suite, this must’ve been plastered on with a trowel. The Beige suite had a white toilet seat. The cold tap on the sink was a different style from the hotel tap. No bath, just a shower, which just about rinsed the soap off you.

The hotel is located next door to the Pleasure Beach amusement park and about 2.5 miles from the Tower, an hour walk if you fancy it each way, we did once, but took the Bus or Taxi on other trips into the centre - £2 single or £4 day saver which allows to travel all day. By taxi to city centre was £8. There were a few restaurants close by, but not open due to early in the season.

We’ll give credit where it is due, the owners/staff were nice people and we both enjoyed the breakfast on our 2 day stay, but sorry Colwyn Hotel, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimb053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

With welcoming staff, warm, comfortable and clean rooms. Our group of friends had excellent stay at the Colwyn, it is 5 mins easy walk from the pleasure beach rail station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
853 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $68 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing