We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep going back.”
Review of The Colwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colwyn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a family run hotel on the Blackpool front but south of the main town. Room is clean and tidy and excellent value. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome and if required make changes to accomodate you. Private parking - whether in car or on motorbike. Lovely breakfast. Definately recommended for value.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the promenade and the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nulajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for The Colwyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 739 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

I booked at the The Colwyn Hotel (nr Pleasure Beach) in Black pool for June 25th & 26th, 2011. I booked 4 room for my poker team of 8 players who was playing in an APAT Poker event at the G Casino.

All I can say was the staff, facility and service were ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!!!! This hotel really catered to or needs on the day and was very poker player friendly.

I highly recommend The Colwyn Hotel, and will be booking our stay there again when I organise my next poker weekend in Blackpool.

Thanks again

Sean Kachmarski
Capt of the Nelly’s Heroes Poker Team

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanUKPoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the Colwyn Hotel and received excellent service at a very reasonable price. Gorgeous sea views, fantastic customer service, and the breakfast was good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helibags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I returned to Blackpool with my 26 &15 year old sons to show them what Dad had enjoyed 10 years ago. Not the night life but the Zoo & Pleasure Beach. That is why I am so glad I discovered The Colwyn Hotel on the net. This is a family run Hotel with that touch that makes you feel at HOME. We had a triple room on the second floor over looking the sea. When I pay £25 per night per person I expect basic. I was greatly surprised. The room was very clean and the beds and beding were very comfortable. The small showroom was spotless. The location for Pleasure Beach was perfect. 500 yards walk to front gate. You come to Blackpool for a great day and night. We did that but what I have to say is this: WHAT SET US UP WAS THE BREAKFAST. Charles, the owner was always at hand to advise you of the attractions and directions. Any questions we had Charles had the answer, the direction and the map.
Great English Breakfast,

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrdportrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our second visit to the colwyn hotel this year and The owner and his staff are really friendly, and very helpful with local knowledge of places to visit and good local restaurants etc. The Colwyn hotel has a very laid back approach with it's guests and really makes you feel at home whilst you are staying there. The breakfast is lovely and the service is great from all. The rooms are comfortable and clean and we shall definitely be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We called in at this Hotel on the offchance of securing a room for the night. They kindly showed us the room before we committed. It had a sea view to the front and to the side, overlooking the pleasure park. This suited us fine. The only downside was the small shower/toilet space. It was explained this was done quite a few years ago, to get as many ensuites in as poss. However, everything was in good working order and adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was excellent and the proprietors were very welcoming. The position for catching a bus into town was great, and once the main prom is completed, the tram stop will be opposite the hotel. Lovely quiet location.

Room Tip: Room 104 was fine
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

great service - family friendly, welcoming & approachable staff.
room was clean and tidy - overlooking sea front, with fab view.
quite close to pleasure beach, but at quieter end of promanade - so great for early evening/morning walks along beach.
hotel is on promanade front & a good base for most attractions.
tea & coffee making equipt was provided in the room, along with an en-suite shower room, clean towels & a small tv.
this hotel has a small lift.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had great view across sand & sea..
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspolly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
3.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
852 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colwyn Hotel

Address: 569 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $68 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Colwyn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colwyn Hotel, situated on the fashionable New South Promenade overlooking the Irish sea and stunning sun sets, is a Blackpool hotel with a commitment to excellent customer service. If you're looking for a quality yet affordable hotel in Blackpool, you can't go wrong at the Colwyn Hotel. We're excellently located next to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, the Sandcastle Waterpark, G-Casino and South pier. There are tram and bus stops right across the road to Cleveleys, Fleetwood, Stanley Park and Blackpool's amazing zoo. We offer free parking on our forecourt and free wifi. There is a lift to all floors. Most of our rooms and our dining room have excellent sea views. You need to know that you'll receive the right standard of hotel accommodation, at the right price. If you're looking for a summer holiday or a short break, you'll always enjoy your stay in Blackpool when you stay at the Colwyn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Colwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing