We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill... Manchester better for toddlers”
Review of Sea Life Blackpool

Sea Life Blackpool
Ranked #17 of 81 things to do in Blackpool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Showcasing more than 50 dazzling displays and more than 2,000 spectacular aquatic creatures including tropical sharks, colourful reef fish, octopus, rays and sea horses, SEA LIFE Blackpool is the perfect way to experience the wonders of underwater life without getting wet. Explore the magic of the world's oceans and journey from the coast and sandy shallows of the great British shoreline to the equatorial rainforest of the Amazon and into the tropical depths of the ocean.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gone down hill... Manchester better for toddlers”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Used to love coming to Sealife Blackpool before the one in Manchester opened, although the theming in Blackpool is better the quality is poor. There are very few exhibits at toddler/young child height there are very few exotic species in Blackpool compared to others. It seems to concentrate on Shoreline, Amazonian and the size of their sharks. In my opinion it has gone way down hill. We saw 1 puffer fish, 1 clown fish (which in all honesty we could have totally missed) no lion fish, the tropical fish tank that held the lion fish and eels seem to have been replaced by giant crabs, the jellyfish leave a lot to be desired. In my opinion although the Manchester one may be small, it has a better quality and quantity of fish and is better geared to younger children (exhibits at their level, no picking up or lifting needed and lots of colourful fish)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miss_teeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    867
    629
    252
    127
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dalry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant, loved it so so so so so so much!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great place to learn about life in our oceans from Sharks to String Rays to Sea Horses to Turtles. Two hours here is so calming here seeing all the marine life and hearing the waters flow. Really worth it! I would love to go again. This made my holiday there. Its also an inside attraction so it's open all weathers. Take your children they will love it as long as you don't feed them to the sharks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good size bigger than expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

great fun for all a bit disappointing that some of the stamps that the children collect in their passports didn't work. very knowledgeable staff who clearly enjoyed their work. the shark tunnel was amazing and not too busy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Quite surprising really”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A bit pricey but well worth it doesn't look much from outside but it's like a tardis. Should be more staff though stopping idiots ignoring warning signs. However, a good use of a rainy day!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewise78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Toddler loved seeing the fish”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have visited this sea life attraction before with our son, but the last time he wasn't really old enough to understand what was going on, but this time he knew that "Big Daddy" was a crab and that he was a "Big big big crab" as he called him.
It was great to see his enjoyment in seeing the sharks, and how he recognised a clown fish calling them "Nemo" and the Blue Tang "Dory".
You can also put your hand into a tank that has a cleaning shrimp in it, and it scurries up your hand and with little arms picks at your skin. Very weird feeling!

The play area at the end of the sea life was good for my son, he enjoyed playing in the ball pond, and the slide. And because the ticket is valid all day, we went back again after dinner.

The only thing that let the Sea life down was the toilet facilities, they are a little dated, and in need of a bit of modernisation. Would be better if there were changing facilities separate from the male and female toilets, as it consists of a changing stand in the middle of the Male or Female toilet. Not very private!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobBranaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Blackpool also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Sea Life Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing