We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. It is in a great location on the prom. The rooms are nice. Bar lounge is a great space to relax and watch the world go by with great views over the sea and prom. Breakfast in the morning is the best I've had in a hotel, served buffet style so you can have as much as you like. But if you want toast it will take a while as the toaster is not the best. The only couple of things that let our stay down was one the entertainment. On the Friday night was a guy who had been on our previous stays he was doing the same bad jokes and singing the same songs badly I won't name him but he is poor. Saturday night wasn't the best either he couldn't sing and no personality. The other thing was when checking in and paying there was a bit of an argument between the staff on the reception we had been given a price by email which I confirmed twice only to be told on arrival as we were just about to pay we had to pay more. Which we did but the way it was done and discussed between the manager and owner on reception I found very unprofessional. And no apology was given by either. But over all a nice hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank donkeymagic2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    137
    31
    7
    11
See reviews for
310
177
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llynclys, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

the hotel is in a good spot for all attractions on arrival parked outside to take luggage in, and moved it later as unfortunately cannot leave cars there , but parked at back of hotel 5mins away, for free all weekend, the hotel bar and lounge are lovely you can sit and look at the sea, there was entertainment , bar reasonably priced to, the rooms we had were nicely decorated, and nice new bathrooms, clean towels, tea coffee kettle, tv everything you need and beds very comfortable we all had a good nights sleep , breakfast is buffet style where you help yourself, good choice of cereals , fruit , and hot full english , very good to start the day off , and staff are there to help you, if you need anything, all in all this hotel is excellent value for money, very clean, comfortable, foods lovely, staff are nice and helpfull, id definately recommend and visit again ! i actually would of liked to stay longer

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in Room 46 which I have to admit was the tiniest room I have ever seen - you could sit on the toilet and shower at the same time (not even joking). It was to it's advantage very clean which along with the seaview was a good point. The curtains however did nothing to protect the room from the illumination of the hotels sign which lit the room up all night. It honestly felt like we had left the bedroom light on all night! Breakfast was really good though. The selection was huge if you ate meat.The hotel entertainment was good if you were of the older generation. When we came back from dinner the Cabaret singer had all the old ladies singing along which they all seemed to be enjoying. Personally Jamie behind the bar was the highlight. He was hot as hell!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 46. It really is teh size of a box. You can only get out one side of the bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigYDonBlackpool, Manager at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest, the room you stayed in is small, even though it has a double bed it is normally rented out for 1 person. When you phoned up to book , it was the only room left and the size of it and the bed pushed against the wall was explained to you and we offeded you a discount to allow for there not being much room for 2 people. You wanted to take it so why mention it now. The room is quite adequate for 1 person and we have so many single guests requesting that room. The hotel sign should have been switched off at midnight it is not normally on all night. This will be pointed out to the member of staff on duty that night. Otherwise i am pleased you enjoyed yor stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was brilliant, rooms clean.buffet breakfast so much too choose from,
could not fault it. stayed monday to friday , entertainment so good my 18month old
grandson loved it,owners and staff bend over backwards to make your stay the best

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUETIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We cannot fault this hotel on anything. Went Monday to Friday to see the illuminations with our son and my husbands mother and had a wonderful time there. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and nothing you ask for is too much trouble for them. Hotel itself is spotless and rooms are clean and modern too. We had a sea view room and were really pleased with it. Breakfast was brilliant as had everything you could want, and although we only had dinner once at the hotel as were out and about most days, the food was very good too. Entertainment was very good too and was of a high quality. Would especially like to thank Neil on reception and Jamie on the bar for making our stay one to remember as both were extremely attentive and very funny too! Have booked again for same time next year and can't wait to go back. Well done to all at the Craig-Y-don hotel, you're all doing a great job!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was brilliant, couldnt say a bad thing about it, room was very clean and modern with lovely sea view, entertainment was great and so was the food.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming, kids have loved being there and cant wait to come back.

Excellent value for money, we would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting blackpool it made our weekend away so much better, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz-dean-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

having stayed at the craig y don for the third time in as many years it still does not disappoint, the hotel is exceptionally clean,. the staff are all helpful.the,entertainment is very good,the breakfast is outstanding cannot fault it. looking forward to returning in the near future. well done

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Property: Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens, couples and small responsible groups. New owners have taken over this year, many rooms have been refurbished and by March 2012 the whole hotel will be complete. We offer buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment, bingo, quizzes, cabaret, games room. Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing