We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hi,

I am writing this review on behalf of my aunt Mary Chalmers who came home on Friday after spending the week in your hotel.
She had a fantastic time, she loved the staff who she said could not do enough for their guests, she loved the food and she said the hotel itself was amazing and spotlessly clean. She has been coming to Blackpool for years and usually stays at the Boston but, she is so impressed with your hotel that she is now going to book regularly into the Craig-Y-Don. We will both be coming down in the next couple of months so I look forward to seeing for myself.

Kind regards
Lorraine Alcorn

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thankyoiu for taking the time to review the hotel on behalf of youy auntie. The ladies had great fun and never stopped laughing! It was a pleasure to have 3 lovely ladies staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 795 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of 12 of us stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend. The rooms were spotlessly clean and catered fully to our needs for the two night stay. Great location on the sea front and the breakfasts were tasty and plentiful. Far exceeded our expectations at our rate of £35/night, very friendly staff on reception who could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripoli659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

just spent a weekend in the hotel, rooms and all of the hotel was really clean, food excellent especially buffet breakfast, fresh and plenty of it, its the first time we have stayed here but will definately return. we had a walk down the front and could not wait to get back to our hotel in comparison to the some of the rough hotels on offer. It was great to sit in the beer garden, relax and watch the world go by. Entertainment was excellent and neil was fab also. the location was great and the girls could go off and have a walk to pleasure beach or prom. Its a great location cetral to everything and transport stop is just facing the hotel. Thanks to all the staff for making our weekend stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xskyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed at this fantastic hotel with my husband and three children.Now where to start fantastic hotel,clean rooms,lovely breakfast,lovely friendly staff great entertainment .Would highly recommend for families and couples looking for a enjoyable relaxing break will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank donone2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a truly great time from 3rd June to 6th June - Superb hospitality, very helpful staff at all times of the day nothing was too much for them to help, superb buffet style meals, comfortable spacious en-suite bedroom and great cabaret entertainment - will definately being going back again in the near future

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend break on 25th/26th May to celebrate my Dad's 75th birthday. It was a big family group and everyone from age 7 to Dad age 75 loved it. For children, the X-Box Konnect is a huge success and my Dad really appreciated the fact that the hotel had put some cans of mild behind the bar for him!

The welcome, rooms, food and entertainment was all of a high standard. As Blackpool is the only place in the world my Dad will go to (seriously!!!), we have stayed in lots and lots of hotels and B&Bs over the years and this is without question the best.

The hotel is in a great location near Central Pier and it's the outside patio is excellent to watch the world go by. We arrived after a long journey on the M6 and ordered some tasty toasties and drinks and sat outside.

We stayed on a breakfast and an evening meal basis and the choice of food was very good - again everyone was happy and it is good value for money.

Overall, highly recommended. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thankyou for your fantastic review, hope you will choose to stay with us again, I will pass your comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

last year - everything was fine had a really good time
this year- the food was lovely always tasted nice and a good mixture of the food you could have, entertainment was good for little kids and over 40, the milk was out of date by quite a few days, we only had one towel for 5 people and never got a new toilet roll always had to ask for one, the bathroom wasn't big enough. wasn't enough room to move in the shower, the music was also too loud on a night for a people to get to sleep but the location of the hotel was good, easy to get to different places and right opposite a tram/bus stop

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotte203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigYDonBlackpool, Owner at Hotel Craig-Y-Don, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We find some your comments disapointing and out of context. You booked a family room for 5 with adjoining doors sharing the same ensuite, this is explained at the time of booking. The adjoining suite of rooms was created for 2 adults and 3 children like yourselves, it is quite spacious. When you arrived you asked for some more towels as the housekeeper and only put enough in for 2 people, this was rectified immeadiatley and the house keeping department was instructed to make sure there was enough towels in there for your 3 day stay. I went in with the housekeeper on the last day of your stay and you had 7 towels in there! There was also 2 toilet rolls in as well. Unfortunately the milk was a few days passed the sell by date. I rang the dairy straight away and they said they had delivered the wrong ones, as I had only ordered a week before and usually it has a 3 month life on it. The dairy had the right ones with us within the hour. This was explained to you and we sincerely appologised.
We advertise cabaret which is usually finished by 11.30, which is not unreasonable, which is the same as your stay last year. This hotel is one of the best in blackpool nice, clean rooms, good food, entertainment, good service, good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
523 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
1,471 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Craig-Y-Don? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Craig-Y-Don

Address: 211-213 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $73 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Craig-Y-Don 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ever popular Craig-y-Don, situated in the most central position of the promenade, overlooking the Irish Sea, close to all attractions. Open all year round, we cater for coach companies, families, senior citizens and couples. All rooms and public areas have been refurbished. We offer hot buffet style breakfast and 3 course evening dinner, homemade by our resident chef, with over 35 years experience. Regular entertainment in our cabaret lounge with great sea views and sunsets. Games room with PS4,Xbox Kinnect, Bar football, Pool table, TV lounge, Patio garden. We've got it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Craig-Y-Don reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing