We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Valley, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Firstly I must say that most of the staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful and pleasant. The Barman was a bit scary as he could be friendly one minute and the complete opposite the next but I am not sure if this is just a weird sense of humour or the fact that he seems to be working every hour of the day. Dinner is served from 5.30 to 6.30, the restaurant staff whilst very friendly are too efficient in that we were served up our 3 courses and out of there in less than 30 minutes, it felt a bit conveyor belt like and we chose not to eat there the second night.

We booked a Friday and Saturday night and paid for car parking which turned out being the hard standing in an alley behind the hotel with no security, enough space to fit 4 cars at a very tight squeeze. On arrival we were advised that we had to pay cash as their card machine was broken, we refused as this would have taken all our spare cash and eventually paid by card on the morning of our departure. Our room number 14 was above the bar area and the music from the bar could be heard and the beat reverberated quite clearly in the room, when we first checked in I thought there was a party in the room next door until I realised what it was. This in itself did not cause trouble for us as we do not go to bed early but it would be to any one who wanted or needed an early night. I am sure the room was clean as such but the fact that it was so beige and tired, the complete opposite to what had been shown online when I booked and also in the brochure I received, just made it look dirty, there were 2 windows in the room one had curtains which were not anchored and slid totally from one side of the rail to the other and the other had no curtains and was frosted glass, it was the other half of the bathroom window which had been divided by a wall, the bedside lamp had no light bulb. The shower gave a thin trickle of luke warm water on the first morning and a thin trickle of freezing cold water on the last morning.

The breakfast was not my cup of tea as I can't stand the taste of "cheap" sausages and it was only lukewarm, I didn't even bother going to breakfast on the second morning but we only paid £25 each per night including breakfast so what do you expect? We did not make any complaints while there because we certainly didn't expect Hilton standards but must say that the pictures on the web and in the brochure are not a true representation of what you are likely to receive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are away from the bar area so should be quieter than the back. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    115
    80
    58
    95
See reviews for
84
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

we stayed in the melville on 1 november the staff and the manageress were very helpful the rooms were very clean and tidy .breakfast was always very hot and cooked fresh the rest of the meals were ok .the entertainment was very good .alltogether it was a nice plase to stay and i would recomend a stay at the melville to anyone.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

stayed here mon to Fri the other week as part of a coach party. good things are - situated in a great place, clean tidy rooms maybe on the small side though. BAD things are 1 member of staff was rude and not very friendly at all told us on the 2nd night our kids couldn't go into the bar area because they were running around (3-8 yrs) which are hard to keep still !!!!! none of us were very happy at all about this. food were very small portions breakfast and tea. not a wide selection at tea-time, also food was very warm to your mouth (TOO MUCH SEASONING) not a very good selection of vegetables at tea. table service was slow at times. personally I enjoyed 1 meal all week that was on my last evening. custard we had for desert was like water no taste to it. As a coach party we wasn't allowed to do our own thing in the hotel which all of us were disgusted at. so if your thinking of booking a coach party here I would think twice or simply keep away. worst stay in blackpool we have had in a very very long time. talking years !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel, staff helpful and friendly, BUT, I object to be continually referred to as "GUYS" by the restaurant and bar staff. Where has this habit come from? Also the music in the restaurant was too loud and unnecessary. All in all a nice stop over.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

we were not booked in at this hotel originally but were transferred at the last minuite what a lovely suprise the staff were great and the room was excellent a little small but very clean in fact the bed was so comfy we nearly missed breakfast we would not have to think twice about staying again it gets our vote every time

Room Tip: we were on the second floor next to the lift and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked on booking.com for the new oxford hotel in Blackpool for three days.on arriving at the hotel we were told that we were going to stay at the sister hotel round the corner which was the Melville.we were disappointed at first.but from the minute we walked in the Melville all the staff were so friendly.our room was just basic but spotlessly clean.we had a lovely time.would defiantly stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kendal310708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

9 of us booked here with booking.com booking in advance with kids in the group thinking we would have some where to stay.3 of our guests arrived in Blackpool travelling from the north east first to find out we didn't have a room and they were transferring us to the colonial hotel.9 of us were in total disgust at the hotel we had been moved to and more gutted the fact we had a hotel booked.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank terwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#28 of 69 in Blackpool
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#47 of 69 in Blackpool
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 69 in Blackpool
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#52 of 69 in Blackpool
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#43 of 69 in Blackpool
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing