We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We originally booked for one night but enjoyed it so much we stayed another night. The atmosphere was great the staff were very friendly and helpful and the entertainment was great. Meals were lovely and the rooms very clean. Safe to say we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karenstone66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    411
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
103
627
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just spent an all inclusive 5 day break (sun-fri).and we can't fault the place.The food was spot on (and plenty of it also the beer).The staff were very good,polite and helpful,The entertainment every evening was exellent.We will definitly be coming here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We once again,like we do most years,we visited the Viking Hotel in Blackpool. It was as usual very good food and excellent entainment on an evening. The bedroom and bathroom were a little dated in furnishings and some parts of the Hotel could do with a lick of paint. But overall, it is a good place for a mid-week break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors. The two Hotel lifts are very poor and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smudgerBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our 5th stay at the Viking. as always we had a great time the food is spot on and the staff are very friendly and helpful.. The entertainment was as good as ever. But I think the hotel itself could do with a bit of TLC in the décor area. The rooms are very dated now and haven't really had a face lift since we've been visiting ( 5 years). I guess if it wasn't for the fact that Buddy lee was on I doubt weather we would have returned on as many occasions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterIan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed recently on 5 night all inclusive deal. Good value for money but not too impressed with the hotel. Food very good & rooms cleaned & towels replaced every day made up for poor hotel layout. Lots of stairs & narrow corridors make it difficult to carry suitcases up & down floors. Our room was very small, just about big enough for the double bed, & the bathroom was very cramped with nowhere to leave toiletries out. The small window had the fire escape running across it so there was no view out. We don't spend any time in the room except to sleep so not a problem for us but would be for some people.Staff very friendly and entertainment in basement concert room very good. Doubt I'll stay here again though.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room even if it costs a little more. Some of the back rooms are very small with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here last year with no problems at all but this year we was put in a room that had noisy water pipes and a engine noise going all the time.we asked to be moved and was out in other but had no bath. We complained and had our bill reduced.My husband had dinner dropped all down him by the waiter so they had to be sent to the cleaners . Would stay again because we enjoyed even with faults .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzydor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

revisited the Viking again and will be taking another party of 23 in dec.
had a great time again in march entertainment was very good and the food and
staff were as usual first class.
we have stayed at the Viking about 18 / 20 times and will go as many times again I hope.

Room Tip: we find the rooms on the 2nd floor are easily accessible and suit our parties fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,042 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,092 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing