We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review of The Viking”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Review of The Viking”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the Viking for 2 nights with friends for a birthday treat. When booking I asked for two 'upgraded' rooms having experience of some of the poorer rooms. I was placed in a freezing cold, 1950's cupboard, and had I not been insistent, would not have been moved. Finally after some discussion I did end up in a better room, although it was ok not great.The lady Duty Mgr seemed to accept my arguments and moved me 'as a gesture of goodwill'. I agree with some of the comments about poor customer service in some areas, but overall staff are friendly & management need to improve morale. Food ok on first night, but service is a bit rushed to get you fed and away! On second night food was poor but no comment made by waitress on why so much food was left. The entertainment is definitely why people return but even Buddy Lee seemed a bit tired and downbeat in comparison with other visits over the years. I guessed there had been a virus problem given the number of hand sanitisers across the Hotel. Maintenance has definitely slipped and the Hotel needs some serious investment in the upgrading of rooms and cleanliness of rooms.corridors etc. But I do think that some training in customer services and a more pro-active attitude to problem solving would help.You cannot expect people to come away for a treat and spend money, when they feel they are being ignored or ripped off.
I feel that many of the staff are trying to do a good job, without managerial support and with restrictions as to how they can resolve problems. Presumably those restrictions are put in place by senior managers and are based solely on commercial interests. The Viking will find it difficult to encourage new trade, if customer service is not right.I still enjoyed the entertainment and expected to pay a little bit more for drinks in what is effectively a nightclub.Give it a go if you are not too concerned about the details - there are worse places in Blackpool. But it is a shame that the Viking does not strive to be better than it is! Again Manager please note and act!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    411
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
103
627
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed Friday to Sunday and as with all the choice hotels found our stay at The Viking first class in everyway the food and accomodation top class and as for the entertainment well you would go a long way to find a compaire as good as Buddy Lee and pay more for the class of entertainment that was on over the weekend you can see they work very hard.
The meals at breakfast and dinner where wonderful and the service was second to none fast and on top of ther game its no wonder that so many people return again and agiain. Its a credit to choice hotels all of them how in these days that are some of the hardest they provided exellent value for money keep it up coming again in Febuary to choice hotels.

Room Tip: Cant add aything that would make anyones stay better only enjoy whats on offer. If anything would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at the viking for the first time friday to monday last week in Oct had a sea view room had a great time could not fault anything good idea to make it an adults only hotel first class entertainment we liked having a table reserved for us for the whole of our stay shall we stay there again yes we have already booked for next year !!! ps always stayed next door at the queens but the viking is far better

Room Tip: book first floor if your not to agile as lift is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

First time I have stayed at the Viking, went with friends as they had stayed before. I was not disappointed, brilliant food and plenty choice. The nightly entertainment was really good too. Will definately go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

not been to the viking for a couple of years, so took the family, 7 in the party, had already emailed them at time of booking requesting on this special occasion seating being near stage as neither the other 6 family members had been before, totally ignored despite having recieved email back saying they would do there best, best being sat right at the back just in front of non residents,as for the rooms these were clean but still very dated, the shower attachment in all our rooms were so old and corroded that you had to fiddle with them for anything up to 20 minutes to get them to work, the heaters in the room also leaves a lot to be desired not very good and smelling there age when turned on, no complaints of the staff they are doing a great job with the poor rundown condition of the property, food was of a good standard, unfortunately asked for chef special on first night less than a hour in to service to be told was all gone? so very disappointed in paying best part of £1k for the 4 rooms when the Hiltons only up the road and we could have had just as good seating as a non residential reserving a table at the back,if they bother to read this they will know why I asked for good seating. In future will leave Viking to memory and choose a more upmarket hotel.

Room Tip: Pray a Lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having been to the Viking many times we were very disappointed. The staff were as good as ever as was the food. We had a room next to housekeeping. I know they have a job to do but the noise they make chatting and dropping bales of towels and sheets at 7-30 in the morning is a bit much. It was a Christmas week so we expected it to be very festive. The decorations were minimal and on the Wednesday it was supposed to be Christmas day. The only thing different to the other days was a different colour napkin and a cheap cracker in the dining room. The entertainment was a bit of a let down. Buddy Lee was advertised but not on. There were no dancers. Venn Tracy was very good. Christmas night entertainment was the same as any other night. On Thursday our last night Terry Cotta was on who was very good then the duo Oxygen came on. They sang a few songs then just went off. The compere didn't come on to thank them ,get them to do an encore or say good night. It was all over at 11pm. The bar couldn't close quick enough and ask you to leave every night.. Advertises resident DJ but no music to even have a dance to.We have had better stays.

Room Tip: Take a hairdryer and don't get rooms 123 to 128
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a great weekend very good value for money . Excellent location for all attractions. Adults only hotel makes all the difference .Good cabaret and excellent that its to residents . Dinner very good and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 69 in Blackpool
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#26 of 69 in Blackpool
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing