We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a great weekend very good value for money . Excellent location for all attractions. Adults only hotel makes all the difference .Good cabaret and excellent that its to residents . Dinner very good and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    413
    98
    33
    24
See reviews for
105
636
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Been coming to the Viking for the last fifteen years - at least once a year - and never had a bad experience. Love the rooms, meals and especially the shows. Look forward to seeing Buddy Lee and the comedians. would recommend this hotel to anyone. Really like the upday done this year.
Only downside I find is that the lifts are too small. Can't fault the staff and the situation is ideally situated on the seafront with buses and trams to get us wherever we want to go. will be back again next year.

Room Tip: some roooms have bath but no shower. Need to enquire if you have preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireMatriarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Second time staying at this hotel once again it was great, food was superb, entertainment brilliant and all staff really friendly good value for money would recommend to anyone looking for a break in Blackpool if you dont have any children as this is an over 18s hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen-Breese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Viking many times as a family or as a couple. It says a lot when people keep on coming back. The food is usually pretty good. The main draw for us is the entertainment in its own club downstairs. I would say it is more attractive to more mature people. But having said that, we have had to stop taking my Aunt. Eventhough she loves it she can not manage the various flights of stairs. There is a lift but not convenient to where some rooms are situated. I don't think the place is particularly disabled/ OAP friendly (obviously it must comply with the law) and we have discussed the fact that if there was an emergency like a fire, how could they hope to get all the old people, some whom may be doddery, to safety quickly? My Aunt misses it, especially as she cannot travel very far. But we cannot push her up and down stairs. I wish there was a solution. It is a good place if you are able bodied.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are nice, but cost extra. Consider how much time you will spend in the room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roswitha07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Lanark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed from 6th to 9th and we weren't disappointed, great hotel . Food accommodation and entertainment were superb, can't wait to return . The staff are all very pleasant and helpful resident compare Buddy Lee is sooooooooo funny

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Another excellent stay at the Viking! The cost of the stay is really acceptable and the bar prices are good considering we are in a hotel in a holiday resort! The staff as always were very friendly and helpful, the food is fantastic with an excellent choice and the Talk of the Coast didn't let us down! If I had one issue with the acts it would be that they are very repetitive but that is only because we have been 3 times this year, had we only been once then this would obviously not be an issue! The rooms are perfectly good and have all that you could need in there! The whole hotel is very clean and considering they are doing some refurbishments that is impressive! I understand that everyone is entitled to their opinions but I can't see why a few people have complained about the Viking, what do they expect from a 2 star hotel (it is only 2 star because it is not disabled friendly, a lot of stairs and no disabled access)! Perhaps these people who complain normally stay at posh hotels and think all hotels should be the same! We have booked again for 2014 and are bringing some more friends with us ,who have never been to the Viking! I would recommend the Viking Hotel to anyone and if they went there with realistic expectations they would have a fantastic time, as I stated earlier we have been 3 times this year and a number of times in previous years, if we didn't like it then we wouldn't have stayed there so many times! As a group our ages range from 46-51, there are a variety of age groups who stay there and the hotel caters for all! I hope this review helps future visitors!

Room Tip: If you are a person who struggles with stairs try and get a room on the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Viking for 1 night on the 28th October. The check in was quick & easy, the room was small however it was clean and had everything we needed. The evening meal was fantastic! Could not fault the evening meal or the buffet breakfast the next morning, food was served hot and quick and staff were on hand to serve straight away. Staff were great and friendly! In an indeal location close to the south pier and pleasure beach. Evening entertainment was great and really interacted with the audience! All in all a great one night stay I will be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
3,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,075 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,984 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 70 in Blackpool
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing