We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Viking - Blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Viking - Blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed with Choice hotels on seven occasions now and have found every stay thoroughly enjoyable and excellent value for money, particularly the 'all inclusive' deals, would most definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    406
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
102
621
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights half board .the room was lovely entertainment great .location great food excellent.the whole hotel was lovely friendly staff.the drinks were a bit expensive will definately return but will be going all inclusive.

Room Tip: we paid extra for seaview but wouldnt next time you can only see straight ahead .small window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed at The Viking many times as it is adults only. As a previous reviewer said, the entrance could do with a makeover but the rooms, upstairs bar area, and restaurant have had a makeover in the past couple of years. Everywhere is very clean and tidy, rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day. Food excellent, buffet breakfast is great, at dinner you are spoilt for choice at times, excellent restaurant staff. Entertainment really is brilliant, Buddy Lee and Carl Schofield together are hilarious, some excellent singers, and dancers. All the staff are really friendly and very helpful. We stayed for the May bank holiday midweek break and got an all inclusive deal which was great value. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the promenade have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was my second time at the Viking and the entertainment is just as good as first visit. the hotel itself is a bit tired in places but the food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Three course evening meal and help yourself full English breakfast. Buddy Lee is a great entertainer but be aware its adult entertainment. The good thing about the Viking when we were there was that it was kids free so we diddn't have screaming kids running wild and causing a disturbance. I highly recommend this hotel for good enterment and food and will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 112 at rear no view but quiet and got good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianMac103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

went back to the viking again it was great i would,nt go anywhere else so relaxing and great entertainment buddy lee is brilliant will go back the first chance i get food excellant staff really friendly great service too spot on and no kids

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The only down side on our stay at the Viking Hotel, was our initial impression of the entrance to the hotel, it really could do with some TLC, I firstly thought this hotel is dirty and would not have checked in if I had not pre booked. I am pleased we stayed, the room was clean, the food good, the staff really friendly and the entertainment good. We had a great time and will be going again. All inclusive break fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMM123186322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Viking Hotel for two nights prior to the Bank Holiday weekend. Everywhere very clean and tidy but a little dated in some areas. Staff very friendly and the food was excellent, spoilt for choice. My only criticism is that breakfast is served from 8.30am, a little late for my liking as I am an earlybird whilst on holiday.However would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dud444y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing