We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“midweek break”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just come back from a 5 day stay at this hotel, and although we couldn't fault the food and the entertainment and the fact that it was adult only we found the hotel in need of some tlc the entrance hall needed painting and in the dining room the windows were all blown, however, while we were there they did replace some of the windows unfortunately they did it while diners were eating making it not a safe environment, also when we arrived the staff at reception seemed to ignore us and carried on with their private conversation, we also found that on the first night for dinner we waited 10 minutes before we were shown to our table,even though waitresses were passing us, this hotel is not for disabled as it is all steps even the lift is on the first floor, however, on talking to other elderly guests they said they had been coming to this hotel for years and really loved it. we have been to most of Choice Hotels in the past and have loved every one but I don't think we will be returning to this one.

Room Tip: Try not to get one on the fourth floor as the lift only goes to three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our second mid week break to the Viking this month. Always visit with my wife and mother and stay for 5 nights. Excellent value for money, restaurant is great and and because of the nightly entertainment in Talk of the Coast we do not have to leave the hotel. Viking is very handy for buses and trams but what keeps us coming back are the friendly and helpful staff, from first arriving at reception it is like coming home and visiting old friends.Have booked another break for June.

Room Tip: Mother always has a lovely sea view room but they do come at a suppliment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a 2 night stay (Fri-Sun) with 2 other couples who had never been before & we all loved it. Blackpool, I personnally am not a great lover of Blackpool so i'll leave it there.
The Viking Hotel, the food & service as usual was great. Buddy Lea (the Compare) & the Sensatons brilliant. The 4 acts that we saw over the 2 nights were good. Karl Scofield the comedian on the second night was brilliant & when he & Buddy teamed up at the end of the night my jaw was aching with laughing.
The only reason I have given it 4 circles (stars above) is due to the room it is showing it's age now, but for 2 nights it was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

the hotel was excellent from the minute we got there the staff were very welcoming the food was very good plenty of choice and the entertaiment was excellent we are going back next year for another weekend the weather was brill.

Room Tip: we were at the back not a good view but we werent bothered very quiet the only thing if you didnt re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_jan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you are looking for a weekend away with family or friends then you can't beat the Viking Blackpool. It has everything you want. A lovely restaurant with friendly staff who can't do enough to help. Fantastic all you can eat breakfast. Beautiful 3 course evening meal. Your table is yours for the weekend.
In the caberet room your table is yours for the weekend, so you don't need to rush your evening meal to get a table. Buddy Lee (the compair and comedian) is apsolutely brilliant. He is the life and sole of the place. There are other comedians who also do a turn later in the night. There is one who does a rap using info from the crowd it's brilliant to hear.
very gggod value for money. I would reccommend it to anyone. Give it a try you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Viking from fri-mon and what an excellent time we had, if your looking for somewhere with great entertainment this is the place to be. The compare is absolutely fabulous, what a laugh we had with him plus on both nights you get a singer and comedian followed by late night disco. We are a couple in our thirties visiting Blackpool with parents and this suited us all, I loved the fact of having fab entertainment, disco then roll up to bed without leaving the hotel. Food was fabulous and very well organised you kept your same table for the whole weekend and this was the same setup downstairs in the bar which was great as it meant you didn't have to rush especially if there's a group of you. Rooms were nice a little small but we had a sea view so that made me happy. Staff were very helpful and overall this is a Lovely clean and friendly hotel. one of the best weekends we've had, what a laugh.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The service in the restaurant isn't as good as previous visits staff cut backs ,I got a hair on my melon starter showed it to waiter who said he was sorry never offered to replace it ,
Breakfast very good ,Staff no longer serve dessert at evening meal have to get your own which isn't easy if you walk with a stick , seems to have gone off due to cuts Not very pleasant walking
in front door through smokers I thing that was my last visit

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view ask for a bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
1,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing