We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddy Hell”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buddy Hell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Hotel chain ( Viking , Claremont and Cliffs ) have been used annually by the Bolton Sports and Social Club for over the last eight years, both my wife and myself have enjoyed the Hotel facilities , food and occasional drink .

Viking Hotel is situated less the 100 yard from the South Pier , as FULL all inclusive goes TOP beers and spirits , proper brands and further if you wnt to fully splash out try upgrading for a pound ( hell of bettr deal than poundstretcher or PRIMARNI).

What the Viking provides excells these facilities , especially the entertainment which can only be described " the Buddy Best " , staff are the most friendly and hotel guest welcoming.

If you have not considered the Viking then you are truly missing Blackpools best

Room Tip: Book Very Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    407
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
102
621
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in Dec 13 for one of their party nights which was unbelievable value for money
We arrived at 4pm (so in time to get ready there) and went to take our seats at 7pm for the five course meal then the superb entertainment started and was first class Buddy Lee was fantastic
We were entertained until midnight then went to our very comfortable room to sleep and had a first class English breakfast before leaving WONDERFUL

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We like this hotel for the entertainment and the food . Yes hotel is a bit tired looking, but in saying that very clean very warm, rooms are comfortable not luxurious but adaquete. We had two great evenings the entertainment really is first class, had a great laugh, waiting staff in restaraunt couldent do enough. Just perfect to cheer you up in the winter, you really dont need to leave the hotel. would do it again next winter.

Room Tip: really not worth paying the extra for a sea view , this is blackpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have just return from a fabulous weekend, there was 9 of us went and we all agreed it was one of the best weekends we have had, The staff from dining room to bar where very good the reception staff were all very afficient, we had a problem through the night with our room and we were moved straight away with no fuss. The rooms are all clean and tidy, the breakfast and evening meals were very good. The comedians both nights and Buddy Lee were excellent and we all ached from laughing, the rest of the caberet was very good too. This hotel gives good food and excellent entertainment for the amount we paid and we shall almost certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiepye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went between Xmas and new year this was our 6th visit the rooms are clean the staff are really nice, some of them have been there years so that says it all. The food is really good quality and plentiful even fussy eaters will find something on the menu. We are back again in February for 5 days and looking forward to it and again in July its really good value for money the entertainment is a good night out Buddy Lee is funny and not repetitive, the dancers are professional I drink but my husband doesn't but he still enjoys the entertainment .If unsure give this hotel a go.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a bath just a shower,so if you need bath ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Patsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

had a brill weekend again rooms clean,bar staff excellent and quick same to the dinning room staff, clean hotel all staff very friendly and helpfull the talk of the town venue is the best i have been to for a long while buddy lee true genius my ribs were sore and the guests very good see you all january 2014

Room Tip: we had room 330 nice quite room but the hotel is a bit of a maze to get to some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and my husband stayed the weekend here rooms are clean and tidy and good for price the bars are also good and food was realy nice and fab staff. Cabaret club is fun. No stag/hen partys when we stayed there it was peasful. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadeanya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing