We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent and entertaining”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Viking Hotel as a very good restarant and entertainment every night it is called talk of the coast staff very helpfull and pleasent. this hotel is sited on the sea front. You get two free trips in the week. certain dates you get Sunday free Full board

Room Tip: pick the seafront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there as a group week end 2ndnovember,food very good service the same caberet exellent,especially the compare buddy lee,rooms clean,bar prices a little high.have been there several times before .it has self service breakfast which is first class.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were at the Viking for the weekend of 2nd Nov. The food was excellent both choice and quality. Our only complaint was breakfast could start earlier. Staff were very good especially our waiter Steve. The cabaret was first class and all in all an excellent value for money weekend.
Paul & Tanya Stoke

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prouty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had our usual Sun-Fri stay in Blackpool for aluminations at Choice Hotels.This time at the Viking. Bed Breakfast, evening meal and nightly entertainment cannot be faulted along with free parking on a sea front hotel. Yes could do with a little updating and bathrooms are just big enough but excellant value for money and always an enjoyable stay. We will be back again next year.Viking must be doing something right as booked up well into next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilAHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Whenever we go to Blackpool we have always chosen to stay at the Viking Hotel. I can't rate this hotel highly enough. The food is great, so are the rooms, but the best of all is the entertainment at the Talk of the Coast which is a Cabaret each night. The resident compare/Comedian/Singer is fantastic, and every guest entertainer that we have seen there are second to non - brilliant, would recommend anyone to stay there, and especially see the shows.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanmpatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed over night at the Viking Hotel and i was very pleased to be leaving after one night. The reception area and the lounge is very unwelcoming, very dreary and tired looking and smelt of stale cigarette smoke. The rooms were not much better very small with a bathroom out off the 70s. Was woken at 6pm with the resident in the next room using the shower the toilet and every other appliance in the room. I have never stayed in a hotel where the walls are so thin. Honestly it was like they were in the room with us. The evening meal was O.K ! The breakfast was much nicer. By far the best part of the visit was the evening entertainment we enjoyed this very much. But this hotel needs some T.L.C it is VERY Tired looking and dated. We won't be returning again thats for sure, despite the decent breakfast. WE have stayed in much nicer and cleaner Premier Inns .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbil58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place for a cheesey weekend in Blackpool. Stayed with 18 friends & family & had an absolute blast. Rooms small & a bit old fasioned but very clean (unfortunately ours stank of smoke as a previous thoughtless occupant used the bathroom as a smoke room - the hotel did spray round but difficult to remove). The restraunt is a bit canteen style but the food is OK (improved on last year) & the breakfast excelent. It is all pre prepared but the service is fast. We are not fans of cabaret clubs but the TOTC is a must. Buddy Lee will have you in stitches. The hotel tends to be frequented by the older generation but dont let this put you off. If you are younger, sit at the front of the TOTC & buddy "will" include you in his act. There are a lot of stairs if you are dissabled but there are 2 lifts. A big plus is free parking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the northern stair well as it smells of sewage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Al_Shaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.8 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
822 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
2,005 reviews
2 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
1,476 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
1 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $102 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing