We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent well worth the money”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent well worth the money”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just back from another five days at the Viking this was our sixth time and it's still a excellent place the staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you the food is brilliant you couldn't get a better breakfast anywhere help yourself to as much as you like. The entertainment is out of this world especially Mr Buddy Lee what can I say about him he is brilliant plus the supporting acts. The bar staff are very good and will do anything for you especially Paul a big thank you to all the staff in all sections and look forward to see you all next year a big thank you again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    407
    93
    33
    23
See reviews for
102
622
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want great food, Good Entertainment, friendly staff and a nice clean room this is the hotel for you. We have visited this hotel 4 times and enjoyed every visit, Breakfast is self service eat as much as you like excellent evening menu updated daily ..When you check in you will be asked if you want to book your table for talk of the coast, you will also be given a parking pass this hotel as plenty of parking spaces so you dont have to worry about parking your car.

Room Tip: Well worth booking a room with a sea viwe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from 5 day stay with friends. Got quiet rooms on ground floor. Nice size, good shower, etc. Breakfast is to die for. Help yourself to cereals, yoghurt, fruit juices, bacon, eggs (scrambled and fried), tomatoes, beans, sausages, etc. Unlike some hotels, bacon is first class quality. Meals at night were also tremendous, with good variety from menu, and help yourself to excellent array of sweets. Separate lounge room to help yourself to coffee, tea, etc, to let your meal digest! Excellent service and very friendly staff. Cabaret at night good with resident compere, singers, dancers. Could not fault hotel in any way. Even managed to get parking space right outside my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have visited this hotel many times, and that speaks for itself. What a 'pick-up' when on arrival your are greeted by name even before opening your mouth. Staff are always smiling, friendly, and eager to help. Good food, good staff, and good company always make a happy holiday. The entertainment is good too, and seems to improve with every visit.

Room Tip: children only hotel which is great for 'old 'uns'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blaconcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Be aware when visiting TALK OF THE COAST at the Viking Hotel in Blackpool as they advertise in bright red lights FREE ADMISSION - this is not true - if you go there on a Saturday night you will have to pay £5.00 per person. tha door man wasn't very friendly!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Good food and entertainment However the entertainment was a bit repetition if you are there from Sat to Sat but all the acts where very good at the talk of the coast.All staff where very helpfull and friendly.
We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have visited Blackpool on several occassions for both work and holidays. After reading some great reviews we decided to try this hotel for a family break. Where do I start?.......Arrived early, decided to have light lunch in the lounge while we waited for our room to be prepared. Lounge was dull and depressing along with terrible stench of what can only be described as old urine! Rooms were not much better. VERY dated. Dreary bathroom and room was old-fashioned decor, most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in... awful mattress. Restaurant is modern and has great sea views, food however was poor quality and bland. We stayed for 3 nights and after second night opted to eat out. Entertainment was good, Buddy is a great host and was definately best part of our stay. Overall I would NEVER stay at this hotel again as it is not worth near the prices it charges. Have stayed in better B&Bs.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peroni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#20 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing