We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant 4 nights,”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

when you need a few days away this is my choice, we used to go abroad for all inc. weekends, but since we found out about " Choice hotels " that is where we go, The Viking Hotel & Talk of the Coast is adults only, but if you have children you can stay at The Claremont or The Cliffs all are situated on the sea front, But our fav. is the Viking as the night time entertainment is superb the host Buddy Lee is a good tonic, I have never laughed so much, and everyone is friendly we've met alot of good friends there......we will be returning....already booked for twice next year..

Room Tip: If you have certain request they always try to accommodate you, there are 4 floors
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Viking Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Viking Hotel excelled again passed all expectations food and service second to none, entertainment with Buddy Lee and friends was brilliant. We booked this holiday because it was all inclusive and we meet some friends who we have met for the last 4 years and lots of other who return as regular as we do, that alone speaks for it's self what a good hotel this is the menu cant be faulted all I can say is WOW.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryxBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel, good points are that check in was smooth and our room was allocated straight away,room lovely and clean, free car park, staff friendly in all areas, food was very good with lots of choices at dinner, breakfast was a buffet which was exceptionally good, we went to the show on the Saturday very entertaining. Now the bad points we could not shower the water was either red hot or freezing cold!, some of the public areas were shabby looking and the lift was dark and grubby, drinks in the club were expensive and tasted weak, however this did not spoil our experience and would recommend this hotel and we would book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The. Food was very good and the entertainment in the talk of the coast was good on both nights. We got there on the Friday lunch time and met our friends from Bradford and had a look around. Blackpool and then back to tHe hotel and had.ba few drinks befor our evening meal and then went down to see the show.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went to the viking hotel blackpool with our family 10th aug for our golden wedding on 11aug, everyone enjoyed it,Staff were friendly food is great good choice at evening meal and buffet breakfast,the entertainment on friday and saturday was first class,our waiter on evening was Mathew he could not do enought for you nothing was to much trouble,only one drawback bar prices were a bit steep by the entertainment made up for it. just one thing to say, thank you for making it a special weekend

Room Tip: front rooms have a lovely view of prom and irish sea
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been 4 times this year and we love it, the staff are very friendly and helpful
Plan to go again soon.
Rooms are clean cosy, the food is great and the entertainment is excellent, we have the use of a swimming at the sister hotel which is good

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here with my grandmother for 3 days (Mon - Weds break). The hotel is located at the south pier (closest tram stop). The hotel is very clean and rooms (although on the small side) - very adequate. Ok, so there were a few things that could have been improved on, such as the broken door handle on the bathroom and the broken hinge on the warddrobe but it was a very good purchase. Also - watch out for the red hot water!!

Check in was a little on the slow side but I think that we just came at a busy time. Once served, staff were very efficient and friendly. & you can even purchase tram & bus tickets here.

The food is amazing and I am a really picky eater. There is a different dinner menu available each day with a wide range of starters, mains and puddings. On both nights, the food was excellent. The food came out quickly and was to a high standard. The starters and mains are served by a waiter and then you help yourself to pudding. The tables are a bit close together but this is because it is a really busy hotel. The breakfast was just as good too and you can have as much/as little as you want.

Entertainment wasn't really our cup of tea but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. & it's free for hotel guests so worth a try. It was rude humour - but if you like that then you will be satisfied. Also - avoid the 'big money' bingo as this was very expensive £12 per person for only 5 games and prizes very low. Perhaps could have been a one off but didn't play it again.

I would definitely visit this hotel again and recommend it too. I have stayed at the Claremont before and we enjoyed the Viking more!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,149 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
1,936 reviews
2.0 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
1,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 479 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#19 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $111 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Viking for good food, friendly service and exciting entertainment - all under one roof! Only a few minutes walk from South Pier and Blackpool Pleasure Beach, at the Viking the accent is on fun. Our exceptional sea view restaurant and unrivalled 'Talk of the Coast' cabaret club with top name acts featured nightly, offer our guests simply the best evening's entertainment in the town. An ideal base for a lively child free holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing